11/7 Blaze amps424 +6 272 PMPS 89 +1 69 +2 73 + 3 68 +4 113 +5 143

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sarah and Blaze, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
  2. AmandaE

    AmandaE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2019
    Glad you were able to get back on track Sarah. I hope you come home to some nice safely low numbers :)
     
    Beth 73 and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  3. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thanks Amanda! I hope so too! Have a good day girl :cat: I hope Mowgli is doing well!!
     
    AmandaE and Beth 73 like this.
  4. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Everything gonna be ALL right , Momma Sarah :bighug: Keep taking care of yourself ...prayers for increased strength and wholeness :bighug:
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  5. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Thank you Beth!!:bighug:
     
  6. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I’m needing some advice on a vacation dose coming up. Myself and DH will be out of town next week, we are leaving Thursday evening on 11/14 after pm shot, so no one will be home to test/monitor that night. And then our pet sitter will be coming for AMPS and PMPS on 11/15, 11/16 and then the morning of 11/17 (we will be home for PMPS on 11/17). She can only come twice a day to test/feed/shoot so no additional testing will be done. We leave in 7 days so I want to make sure we have enough time to get down to a safe vacation dose before we leave. Any suggestions on safe dose while we are out of town, and a no shoot number for the pet sitter?
     
  7. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Blaze will get back on track. I hope you are feeling better. It's best to wait until a couple of days before you are going to leave to ask about a vacation dose because things can change between now and then.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  8. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay, last time I went on vacation, other members suggested I start his vacation dose a couple days BEFORE I leave, so I just wanted to make sure I have enough time to do so.
     
  9. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    We usually recommend changing the dose 2 to 3 cycles before you go on vacation. The earliest would be Wednesday before you leave. You should probably ask on Tuesday.
     
    Sonia & Leo and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  10. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay perfect! Thanks so much Carla!!
     
  11. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    +6 was 272, unable to test again until PMPS but Blaze is already on his way back down! We’ll see what PMPS is!
     
    Beth 73, AmandaE and Sonia & Leo like this.
  12. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Woooo hoooo :) Can't Keep a good man " down" or is that up :woot: Great job, Momma Sarah ❤️
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  13. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Well I’m not home for PMPS, so DH is in charge. PMPS was 89 and he gave 1.5U. Is that okay?? I’m worried now
     
  14. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    This is the lowest pre shot we’ve had. Amps was 424, +6 was 272 and now PMPS was 89. That’s a huge drop, isn’t it? I’m afraid for tonight.
     
  15. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    He didn’t stall food or shot, he just tested blood sugar, fed him and gave 1.5U and I’m freaking out a bit. I’m on my way home now, will get a +1 but I think it’s going to be a long and stressful night
     
  16. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
  17. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Eeeep! Well, Mr. Blaze is full of surprises, isn't he????

    Glad you're heading home to check things out, but don't worry about a long night until it happens-- remember, it's Lantus, shooting low often leads to a less eventful cycle! I mean, it's definitely not ideal as your first time shooting green with Blaze maybe moving down at shot time (maybe pull DH aside and teach him about "stalling"!), but no reason for panic at this point. For all you know, it could have been a bad strip.

    Now, assuming it wasn't a bad strip, I do wonder why he picked today to move into these numbers, after several missed shots... Maybe his pancreas was just very excited about getting some help again?
     
    Beth 73 and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  18. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would get a +1 and +2 to start with and see where the cycle is going.
    Did Blaze eat well?
     
    Beth 73 and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  19. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I know! DH usually sends me a text with the PMPS number and asks me what to do, but tonight he just sent me the pre shot number, fed him and gave the 1.5U before I could respond :eek: I told him, in the future, if Blaze is under 100 when I’m not home yet, wait to feed him or give insulin and retest in 15-20 minuteso_O

    And that’s what seems strange to me! I skipped the shot two nights ago, gave two accidental fur shots yesterday, this morning he gets his 1.5U and heads straight down, down, down. What the heck?! His pancreas for overly excited!

    I’m going to grab a +1 now, will post in a few.
     
  20. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    @Nan & Amber (GA)

    @Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Okay doesn’t seem like it was a bad strip. +1 is 69. Should I feed him something now? If so, what? I have his normal LC Friskies, I have 10%, 13%, 15% and 20%
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  21. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Yes he ate well, ate all of his normal dinner! He’s acting normal, following me around right now.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  22. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would give him some higher carb food to bring him up a bit as it is only +1
    Try a 13% and see if that brings him up. If it doesn't try a higher carb.
    I'd test hourly at the moment until he is a bit higher and the insulin has onset.
     
    Sarah and Blaze and Beth 73 like this.
  23. Nan & Amber (GA)

    Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2016
    Bet he's feeling pretty good!

    I'm inclined to recommend just the regular LC for now, but have an itchy trigger finger for the MC [ETA: I see Bron posted simultaneously, and is leaning towards higher carb. I'll defer to her, since I'm not going to be able to stay up tonight with you guys, plus I was wavering on the carb question myself!]. I'm really not sure what he's doing today, to be honest. Is it possible he started a bounce from something that happened on 11/5, bounced all the way through furshot-palooza, and is just now coming down off of it?

    How late can you stay up tonight? I am unfortunately not going to be able to stay with you to see what he does, but I really hope he behaves himself.
     
    Sarah and Blaze and Beth 73 like this.
  24. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    Okay I gave him some 13% and will test again at +2. He’s acting totally normal but I will keep a close eye on him. Thank goodness I don’t have to work tomorrow!
    If at +2, he isn’t higher than the 69, should I try some 15% carb?
     
  25. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I went ahead and gave him 13%, so we’ll see if that does anything for him when I get the +2 test.
    I have no idea what he’s doing tonight. I don’t know if it could be a bounce clearing from 11/5, he seems to be clearing bounces a little quicker but who knows. There’s no other explanation that I can think of, especially with the the fur shot shenanigans yesterday :facepalm:

    Thankfully, I don’t work tomorrow so I can stay up. I have been up since 5 am though so I hope I don’t crash later. But am willing to stay up tonight to make sure he’s safe.
     
  26. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Congratulations on shooting your first green!:D

    You have earned your BOS
    BOS.jpg
     
  27. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    :joyful::joyful::joyful: Thanks Sandy! I guess I can’t take credit because DH shot the first green tonight when I wasn’t home :rolleyes: but I’m staying up to monitor Blazey boy so I will take some credit!:D
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2019
    Gill & George and Sonia & Leo like this.
  28. Beth 73

    Beth 73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2016
    Sarah, I’d give you some of Elmo’s numbers if I could :bighug:
     
    Sonia & Leo and Sarah and Blaze like this.
  29. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
  30. Sandy and Black Kitty

    Sandy and Black Kitty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    A nice mellow surf ...
     
    Sonia & Leo likes this.
  31. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    I gave some LC at +2
     
  32. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    +3 is 68
    Gave LC at +2 and +3. Will grab another test at +4. Hoping he keeps surfing.
     
    Beth 73 likes this.
  33. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    +4 113, no food at +4
     
  34. Sarah and Blaze

    Sarah and Blaze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2019
    +5 143, I’m heading to bed with LC snacks in the auto feeder
     
  35. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Shooting greens becomes easier with experience. Great job tonight, even if it was accidental. Go DH!
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.
  36. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Wow Sarah! First green shot under your belt even if it was DH's doing. Glad Blaze didn't keep you up all night. You did great! :joyful:
     
    Sarah and Blaze likes this.

Share This Page