12/9 Myagi amps 211, +2 200, pmps 126, +.3 143, see ss skipped pm shot

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Myagi (GA) and Heidi, Dec 9, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Barbara & Uncle (GA) likes this.
  2. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Good morning, glad Myagi found his appetite for you. :bighug:
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  3. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
  4. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Pmps 126. Going to go back and read the notes on stalling. He's starving so I hope I read quick! Lol. Not really. :(
     
  5. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Ok. Don't feed. Test again 20 30 mins.
     
  6. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    So does mean more his bounce is over or do they sometimes ping pong and it means watch and learn and th th that's all folks?????
    @Chris & China. @Barbara & Uncle
     
  7. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    +.33 or 20 mins 143. Continue stall.
     
  8. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Plus would like to know how I put this stuff on his ss????

    @JeffJ @Noah & me. @Kris & Teasel
    Sorry if bothering but would like some guidance. Thank you in advance!!!
     
  9. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Sorry, I do a spreadsheet in Excel. Noah is a high dose bouncer, I'd have to fake it if I published his whacko numbers.
     
  10. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    And I don't use Lantus so those numbers are voodoo to me. Is everything okay?
     
  11. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    He's on his way up. If you can monitor tonight, have plenty of high carb food and test strips, you should be OK to shoot.
     
  12. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You can enter all these values in the “remarks” section on the right side of your SS. If you do get to a shootable PS, you enter that last value in the PMPS column of your SS.
     
  13. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Thanks bubba! I've shot too low twice. Stalling. Want to do it right though. And he's hungry. Lol. Nice you're here even if you can't help!
     
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    OK, that was the urgent question. As for bouncing, it could be over, or he could be funning you. :cat: Numbers do wobble around during a bounce, but with low blues, I think the bounce is done.

    A better place to put the numbers is on his spreadsheet where we can easily see them. You could put them in the +11 cell. So it would go something like: 126@+12, 143@+12.3. Then when you get the actual PMPS number, put it in the PMPS column with #@+12.x. So we can see at a glance how long you stalled and what the values were.
     
  15. Noah & me (GA)

    Noah & me (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2016
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  16. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    We're good Dickson. Sleep well.
     
  17. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017

    He's 139. So skip or keep trying to stall?
     
  18. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Noah & me (GA) likes this.
  19. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
  20. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Are you planning on following Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow? Answer varies depending on your answer. It would also help to put TR or SLGS in your signature. I'm guessing TR since you held the dose from yesterday.

    The longer you stall, the more his numbers may drop without food. Stalling acts like a bit of a reduction. You options are shooting full dose (and be prepared to monitor), shoot part dose (still need to monitor, but maybe not as long), skip and be high in the morning. When you shoot lower numbers, typically the cycles are much flatter.
     
  21. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    You could shoot. You gave 0.5 u at a PMPS of 139 on Dec 03.
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.
  22. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Slgs
    I'll add it to signature
    I didn't hold yesterday I shot 144 and monitored
    I have to have to work tomorrow so???
    He's on 0.5u so half dose will be hard to syringe but I could try
     
  23. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yesterday you saw numbers below 90, which would have meant a reduction to 0.25 units. That will also help drain the depot and perhaps keep him a little higher tomorrow. No guarantee - we are talking about cats. :rolleyes::cat:
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  24. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    I know. But Myagi and I are both new to insulin and I really shouldn't have shot the 139 or the 144 since under 150 and him not enough history yet.
     
  25. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Yes.... my dance partner keeps changing the music!
     
  26. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    I'm going to test. Brb.
     
  27. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Then you can shoot a smaller dose like 0.25 u or skip altogether. You have to do what you feel comfortable doing.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  28. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Below 150 on SLGS, when you are new, do not shoot below 150. Over time and with more data, you can lower the no shoot number to 90. Over 150, you can skip or give a token dose - and resume with his new 0.25 u dose tomorrow.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  29. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    He's 125. Sorry for delay. Ears cold. Rice sock cold.
     
  30. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    No shot tonight.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  31. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
  32. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    And reduction tomorrow or 0.5u?
     
  33. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Are you following SLGS? If so, you’d reduce because of the 72 this dose gave you yesterday. Actually the reduction should have happened last night if you follow SLGS.
     
  34. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Ok. Yes slgs. Thank you!!! Big hugs to you both!!!!
     
    Kris & Teasel likes this.
  35. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Can i put syringe in fridge? It's got 0.5 in it.
     
  36. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    I don't think they keep in the syringe for more than a few minutes. Best to start with a fresh one tomorrow.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  37. Kris & Teasel

    Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    I agree. The silicone lubricant inside the syringe barrel might negatively affect the insulin if it sits in the syringe until morning.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  38. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Thanks. I'll pitch it.
     
  39. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    It's best not to keep the syringe with Lantus in it. Thankfully you are just on a small dose. Even smaller now. :)

    I would still test in an hour or two tonight, to make sure he's on his way up with food on board. Also, a good opportunity for data gathering.;)
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  40. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Probably two....a certain guy is not happy with mommy right now.
     
    Wendy&Neko likes this.
  41. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    I'm more conservative than others. Leo's no-dose BG value is 200. If he is under, then no dose.

    The renal threshold in most cats is around 180 or 200. Below that value, their kidneys are not filtering out the extra glucose. The issue with dosing a cat that is low (ie 140) is you can cause the BG to go real low. If the cat is eating well, then that counteracts the insulin. In summary, for Leo, he is a medium eater. But I do not want another hypo to happen.
     
  42. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    I don't want hypo either! Myagi is mostly a big eater. But he was getting irritated and his food also has his zobaline etc in it. Thanks Jeff!
     
    JeffJ and Chris & China (GA) like this.
  43. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
  44. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Yes, reduced dose in the morning.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  45. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Absolutely!!!

    Good luck with the reduction!!!
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  46. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    +3 139 :bighug:
     
    JeffJ and Chris & China (GA) like this.
  47. Myagi (GA) and Heidi

    Myagi (GA) and Heidi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Babble time now. o_O my sciatica has been raging for hours. More house chores not done. The yellows feel safe but every time i look at my ss, those greens yesterday are so beautiful! This is so exhausting. Not to mention how heartbreaking it is that we have new GA's each day and sometimes when I'm supposed to be studying this, I'm just crying and thinking there but by the grace of god for Myagi and me. The point of this is just to relieve some of the pressure on my very sensitive heart so i can persevere for my guy. Because all that said, this is worth it - I'd do it a zillion times for him or Millie - couldn't do it without you all - and am profoundly grateful to all of you! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug: thanks again
     
  48. Barbara & Uncle (GA)

    Barbara & Uncle (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2016
    Hey just got home and checking in. Looks like you got a lot of good info tonight and I see that you skipped. Hopefully you both are sound asleep. :smuggrin:
    I know what you mean about the GA's and my heart is still especially tender from having to say goodbye to my sweet boy Uncle in September. He was doing really well on Lantus and the TR protocol but had other health issues.
    And yet there is so much hope and healing here on the FDMB I want to stick around for all the ups and downs and pitch in whenever I can.

    I know .25u is can be a tough dose to draw up but there are tips and tricks to it and many of us here have drawn up that dose so just ask if you need help :bighug:
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
  49. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    At some point, you'll get so used to it, that I may even seem a bit boring. As an example, I have Leo so regulated now that I've gotten too lazy to type in his numbers. Heck, they are pretty much the same for weeks.
     
    Myagi (GA) and Heidi likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page