2/14 Asia PMPS 475, +4 317, +6 237, +8 168 first cycle of Levemir

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/2-13-asia-amps-373.191094/

This is Asia's holiday, she's a love monster! :cat:

She had some fast and steep drops last night, didn't go below 50, so nothing too dramatic there. It's weird to me how some days, the insulin just seems to slightly lower the number and she surfs, and other days, it pulls down high numbers with urgency. o_O

She was being silly last night and rolling around and being adorable, kind of like when I give her catnip, except without catnip. :cat: She's a little snoozer today, probably making up for lost sleep from all the pokies overnight (there were a couple more on the half hour that I was too lazy to add to the SS). She ended up surfing, eventually.
 
I'm trying to pop in when I can, but I'm preparing for oldest daughter to have surgery, so I'm pouring over research about that and going to lots of appointments, etc.

Looks like another bounce for Asia, probably from that crazy fast drop last night. Unlike my previous furshots, some that probably weren't furshots at all, I know she got the insulin and it just looks like she didn't because she is bouncing. Perfectly timed to start right after insulin shot and all, such an Asia thing to do! :rolleyes:
 
Starting dose I was thinking .75, we are currently on a fat 1 unit which is right between 1 and 1.25, so that seems about 70% ish. Thoughts?

I'm sure I will be too nervous to sleep tonight and testing often, even though she is bouncing right now and will probably be in red come shot time. :nailbiting:
 
Lizzie in Texas uses Lantus. I didn't realize you were switching to Lev. I hope a Lev user weighs in to help you. And good luck with it evening out her cycles.

It's a recent reality although I had loosely considering it for awhile. I'm really hoping Lev will be smoother for her, flatter would be nice too, but smoother and calmer is what I'm looking for.
 
Won't cry if nobody answers, I will just shoot .75 and see what happens, but it's always good to have another set of eyes weigh in. ;)
 
I kind of think when switching from Lantus to Lev the dose was comparable , but I am not positive about that. It would be good to have a stickie for this. If there is one, I don't know where it is.
 
Belated birthday to Asia.

I know your signature was 20.7 or 20.8 years old in the past few months. How wonderful that Asia has lived such a long and interesting life.

I hope the surgery for your daughter goes well. We live in a great age with highly experienced (but expensive) doctors. It will probably go like clockwork!
 
Belated birthday to Asia.

I know your signature was 20.7 or 20.8 years old in the past few months. How wonderful that Asia has lived such a long and interesting life.

I hope the surgery for your daughter goes well. We live in a great age with highly experienced (but expensive) doctors. It will probably go like clockwork!

She’s been 21 since I joined, she’s probably 22 by now, I have papers somewhere, but I don’t recall her exact birthday. :oops:

Thanks, it’s a surgery she wouldn’t need if she weren’t a ballet dancer, but surgery is scary no matter what.
 
What made you switch from Lantus?

There’s just some things that she does on Lantus that may or may not be from the insulin (herky jerky stuff), but a lot of the reading and research I have done says I can’t rule it out as some humans have a similar experience. Many people here like the flatter cycles on Lev and it seems to be a bit more predictable, so I thought to try it and see if it suits her better. As far as timing goes, I was nearing the end of a pen and she had a very random, very low number the other night and it upset me and I got fed up and decided it was a good time to switch.

It’s going to be a lot more annoying for me schedule wise, but I will readjust my shot times if need be and we will figure it out, if it works better with her, that’s my main concern.
 
I thought I saw some where that you reduce slightly with the switch... i know @Phoebes recently switched.
Late to the dance, as usual. Yes switched a week ago, best thing I've done. And yes we did 70% of the lantus dose. And still reducing. Besides a couple of food influences, she's stay flat pretty much. Best of luck.
 
+4 317, looks like she’s headed back to Earth now. Not sure where that extreme bounce came from.

Late to the dance, as usual. Yes switched a week ago, best thing I've done. And yes we did 70% of the lantus dose. And still reducing. Besides a couple of food influences, she's stay flat pretty much. Best of luck.

I was so happy to hear Phoebe is happier on Levemir, and you need to be a happy cat to sing songs to toasters! ;) She was looking pretty great on paper even before the switch, but I’m glad you have an even lower dose now. :cat:
 
Hope the switch to Lev helps!
And Asia 22! Happy happy Birthday and Happy Valentines ❤️ Day! Hope your daughter’s surgery goes well. And that you get some rest tonight.:bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top