2/20 Rosa AMPS 225 +4 87 +6 118 +10 84 PMPS 80 +3.5 44 +4 76 +4.5 114 +5.5 101 + 6.5 87 +7.5 102

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like she got warm enough to try getting back in the lagoon! I'm not really surprised she started finding it a bit cold - she barely came out of there for a couple of days.

She's a bit up and down today though - I'm wondering what she's plotting (or whether it's a simple as her driving me insane) ;)
 
I do too - though I still don't entirely trust these low pre-shot numbers. Hubby's really concerned that I shot an 80 too - he'd mentioned going for Chinese food tonight, and I said I could go as long as we were back for her +2, but he's insisted that we need to get it as takeout instead so we can keep an eye on her!!

We're still hoping we can get out for a bit tomorrow, but it will depend completely on how her morning numbers are - if there's any doubt at all, we'll rearrange it for another weekend.
 
Oh she thinks so, she really does. ;) At least now she gets to +6 by midnight. That first couple of weeks of staying up until 5am because her shot time was so late was really tough!!
 
I hear you...when we first started, our shot time was 11am/11pm because I am NOT a morning person, but after the first couple of all night PJ parties, we switched to 6am/6pm because as long as I don't have anyplace to go in the mornings, I can go back to sleep after T/F/S and at night, I can easily stay up until +6 since that's only midnight and I'm much more of a night person
 
That's exactly why we changed it. Neither of us does mornings well - though I'm going to have to manage it somehow for the next few weeks with this temp job and I've got used to going btb after Rosa's AM shot. But it'll get me back the money I spent on Rosa's diagnosis and meds so it has to be done! We're usually good until about 2am if we need to be, but later than that starts to get difficult.
 
You'll get used to it....I've gotten to the point where I don't think I even really wake up at 6am...and I know I've done testing at night that I had no memory of doing (but the numbers were on the meter!)

I call it sleep-testing...LOL
 
I think I've already done a couple of full T/F/S without being properly awake in the mornings. I measure her insulin dose first and then pretty much start going back to sleep while she's eating and I'm giving her the shot!! And yes, some of those really late nights, I can agree - the numbers are on her ss, but I don't remember actually getting them there. We've pretty much agreed though that at least for now, I'm going to take at least a couple of weeks off between temp assignments so that we can both catch up on some sleep as Michael's going to finish up having to do quite a lot of testing during the morning after I've given Rosa her AM shot.
 
Saw that 44 coming - she suddenly ate everything in her food bowl and went looking for more. Reduction for Miss Rosa!! :D :D

I have a feeling I'm staying home tomorrow too - there's no way I'm going to trust her numbers for the day after this! So she got what she wanted - my undivided attention AND a reduction. ;)
 
Thank you. She's had to try a bit harder for this one!! I wasn't going to test her until +4 until she started eating everything she could get near - I figured that was the best sign I was going to get that she might be a bit lower than was ideal! I'd like her to come up a bit now though - this looking for sharks at night is one of her favorite games, but I'm not a fan of her being out there too long ;)

We can postpone tomorrow - our housemate has secondary plans if we can't make it. And there'll be other weekends when we can. I'm going to try not to skip a shot if I can manage to keep the momentum going for her - if she's ready to start coming down the scale again I'm going to give her the best chance at it I can. :D
 
Rosa I hope that 114 wasn't your bounce - 114 doesn't count!

@Vyktors Mum - what do you think I should do? She came up after I gave her the hc but she's sliding back down again. Do I need to keep testing?
 
She had a couple of bites of lc about +4.5 and a little more just after I tested her at +6.5. But not the whole bowl like she did when she dropped low. I can set an alarm for an hour and do another test if you think that's safer.
 
The other option, is to overdo the carbs so you can sleep longer - she has already earned her reduction after all
 
No problem - we were trying to decide what was best to do. We were thinking alarm for an hour and check again - I just don't like that gradual slide back down. Thank you for your help :)
 
I'm trying not to over-carb her. Though if she's still sliding in an hour I might have to just this once!! As you say, she's nothing left to prove tonight :)
 
It is isn't it - I knew there was something odd about this morning's number as I'd not seen yellow in a few days. And she proved it tonight - makes me wonder if she'd dropped lower than is ideal later on in her PM cycle yesterday, but she looked so steady we thought she was fine! But overall, I'm loving her spreadsheet at the moment! :D :D
 
And she's up to 102. Good enough do you think? She's eaten quite a bit of lc in the last hour, but she's still got a fair bit left if she needs it.
 
Hi April,

You may well be OK, but looking at Rosa's SS it looks like she can sometimes drop quite late into the cycle. If it were my kitty I'd try to get at least one more test and take it from there. Ideally, it's good to see three rising numbers, but this is just general advice. You obviously have a good 'feel' for how Rosa is doing, based on your own experience.
.
 
Hi Eliz and thank you for the input. :)

In the end, we looked carefully at her ss and didn't do another test - we were exhausted and had to make a decision one way or the other fairly quickly. I'll explain my reasoning in case anyone is following who might find it useful:-

1. Rosa has never yet dropped low both early and late in a cycle. Although she does sometimes slide down late in a cycle, after she's gone low she's been in the clear by about 3 to 3 and a half hours later every time.
2. By that point, I was less concerned about her numbers overall as I was about the fact that she'd come up and slid back down. I was really looking for the slide to stop as she was still in the high green/low blue zone - I didn't think it was likely she'd slide back down into the lower greens, but I wanted to make sure her numbers were holding steady. I do understand the 3 rising number principle, but as her numbers recently often have little if any variation hour-on-hour, I don't always see 3 rising numbers in a row at any point in her cycle.
3. She had eaten some lc around +4.5 - not much, but enough on top of the hc that was only just clearing her system at that point. She also ate rather more lc at around +6.5 which, once she's in the higher greens after a low episode, is enough to raise her BG pretty consistently. She hadn't, however, eaten anything between +4.5 and +6.5.

This really came down to a 'know your cat' decision in the end. We did, however, leave her enough lc food for at least 3 cats in case she needed it and brought her to bed with us so we'd be very aware if she started getting restless and going to her food bowl repeatedly which is usually the only warning I get that she's dropping either quickly or lower than I'd like.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top