2/5 Zoot! AMPS=260; +3=243; +6=229; +8=242; PMPS=178; +3=179; +4=146; +5=153

+Looks like he is bouncing this morning, (staying flat and yellow)
He may have dropped into green last night after that 195.

It looks like he is seeing more active cycles at night.

All that said the lowest he has been on this dose was 77 and that was 5 days ago.
So you are probably OK to nudge the dose up. But you may need to be more vigilant at night when you do that, so if you see his numbers dropping at night try and follow up with another test. You may need to do that to determine how low the dose is actually getting him.
So for example last night, dropping 60pts from pmbg to +3, I would have followed up with another test.
Option 1 grab a +4 to see if he'd flattened out (go to bed a little later)(or even a +3.5 if you really need to get to bed)
Option 2 go to bed, set alarm and check again at +6/ or +7
 
I hope Zoot keeps heading down today. If he stays flat yellow today you may want to wait to increase until tomorrow morning.
Yep, agree. He is 229 at +6; and I will get another at +8; plus PMPS and what might be warranted tonight.
 
Good luck on the dose increase if you decide to proceed...get your late night test thing on...those late nights are tough but oh so valuable :)
 
@Sue and Luci @Gill & George So I cannot stay up and there is no one to test him. I will try one more time in half an hour because I just gave him food. My husband can monitor him, and he gets more food at +7. He looks and acts just fine. Based upon this, I won't increase his dose tomorrow.
 
hi, i'm still trying to figure out the whole dose reduction, increase and hold requirements/criteria. looking at other kitty SS's in the hope of gleaning something. may i ask why you aren't planning to increase zoot's dose? and why you have held the same dose for 12 days now?
 
hi, i'm still trying to figure out the whole dose reduction, increase and hold requirements/criteria. looking at other kitty SS's in the hope of gleaning something. may i ask why you aren't planning to increase zoot's dose? and why you have held the same dose for 12 days now?
Well I am trying to figure it out too. The TR protocol is a bit confusing for me.

After he dipped below 100 on Friday Jan 31, I started to count 10 cycles, but he dipped below 100 on the sixth cycle (Feb 3), so I wasn't certain if I wait 3-5 days (first red highlight) or 10 cycles (second red highlight) from that point or if it should be from the original Jan 31.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Maybe I should have increased this AM, but at this point it is too late, and because his numbers are lower at night and I cannot stay up to test, I will have to wait till tomorrow.
 
Well I am trying to figure it out too. The TR protocol is a bit confusing for me.

After he dipped below 100 on Friday Jan 31, I started to count 10 cycles, but he dipped below 100 on the sixth cycle (Feb 3), so I wasn't certain if I wait 3-5 days (first red highlight) or 10 cycles (second red highlight) from that point or if it should be from the original Jan 31.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Maybe I should have increased this AM, but at this point it is too late, and because his numbers are lower at night and I cannot stay up to test, I will have to wait till tomorrow.

oh! i would presume that would mean the first time there is a nadir below 200/100? if one kept resetting the number of cycles for every nadir below 100/200, one would never increase, right?
i don't know either! :-)
 
Back
Top