2-Oct Maverick AMPS 180|+7 173|PMPS 461|+3 409

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christie & Maverick

Member Since 2017
pre-pity party thread

Took a few days off to refocus, and had a couple of really great naps with Maverick and Jester, who are always up for a good cuddle when I'm feeling a bit low. I keep re-reading the TR stickies, and I think I'm close to deciding that protocol might be better for us in the long run.

I still worry about the morning cycles when I am at work; and it is becoming increasingly hard to get home at lunch. I work 20-25 minutes away from home, and today we had the first snowfall. The roads at lunch were a mess, I barely had time to test Maverick, feed him lunch, let the drooler out for a pee, and then turn around and head back to the office. In the winter months, there will likely be days when it will be impossible for me to drive home, it would probably take me an hour both ways :(. I guess I will have to believe that whatever food I place in his autofeeder will help steer him if he gets too low. That really worries me if I follow TR, because I would be trying to keep Maverick at lower numbers before getting a reduction.

Mav's pre-shot numbers were still mostly high over the weekend, with a few cycles of good nadirs. Maverick started clearing another bounce last night, which carried over to this morning's AMPS and still blue at nadir.
 
Hi Christie, good to see you back and with batteries recharged by purr power. :bighug:

Can you get a +2 before you go out the door, or even a +10 or so from the night before? It helps to know which way Mav is trending so you can load the autofeeder with higher carb food if needed. He's looking better on this dose.

Snow!?:eek::eek::arghh: Got my capris and sandals on today.:cool:
 
Hi!!!!:bighug::bighug:Glad to see you're back
You can do it with loading the feeders as Wendy said.

Snow already, yikes:confused:
cat in snow.jpg
 
Glad to see you and Maverick back. Snow ... yikes. I'm not ready for that yet! Maverick's looking good in blue today. I'm also struggling with the idea of leaving higher carb food in the feeder and hoping that Gizmo will be alright. I just don't like leaving him alone and not knowing how he is doing.
 
As long as Maverick is used to eating out of his feeder, you should be OK with being away at lunch time. Is he a "Hoover" or a "grazer"? Rusty is a grazer and often forgets to eat, but I always assume that he will know when he really needs to eat.

I expect we'll be having snow soon, too.
 
As long as Maverick is used to eating out of his feeder, you should be OK with being away at lunch time. Is he a "Hoover" or a "grazer"? Rusty is a grazer and often forgets to eat, but I always assume that he will know when he really needs to eat.

I expect we'll be having snow soon, too.
Before Dx, Maverick used to graze on dry, with twice daily canned food. He's more of a Hoover these days, so I know he is eating his meals. I've been setting the autofeeder to serve about 1/4 can at around +3, then I come home between +5 and +6 for his lunch. That I can place in the autofeeder, when I see the weather might make it too hard to get home. It's not being able to see his BG test...even today, I wonder what he did at +4.
 
Hi Christie, good to see you back and with batteries recharged by purr power. :bighug:

Can you get a +2 before you go out the door, or even a +10 or so from the night before? It helps to know which way Mav is trending so you can load the autofeeder with higher carb food if needed. He's looking better on this dose.

Snow!?:eek::eek::arghh: Got my capris and sandals on today.:cool:
The +2 would be hard, that would mean an extra 20-30 mins drive time both to and from work, and added stress. An occasional +10 maybe, would a higher +10 than preshot indicate he's trending for an active cycle? I'm really not ready for the snow :eek:. And it's super windy...nasty North wind, I wore my parka on my walk with the drooler tonight...brrr...sorry, for those of you in warmer parts of the world, a parka is a big, down-filled winter coat :D
 
Even a +10.5 or 11 would tell you if he's down, possible breaking a bounce. Maybe try getting a few of them when you can monitor the cycle after to see if it helps you predict what is going to happen.

At least where you live the snow can be gone and warm tomorrow.
 
Christie, so good to see you and Maverick back! TR made a huge difference for Girlie, but I'm with you on being anxious about being away and not being able to monitor. It's a nail biter for sure... :bighug:

Brrr! Show already!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top