24 Jan TUCKER AMPS: 10.1(180) +6 = 1.6 (29)

Tucker

Member Since 2018
Advice please. If anyone is available to look at Tucker's ss, I would appreciate it. After so many days of hot pinks, suddenly he is acting more like himself and the numbers are coming back down. I was thrilled to see 10 (180) for the morning test but since then he is cruising low. He is very happy though! It's 110 outside and he's happily taking a bath under the air conditioning vent... Bright eyed and bushy tailed as ever..
BUT the numbers look like this: AMPS: 10.1 (180) +4 = 5.1(91.9) +5 = 5(90.1) +6 = 5(90.1) and just now I got a +7 = 4.4(79.3). Is it time to give him a late lunch with some carbs or just keep testing??
 
Hi. Are you following TR of SLGS? If TR the 79 is great and likely he won’t go much lower since you are likely at nadir. I’d just given teaspoon of lc and keep on testing.
 
He's being a cat!
That's a lovely cycle!
Who knows why he's decided to play ball again?!
I'd just give him a teaspoon of l c food and enjoy the cycle......keep testing!
 
I'm doing TR with Tucker. He's playing games with me.... Obviously he is feeling great. If I was clever enough to get a photo off of my phone and load onto here I would....he and Daisy are looking pretty cute together right now.
 
Hi Patty - I'm barely on the forum these days. Working lots of hours.

Agree with Bron - that is a good cycle for Tucker. Tucker seems to be very sensitive to small dose increases, as I saw that hypo after he went to 3.50. Leo has similar sensitivity.

Even after 3 years, and after helping lots of other people, I make mistakes. Leo hypo'ed to 22 on Sunday. That's 22 U.S. scale. We are hoping there are no permanent effects. This really shows the importance of food intake with dosed kittehs.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-22-leoberry-learn-from-my-hypo-mistake.209801/
 
And it would be great to see a pic or two of your sweet kittehs! Theresa likes those fluffy kittens of yours.
 
Here is the photo you sent me earlier..Tucker and Daisy @Tucker @JeffJ
IMG_5023.jpeg
 
Hi Patty - I'm barely on the forum these days. Working lots of hours.

Agree with Bron - that is a good cycle for Tucker. Tucker seems to be very sensitive to small dose increases, as I saw that hypo after he went to 3.50. Leo has similar sensitivity.

Even after 3 years, and after helping lots of other people, I make mistakes. Leo hypo'ed to 22 on Sunday. That's 22 U.S. scale. We are hoping there are no permanent effects. This really shows the importance of food intake with dosed kittehs.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-22-leoberry-learn-from-my-hypo-mistake.209801/
Oh my gosh! That's 1.2 over here....how scary. Did you have to take him to the vet? Tucker has never gone that low, but if he did I don't know if he would show it. He seems so happy when he is in the single digits, I'm afraid he could mask needing help.
 
Here is the photo you sent me earlier..Tucker and Daisy @Tucker @JeffJ View attachment 42040

You're so clever! I had no idea how to attach that. They were so happy laying under the air conditioning vent. 110 today so not a lot of chasey being played in this house...

Tucker lovesss his Daisy. Even if she rides on his back when he runs down the hallway and steals his food. (She also licks his ears after he has had a blood test...so that's pretty sweet.)
 
Yes, I had to take Leo to the emergency clinic. It would have been very difficult at home. Very scary indeed - that is a glucose death zone if not resolved immediately. I documented the incident here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-22-leoberry-learn-from-my-hypo-mistake.209801/
Omgosh Jeff! I'm so shocked that could happen to Leo, you are such a careful and conservative cat dad! That just scared the heck out of me. I have a renewed commitment to testing after reading this. I'm thinking back on the early days when we were told by the vet to just give him 3 units twice a day unless he was not eating... No testing but for a bi-monthly day of testing at their office. So glad I found this site! Hugs for all of you.
 
Omgosh Jeff! I'm so shocked that could happen to Leo, you are such a careful and conservative cat dad! That just scared the heck out of me. I have a renewed commitment to testing after reading this. I'm thinking back on the early days when we were told by the vet to just give him 3 units twice a day unless he was not eating... No testing but for a bi-monthly day of testing at their office. So glad I found this site! Hugs for all of you.

After reading what had happened to Leo and Jeff, I got upset and decided to do a test on Tucker at +6. He was 10.1 this morning but had bounced way up to 24.9 (448) in the wee hours of the morning. I figured it was a bounce from the low numbers yesterday afternoon or he had found some sugar someplace.... I have given him some honey, some gravy FF and some mince at this point. Luckily, I texted Bron and she gave directions. We would appreciate more eyes on this as it plays out. He is purring and acting normal.......which is weird.
 
Given another Tbsp of FF gravy.... It took longer than the 20 minutes to retest because after I got onto Bron I couldn't find him. He was sitting on the top of the freaking kitchen cabinets with Daisy and I could not reach them. Brought over the FF gravy and Tucker jumped all the way to the ground in one leap (9-10 feet?) .... he hit pretty hard but ran to his bowl for the gravy food, so hoping he's ok. OMG Tucker...
 
HOLY smokes! Tucker - you are not supposed to copy LEO! And that was a big jump to the ground too.
 
Sorry, I lost internet (again). I've been testing every 20-30 minutes.
AMPS: 10.1 / 182
+6: 1.6 / 29 Gave him Gravy FF and a bit of honey, then some kangaroo mince
+ 20 minutes : 2.8 / 50 Little more Gravy FF
+20 minutes longer: 4.2 / 75 No added food
+7: 3.5 / 63 Gave him some Gravy FF
+8: 4.6/83 (He's getting really angry about the ear pokes!)
 
Last edited:
Looks like he is struggling to stay up. There is one good thing about this hypo - it is during the day! Well...the other good thing is Tucker feels loved today because he gets extra special FF with Gravy. Leo loves that kind too - especially the Beef and Chicken gravy one.

You might want to pull off the 911. Tucker is not out of the woods, but you have it totally under control.
 
I’d stick to low carb if he’s above 3(50).
You’ve done well today. Tucker is being Tucker and back to his old tricks.
Don’t forget he’s earned a reduction
 
I’d stick to low carb if he’s above 3(50).
You’ve done well today. Tucker is being Tucker and back to his old tricks.
Don’t forget he’s earned a reduction

Thanks for being there, scary! What if I hadn't read Jeff's post and didn't go double checking Tucker??
I rang his vet and she says to skip tonight's shot... I'm not sure that's the right thing to do. What would you guys give him?
 
I would skip the shot. Cats get over sensitive when they have hypos. We skipped Leo's dose after his low hypo.
 
+11 is 3.7 (67)
He is dropping again at +11 so after the BSL 29 today I would skip tonight’s dose and let the depot drain a bit, then give the reduced dose in the morning.
I’d keep checking the BSL until he comes up a bit more.
He’ll probably bounce after the 29 but he doesn’t bounce for long.
 
Ok, I understand. When you say to reduce the dose are you saying to go to 3.00 instead of 3.25?
 
Back
Top