26/12 Mačka AMPS 189 +3 214 +6 317 PMPS 382 +6 192 Trip to France updates!

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...e-day-prior-to-departure.223323/#post-2498001

Hi every one!

I hope you had a wonderful Christmas yesterday.
Here in Paris it's already the 26th, but I haven't opened my presents yet!

We landed yesterday morning after 2 flights and a 15 hour trip (plus extras like driving to and from airport). Poor Macka was literally exhausted; However, he surprisingly handled it well, after all! I was very worried he was going to develop ketones with the stress and dehydration from the plane. He did not look too good when we arrived but as soon as he saw my mom's house, he became alive again and screamed of joy!

He was at home right away, remembering every corner of the house, and even where the litter box is. Took a deep stretch on the rug, and that was it! As if he hadn't left! He's been purring and happy since (and no ketones).

As for the trip details, I had difficult beginnings. I almost missed my flight from Portland to Detroit because of TSA. For people planning on travelling by plane, please be aware of this: I was arrested because of the cat litter I was carrying in my backpack. They panicked when they found it and tested the sand with color metrics: it turned blue=red alert! They took Macka's carrier away from me and forbid me to come close to him, let alone touch him. It was horrible. They kept me 1/2 hour, did a full body search on me. Found nothing, of course. I was crying, telling them he was my emotional support animal and not to take him away from me. Macka was in total fear, being carelessly balanced by the agent, people bumping into his carrier. My husband was on the other side of the fence, watching the whole scene. I wasn't allowed to call him or Delta, to ask to wait for me (boarding was almost over already). He ended up radio-ing Delta and the plane waited!
They said nothing about the insulin or syringes.

Once on the plane, even though I took a Comfort + seat, we were very packed. It was very uncomfortable. so I took him on my lap for take off, and some time during the first flight. I could test him on the plane and he was going low. I gave him MC and drops of honey.

During layover, I found a family bathroom where we hung for a bit. I had this portative litter made of fabric (wonderful) that I filled with litter sand, and he peed! Ate a bit, drank a bit, walked a bit, then off to the Transatlantic flight.

The Premium economy seat on Air France was great. Lots of room, and I had a full aile of 4 seats to myself, so Macka stayed on his own seat in his expandable carrier most of the time.
A few times he wanted to come out and stay on my lap, so we hung this way for a while. We kept each other company and snuggled (I am very anxious on planes). I took him to the toilets twice, and he peed each time in his litter box. During that trip he did not eat much, and refused water. FF mixed with water was okay to drink, and Tiki cat sticks were always a winner. But I'm glad I didn't shoot a full dose.

He was very quiet and sweet during the whole journey, not a single meow. Overall, it was a stressful but positive experience. I was very scared the trip was going to harm him, but he's just fine!
 
OMG! Penelope! What a horrible thing to happen!!! Arrested!!! For carrying cat litter! Oh I just don't know what it's all coming to...I'm glad they figured it all out! Whatever it was that was in that - perhaps something else next time? Or a letter from your vet telling them what it is - so that you can declare it as a 'medicinal' product - with the chemical composition, etc. What an ordeal!

I'm so glad you're both there and that now you can rest and recovery from those flights! I'm glad he was able to pee and eat/drink a little something. It's alot to travel with a diabetic cat! So glad he was comforting to you on the long trans-atlantic flight too!

Merry Christmas dear lady! Give our sweet Macka some extra scritches from us!!
 
Hi Penelope!!!
So glad to see you and Macka made it safely to Paris.
I am sure the first part of the trip, where they took Macka and searched you, was very stressful. What an awful thing to happen!
It sounds as if you both managed the trip admirably and it is great Macka recognised his former home and has settled in so well.
Now you can relax and enjoy the rest of the holiday.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_4454.JPG
    IMG_4454.JPG
    85.3 KB · Views: 74
  • 59892695504__DA2348CB-147F-4800-929D-DFF8C1A7F50A.JPG
    59892695504__DA2348CB-147F-4800-929D-DFF8C1A7F50A.JPG
    34.6 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_4458.JPG
    IMG_4458.JPG
    51.7 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_4467.JPG
    IMG_4467.JPG
    75.2 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_4508.JPG
    IMG_4508.JPG
    81.2 KB · Views: 86
  • IMG_4460.JPG
    IMG_4460.JPG
    57.9 KB · Views: 74
  • IMG_4466.JPG
    IMG_4466.JPG
    37.1 KB · Views: 76
  • IMG_4471.JPG
    IMG_4471.JPG
    93.5 KB · Views: 68
(((Penelope))) I’m so glad you, Macka and husband are safe in France. I’m sorry that happened to you but I’m glad it only lasted half an hour. I always imagined being locked up for hours in these situations.

And wow how amazing that Macka peed each other!

Hope France is treating you well and Macka and you feel better :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Whatever it was that was in that - perhaps something else next time? Or a letter from your vet telling them what it is - so that you can declare it as a 'medicinal' product - with the chemical composition, etc. What an ordeal!
Yes, I'll bring another kind. A letter from the vet wouldn't' have changed much. Imagine that they were too scared too touch it and asked me to touch it. As if I was a terrorist, traveling with my cat :/

It sounds as if you both managed the trip admirably and it is great Macka recognised his former home and has settled in so well.
It almost makes me sad to think of him in his Portland home. He doesn't like it as much, he's not so comfortable. He's like a different cat! Like my old Macka! I thought diabetes changed him, but here in Paris, it's like he never changed, and also, his AMPS was 189! Can this trip to Paris be his path to healing?

Macka and husband are safe in France.
Actually husband stayed in Portland! That's why he was on the other side of the fence!
 
I should increase his dose again. However it’s difficult to monitor him here at my parents house.
I’m already very stressed and imagine it would be crazy if he went into greens this week.
They are really not sympathizing with his diabetes and the way I handle it :(
 
Sorry, thought I had mentioned the issue with security and cat litter. Always keep it in it’s original bag. Depending on what type you use, it could also look like fertilizer used in bombs. Maybe take newspaper or pine pellets? But in it’s original bag. I got pulled off to secondary screening going to and from Denver on my way to Fort Collins with Neko. And they similarly ignored the insulin, syringes, lancets and controlled substance (Buprenorphine). I will leave the story of going through security with my small bag of souvenir salt from the Bolivian Salt Flats for another day. :rolleyes:

Anyway, glad you arrived safe and it’s nice you had room on the long haul flight.

Yes on the increase of course. You could always go to 4.5 units first to ease your way into it,
.
 
Sorry, thought I had mentioned the issue with security and cat litter. Always keep it in it’s original bag. Depending on what type you use, it could also look like fertilizer used in bombs. Maybe take newspaper or pine pellets? But in it’s original bag. I got pulled off to secondary screening going to and from Denver on my way to Fort Collins with Neko. And they similarly ignored the insulin, syringes, lancets and controlled substance (Buprenorphine). I will leave the story of going through security with my small bag of souvenir salt from the Bolivian Salt Flats for another day. :rolleyes:

Anyway, glad you arrived safe and it’s nice you had room on the long haul flight.

Yes on the increase of course. You could always go to 4.5 units first to ease your way into it,
.
Yes you did! This is why I kept it in its original bag!!! But still they freaked out. Next time pellets :)

i was arrested too because of Himalayan salt lol, but that was another time.
 
You are both amazing! Here I am, full of apprehension at starting Lantus today and your are making transcontinental flights with your sugar cat. Being apprehended because of the cat litter would be unnerving enough without the worry about Mačka's well-being. I was happy to read that he is happy and settled now, and also understand family not 'getting' how we are about our sugar cats.
 
You are both amazing! Here I am, full of apprehension at starting Lantus today and your are making transcontinental flights with your sugar cat. Being apprehended because of the cat litter would be unnerving enough without the worry about Mačka's well-being. I was happy to read that he is happy and settled now, and also understand family not 'getting' how we are about our sugar cats.
Hi Teri! Yes. Starting Lantus is apprehensive in itself. Once you become familiar with it, you’ll be able to do more things. I am the nervous type, but look at us! :bighug:
 
Last edited:
Penelope --

I was reading your post this morning. I was in Chicago for the holiday and spending time with friends as well as picking up my present to myself -- a new kitten. I was flying through O'Hare which, for anyone who has not travelled through O'Hare, it is chaotic even on good days. According to the Chicago news this morning, today (Thurs.) was supposed to be the worst travel day of the year. Fortunately, despite my trepidation's of my new kitten getting loose and lost at O'Hear, everything went exceptionally well and there was a TSA officer who was more than helpful.
 
Penelope --

I was reading your post this morning. I was in Chicago for the holiday and spending time with friends as well as picking up my present to myself -- a new kitten. I was flying through O'Hare which, for anyone who has not travelled through O'Hare, it is chaotic even on good days. According to the Chicago news this morning, today (Thurs.) was supposed to be the worst travel day of the year. Fortunately, despite my trepidation's of my new kitten getting loose and lost at O'Hear, everything went exceptionally well and there was a TSA officer who was more than helpful.
Ohhhh congratulations on the new kitten! What's his/her name? This is so exciting! How did it get lost? How did you find it back?
I bet that today must have been chaotic, with everybody going home after xmas. I can't even imagine the pain.
How long was your flight back home? Did you keep your kitten tight in the carrier?
 
Back
Top