26 Aug | Girlie | AMPS 682; +2=695; +3=556; +6=283: 399 pt drop since AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Girlie's mom

Member Since 2017
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/25-aug-girlie-amps-608-2-482-4-311-bounce.182884/

Day 3 in black: that HC food really did her in... I assume that I should just ride this out until she breaks the bounce? I've resorted to my secret "dive, baby, dive" food: FF Savoury Salmon, but even that isn't doing its usual damage...and am threatening her (mentally) with a dose increase...sigh...maybe I should make an appointment to finally get my hair done: that will bring her down just to foil me! :-)

Insulin questions: Re-read the sticky on handling doses and realised that I've been doing things incorrectly with the insulin (rolled the vial; squirted excess back into vial; etc.). Could this have been why I've been having such dramas with air bubbles? Our bottles are only 3 ml, and I was at the end of the original bottle from 20 June anyway, so I started a new vial today.

Just wanted to double-check after watching the great video on how to draw insulin:
  • If I'm drawing 2 units, I should put 2 units of air into the insulin vial first (see 5:24 minutes in on video)?
  • If I stuff everything up after I've tried to draw the dose and need to draw it again, should I use a new syringe?
  • I now know that I shouldn't squirt insulin that I've drawn back into the vial again, so if I could use the same syringe again, I'd squirt out the remaining insulin first into the air (with great fanfare, as if I were a TV doctor)

Thanks so much! :)
 
Sounds to me like you are using a cartridge, not a vial. Cartridges are 3ml. In which case, the you handle it like a pen, as the cartridge is a pen refill. So no putting air in first. I used to draw a 1/2 or 1/4 uni extra and squirt athe exteaninto the sink.
 
Condo: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/25-aug-girlie-amps-608-2-482-4-311-bounce.182884/

Day 3 in black: that HC food really did her in... I assume that I should just ride this out until she breaks the bounce? I've resorted to my secret "dive, baby, dive" food: FF Savoury Salmon, but even that isn't doing its usual damage...and am threatening her (mentally) with a dose increase...sigh...maybe I should make an appointment to finally get my hair done: that will bring her down just to foil me!
It isn't the HC that has caused her to bounce like this....HC wears off in a few hours. It will only effect the cycle you are feeding it in. The bounce was caused by the big drops she had in the am cycle of 23rd.
I notice you didn't get any tests after PMPS last night. When she is likely ( possibly) to be coming off the bounce (cycle5) and she is very high like that PMPS reading, I would still get a test at say +4 to check she is not coming off the bounce during that cycle. It is possible she dropped last night.....just a thought.

How well I remember (before Rob learnt to test) how I used to try and juggle a hair appt!
 
It isn't the HC that has caused her to bounce like this....HC wears off in a few hours. It will only effect the cycle you are feeding it in. The bounce was caused by the big drops she had in the am cycle of 23rd.
I notice you didn't get any tests after PMPS last night. When she is likely ( possibly) to be coming off the bounce (cycle5) and she is very high like that PMPS reading, I would still get a test at say +4 to check she is not coming off the bounce during that cycle. It is possible she dropped last night.....just a thought.

How well I remember (before Rob learnt to test) how I used to try and juggle a hair appt!
Shoot, Bron - I did get a PMPS +2 last night: 749 (YIKES! :eek:) Sorry, forgot to put it on the sheet. I fell asleep quickly after that.

Her PM +11 (1 hour before her AM shot this morning) was 700: do you think she might have dropped in between last night? I left her LC 4 food and she finished that at some point during the night, but several hours before the +11 test as I checked in the wee hours of the morning.

She's due for her "if I'm going to drop, I'll do it at +3) test shortly; I'll put the result in my title.

I didn't realise that they clear up from the HC quickly; that's really, really good to know as I'm going to have to go in to work more frequently again and will have to leave MC and possibly HC food if she's looking dodgy. So you think her high numbers now are from the low greens on the 22nd and 23rd? (61 on 22 Aug and 70 on 23 Aug)
 
@Wendy&Neko
Okay, now I'm going to get really cranky with myself: I left the brand new vial of insulin sitting on top of the fridge at room temperature for the past three hours!!!!!! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

The vet gave me a script, so I assume I should head out and get that filled and get new vials which will stay in the fridge, Darrah! :mad:

So what do I do with this one? Is it ruined now? Sigh...

Sounds to me like you are using a cartridge, not a vial. Cartridges are 3ml. In which case, the you handle it like a pen, as the cartridge is a pen refill. So no putting air in first. I used to draw a 1/2 or 1/4 uni extra and squirt athe exteaninto the sink.

Glad I asked, Wendy - you're right: they're cartridges. So I won't put air in. If I can't draw or hit the right dose in the syringe, can I put the same needle back in the cartridge - minus the insulin, of course? Or should I use a new needle?
 
Answering your subject line. Put it back in the fridge, it should be OK. Unless it's really hot, you should be able to use it up.

As for HC wet, the down side to it only lasting two hours is that if they are low, you have to keep testing.mwhen the HC wears off, there numbers can go back down again.

As for her numbers, I think she has failed the reduction and need to go back up to 0.75 units.
 
On reusing a syringe, that is for you to judge. Each time a needle pokes something, it gets slightly duller. The more things you poke, it may hurt more. I think it won't hurt the insulin, but maybe the cat.
 
On reusing a syringe, that is for you to judge. Each time a needle pokes something, it gets slightly duller. The more things you poke, it may hurt more. I think it won't hurt the insulin, but maybe the cat.
No worries: a new syringe, then.

Answering your subject line. Put it back in the fridge, it should be OK. Unless it's really hot, you should be able to use it up.

As for HC wet, the down side to it only lasting two hours is that if they are low, you have to keep testing.mwhen the HC wears off, there numbers can go back down again.

As for her numbers, I think she has failed the reduction and need to go back up to 0.75 units.
I'll put her back up to 0.75 tonight. Thanks -

On Aug 24 when I had to go into work all day, I started with MC wet and then I left out HC wet, MC wet, and a tsp of HC dry (okay, I was too scared...even though it was clear that she wasn't dropping quickly at all that day; I thought that was because of the MC wet).

Good to know that the HC wet can clear that quickly: I'll put that on my list of essential things not to forget. The HC dry would last longer, though, wouldn't it? Just preparing if she's looking low in the AM and I have to be gone for over 2 hours...
 
Yes, dry takes longer to clear the system. But we can't say how long. And using only wet is one of the prerequisites of following TR.
 
Well, the threatened dose increase from Wendy worked! She's the lowest she's been in three days now: big drop since AMPS. I also gave her a mix of LC and MC @ +4: that really does seem to work for her, I think - better than the really LC up until then.
 
I also gave her a mix of LC and MC @ +4:

As long as she's running that high, I'd stick to low carb.....we don't usually start adding carbs unless they're dropping too quickly early in the cycle, or they're dropping a little lower than we'd like

She's still got a long way to go before she's in any danger....but nice to see something other than black, red and pink!!
 
As long as she's running that high, I'd stick to low carb.....we don't usually start adding carbs unless they're dropping too quickly early in the cycle, or they're dropping a little lower than we'd like

She's still got a long way to go before she's in any danger....but nice to see something other than black, red and pink!!

Thanks for that info! Maybe my post was confusing: She seems to do better on a 1/2 and 1/2 mix of MC and LC to end up with a LC from 5 - 9; that seems to have worked better recently than just a really LC food (0 - 2). So I gave her the really low carb (FF LC 1) yesterday, but then at +3 gave her 1/2 of that and 1/2 of FF MC (12) (so equals LC 6.5) as she's shown that she seems to do better on that than just on the really, really LC food. And she did go to red at +4 and yellows by +6 and +9.

Do you think she should only have the really, really LC until she's out of the blacks again?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top