? 26 Oct | Girlie | AMPS 538; +2: 371; +5=146; +6=113; PMPS HI: How to stop the nightly bounces?

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS: 538 Food: Cats in Kitchen Frickazee LC2
+2: 371 (167 pt drop) Food: CIK LC2
 
Let's see what she does today, before calling it a failed reduction. You could try an in between dose next. See if she can stay on that a little longer.
 
Let's see what she does today, before calling it a failed reduction. You could try an in between dose next. See if she can stay on that a little longer.

Thanks, Wendy. Just got back from my dr appt, and she's 146 at almost +5 (+4:45), so a 226 pt drop in the (almost) 2 hours I was away. Yikes! :woot:

So could those numbers yesterday and every pm since the reduction just be a nasty bounce every day? I really so wish she wouldn't bounce so high, though. A bounce to pink would be sufficient for me, but she has to go all the way up to 600+: not good, Girlie! :eek:
 
Last edited:
Looks like a bounce breaking cycle to me. Either that or she heard the dosecrease threat!

I messed up the time for her numbers earlier:
+5 (4:45): 146
+6= 113
+7=128

I guess I hold her at 0.75 for now. Fingers crossed she doesn't bounce again tonight!

When I'm looking at the TR protocol, it references nadirs under 200 and nadirs greater than 200 or 300. I'm not sure what you do with a cat like Girlie who has different nadirs during the day than she does at night. For the most part, it's like she's Dr Jekyll during the day and then Mr Hyde at night: or are those just bounces at night? Hmmm....:confused:
 
Girlie has bounced to HI for her PMPS: looks like another night of bouncing to really high numbers...how to stop this? I wish I knew! :banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
PM + 2 = 691

I've got to find a good blood ketone monitor as it looks like she's likely to keep this up for a while. Cycle 7 now on 0.75 and she keeps diving quickly during the day and then bouncing at night. No idea how to stop this pattern! :confused::(
 
PM + 2 = 691

I've got to find a good blood ketone monitor as it looks like she's likely to keep this up for a while. Cycle 7 now on 0.75 and she keeps diving quickly during the day and then bouncing at night. No idea how to stop this pattern! :confused::(
Have you tried Amazon there? They have them? I just checked ADW and they don't ship outside the US.
 
Have you tried Amazon there? They have them? I just checked ADW and they don't ship outside the US.

It's a bit tricky to find something that will ship both the monitor and the strips to Australia. Still researching! In the meantime, I'll have to just isolate one litterbox in the bedroom so I can try to catch her in the act... :-)
 
Is Levemir (Detemir) available in AUS? Many have experienced much flatter cycles using it compared to Lantus.

I asked about that, but Wendy said that you usually wait six months before deciding to switch to Levemir. We can get Levemir here. Is it just me, or do you think Girlie looks a bit tough to figure out? :confused:
 
The Abbott Optium Neo here in Australia does blood glucose and ketones. I had that meter and it is reliable.

Sheba was a huge diver and bouncer and I found the only way to help control the dives and therefore lessen the bounces was by feeding the curve and stopping the big drops. While Girlie is having those huge drops in a short period of time she will continue to bounce.
 
Sorry, Darrah, I know it's frustrating. Do you think Girlie & Asia are giving each other ideas here? I try to keep the cats off the internets, but they don't listen. ;)
 
I asked about that, but Wendy said that you usually wait six months before deciding to switch to Levemir. We can get Levemir here. Is it just me, or do you think Girlie looks a bit tough to figure out? :confused:

Yes, Girlie is definitely hard to figure out. Unlikely, but possibly dropping low in the middle of the night causing those blacks? I only waited about 3 months to switch to Levemir, but am not one who's known to follow the rules. I think switching from one depot insulin to another is not as dramatic as a in-and-out insulin to a depot or vice-versa. Once your vial is getting close to running out, I would seriously consider it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top