3/31 Purrdy PMPS 148 +3 43 +3.5 56 +4 45 +4.5 41 +5 77 +5.5 99 +6 70 +6.5 52

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vyktors Mum

Member Since 2011
last time 3/29

Purrdy
This was just going to be an update but as I was posting this I got a phone call from mum letting me know that Purrdy has dropped under 50 again. She had taken him with her to my brother's for dinner and remembered everything - except the HC lol!

Anyway, I'm now I'm looking for dose advice. We had the skipped shot 3/29 PM and then took a 20% reduction to 12u. It's only taken him four shots at 12u to go under again so I'm thinking he needs a bit more off his dose - how much is the question...

He went to the vet today but we won't have his blood test results for a couple of days. The vet took extra blood to do some sort of test to get an indicator on the cushing's. I have no idea what she's testing as the cushing's blood tests I've read about require a blood test, an injection and then a further blood test or tests after a period of time has elapsed. I guess we will find out in due course.

Vyktor
So happy to see poop yesterday - it had been six days since the last! He got a reduction today. His turn at the vet tomorrow.

Can you tell I'm in a rush :woot:
 
I agree with Sienne. I was thinking with the skipped shot and the 4 doses on the 12 units that the depot from the 15 units shouldn't be affecting this test, but I too would refer to someone who knows more about high dose cats. And that if your Mom wants to try 11 units, that would be okay.

I'm glad Vyktor pooed :cat:
 
Best wishes as always for Purrdy and your mum and Vyktor and you too Serryn. I hope the vet visit goes well too.
 
Did they ever run a test for IAA (insulin resistance) on Purrdy?

No, it's completely unheard of here. I spoke to his vet about it ages ago and thought they understood what I wanted but turned out they didn't and we just got the acro test

He's playing hard ball to come up again. We're going heavy on the carbs and have just given some honey too.
 
I thought we had him with the carb/honey combo at +4.5 but it's worn off. He's currently licking his honey straight off the spoon we've carbed him hard again and I've told mum to have a nap until +8.5. We've given him the same carb/honey combo that we gave at +4.5 so it should work at least equally as effectively at this end of the cycle with Purrdy.

ETA: OMG I hope that is right, it just occurred to me if this is breaking IAA then perhaps the antibodies could release their insulin at anytime in the cycle.

It's starting to look like another skip or perhaps a couple of 18 hour cycles or at most a BCS in the morning. Mum is home tomorrow but she's going to be exhausted. I'm also thinking a bigger reduction than 1 unit may be called for in his circumstances...

ETA: failing alternative suggestions I'm leaning towards the 18 hour cycles (which should ensure mum gets a good nights sleep tomorrow night (anti jinx) and based on what he did the other day he might still be green then anyway, although we have carbed him much harder this time) and dropping to 10 units.
 
Last edited:
Holy smokes Purrdy is sure changing things up. Taking a larger reduction is a good idea as you can always go back up right? Sending good vetty vines for both boys and safe surfing!
 
Had to make the call so we've gone for 18 hr cycles - yay mum gets to sleep through in the morning and hopefully gets to sleep tomorrow night too. We'll try 10 u and see how he goes. She just reported in with his +8.5 and it was 83. I had her give another couple of tsp of HC for belt and braces. Dis kitty be out of control! :D
 
I sent Sandy/Black Kitty a note asking for her input. BK was the first IAA kitty here and Sandy is very knowledgeable about insulin resistance.

Did the Cushings test come back positive or is it just what they're assuming due to the high dose? Did you check with Jacqui Rand's group at Queensland to see if they can run an IAA titer?
 
I'd "go big or go home" with the reduction. Try a 2 unit reduction down to 10 units - he can always go back up if he needs to. He barely blinked with the 3 unit reduction last time. I like the idea of the 18 hours cycles and sleep too. Skipping as needed is also a good option when the timing is right. If there's any chance there's IAA involved and it's breaking, you want to err on the conservative with dosing. And yes, the antibodies can have the worst timing in terms of binding or releasing the insulin.:rolleyes: In January, Suki's Crystal decided she suddenly needed 2/3 the amount of insulin she was getting over the space of two weeks. Fortunately Suki was using R so didn't have quite the ocean sized depot to deal with.

Sending vines for Vykor's vetty appointment. Good pooping buddy!
 
Hi Serryn,
I don't know anything about dealing with IAA, but given the difficulty with keeping Purrdy above 50, the 18-hour dosing sounds right to me. It looks as if the depot needs to drain a bit. Sending vines for Purrdy. I hope your mum gets enough rest with the 18-hour schedule.
Vyktor, good man for having that poop!

Hang in there, Serryn,

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hyde is IAA and we have dropped from 35u on March 19th to 20u now (probably too low - thinking dosecrease this weekend). She has been having tummy issues at both ends (vet thinks maybe bad food since both Jekyll and Hyde have both needed enemas this month). My philosophy is to drop the dose significantly, you can always go back up if needed.
 
I'm just glad your Mum had Purrdy with her when this happened! I don't know much about IAA either, but common sense tells me it's possible it's breaking and they're in for a bit of a ride. I agree with the 18 hour cycle and reduction to 10 units. Mum needs to get some rest. Purrdy, keep it safe buddy. There's no need to be in quite such a hurry!

Congrats on the poo in the box, Vyktor. Cinco just did it again. Your turn. :p

Sending vetty vines.
 
ETA: OMG I hope that is right, it just occurred to me if this is breaking IAA then perhaps the antibodies could release their insulin at anytime in the cycle.
it's looking like that may be the case.
Try a 2 unit reduction down to 10 units - he can always go back up if he needs to. He barely blinked with the 3 unit reduction last time. I like the idea of the 18 hours cycles and sleep too. Skipping as needed is also a good option when the timing is right. If there's any chance there's IAA involved and it's breaking, you want to err on the conservative with dosing. And yes, the antibodies can have the worst timing in terms of binding or releasing the insulin.
I agree.
Getting ready to board a flight from LA to Baltimore so will be incommunicado. I'll check back after midnight (eastern US time)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top