4/1 Elizabeth AMPS 119, +2 103, +8.25 132, PMPS 82 and 2nd 87. +45 min 98

Status
Not open for further replies.
With the PMPS being 82, should I give her the shot or not? maybe retest?
I tested again a couple minutes later and got 87. I am not comfortable giving her a shot with these numbers....unless someone tells me otherwise...Thanks!
 
45 minutes later it is 98. I don't want to have to stay up and monitor tonight. Just beginning to feel normal after two nights of sleep. What's your advice?
 
I think it's probably safe to go with the same dose since she's climbing, BUT if you really can't stay up tonight if she decides to drop, you're always better off just skipping the shot
 
Well, I think I'm going to skip, because now it's more than an hour later and I don't want this later shot time. I don't understand why she would be lower at +12, when she ate 1.5 hours prior to that, after being in the 100's all day. Theories or explanations appreciated.
 
Lantus often has a "double dip" where the PMPS is lower than the numbers late in the cycle, but higher than the nadir. I think it's totally possible that she went lower today sometime between +2 and +8

Also, when their pancreas is sputtering back to life, giving a little food can trigger it to start "kicking in", so you'll see a lower number a few hours later.

When on an OTJ trial, we'll tell people that if they get a higher Pre-shot number, to try feeding and recheck 2-3 hours later...if the number comes down, that's a sign that the pancreas is working
 
When the pancreas starts working again, food will cause them to produce their own insulin and bring the numbers down on their own :joyful: It may be nerve-wracking when you are trying to decide to give a shot, but it is WONDERFUL to see.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top