5/2 Purrdy AMPS 166 +3 166

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Last condo 4/27

Crappy week all around. My boss needed to take some leave unexpectedly so I'm stuck doing his job and mine at about the busiest time I've ever known us to have, my bank account got hacked, Vyktor's not eating, Purrdy's numbers are depressing and Mum is really upset about how much insulin we're giving him with no signs of slowing down on the increases. It breaks my heart to have her crying on the end on the phone. She had 5 units as a kind of cut off dose in her head and it looks like we'll have to go there just in time for her birthday :(.

We increased on 4/26 got a few greens on 4/29 but otherwise blue. We started giving the chia seed gel yesterday (I know I'm clutching at straws but we had to try something different) but I'm thinking we need to go ahead and increase again tonight, and then probably next week and the week after, and the week after that. Mum is starting to fall apart so if anyone has any ideas about what this cat is doing with his insulin... (@Marje and Gracie @Sienne and Gabby @Libby and Lucy)

Vyktor's vet got on to some specialists in Sydney about his lymphoplasmatic stomatitis (faucitis) who recommend, instead of Metcam, cyclosporine (probably forever) and a month on clindamycin (as required). I was very excited to have another option - until I looked it up, but I guess most meds are pretty scary when you look them up. @rhiannon and shadow I noticed that you are giving cyclosporine, what is that for, what is the modified cyclosporine and how has your experience with it been?

He barely ate overnight so I'm going to have to make a decision soon, and then I'll get to find out if Vyktor will tolerate that decision. I gather the clindamycin (antirobe drops) taste horrible so I don't have high hopes. The compounding pharmacy said they could try and do something with it but it's very bitter so they don't expect he'll be happy to have it, they were more hopeful about turning the cyclosporine into something he will take but then I found a vet article that says it shouldn't be compounded :arghh: @Tricia & Cinco how does Harvey's sack work and where can I find one or will a pillow case do the trick?

Sorry for a misery guts condo I've been waiting all week to have some good news but...

ETA:
Tee hee hee Vyktor just decided to have his poop on schedule, after only his second attempt, thanks buddy I needed that :smuggrin:

EATA:
Just got a decent amount of food into Vyktor :cat: thank goodness it's the weekend so I can keep shoving the food at him
 
Last edited:
Sorry to hear all this is happening at once. :bighug: I had missed you.

Clindamycin also comes in pills if that's any easier to give. I was given the option of pills or liquid after Neko's dental. I chose liquid but only had to do a week of it. I would add some probiotic to Vyktor's food a couple days before starting it as it's hard on the tummy flora.

Yeah for poop on time and eating!

BTW - I'm having some problems loading Purrdy's SS. Might be a Google thing. Cats need the insulin they need. The important numbers are the BG's, not the dose.
 
I'm sorry things are so crazy right now. It's hard when things hit all at once. I hope your mom can learn to understand that it's not just about the insulin and the numbers, but how well the cat is doing overall. I used to get stressed when Furball's numbers bounced, but have learned if she's feeling good not to worry about it. I'm glad Vyktor ate some for you and gave you poo. Sending prayers. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Why can't Vyktor take clindamycin pills or a shot?

I was expecting to look at Purrdy's SS and see really high numbers. I would LOVE to have Gabby surfing in blues and greens regardless of the dose. Those are great numbers. Have your mom look at some other SSs.
 
Hi Serryn,
So sorry to hear about your miserable week. I hope that all will be better now that it's the weekend, now that Vyktor has had a good poop, and that he has eaten his fuds. I agree with the others: Purrdy needs insulin and he hasn't reached his ideal dose yet. Please tell your mum not to worry. Purrdy is feeling good and that's what's important.

Bummer on your bank account being hacked. It's good that you found out quickly so that you can minimize the damage.

Have a good, relaxing weekend. I hope that you can get Vyktor's meds straightened out. I'm no help there!

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
@Sienne and Gabby Vyktor has always been impossible to pill. I might get one or two in but then he's on to me and gets berserko about the whole thing. He gets himself into such a state that he froths at the mouth. I was looking up about injecting it this morning but I gather it needs to be done intravenously so I wouldn't be able to do it at home. He also goes completely berserko at the vet, they can't do anything with him without sedating him first.

I know Purrdy's numbers aren't bad but they just don't seem to change now matter how much insulin he is sucking up. Mum is grateful for his easy cycles but she is freaked out about him becoming high dose and we just don't understand what's going on. At some doses he's achieved good runs of greens but then he goes off the boil again. At this point she is not willing to keep increasing indefinitely so I'm desperately hoping that someone might have some ideas about why he's doing what he's doing.

my plan initially was that mum would take over posting for Purrdy as I think it would help her a lot to see the daily trials and tribulations of others but it's all a bit much for her so I can't see it happening now.
 
Last edited:
Hooray for poop and eating a good meal--gentle hugs for Vyktor!! How is Purrdy feeling other than his BG?

Sorry to hear you've had such a crappy week :bighug::bighug: Hugs for Mum too!! I know exactly how she feels too-except Purrdy's SS is a true mystery! Like he's stuck in blue, but you notice he doesn't ever bounce either? And it's not that blue is bad, but it is bizzare how he stays blue! Isn't that regulated? One thing I have learned is, once you go up to 5 units, you increase by .5 and that is bound to get a reaction, at least it did for Tiger. Maybe Purrdy hasn't reached his optimal dose, I am not qualified to know.

If you can order from Thriving Pets, it loks like Clindamycin could be compounded into a transdermal? Or, if you can find it in an injectible form, have you ever seen this thing? It is called an EZ-IV. Most cats will not tolerate being held down, but with this harness thing, the cat is free to walk around with the IV intact, then you just inject the meds into the port.
 
Serryn

I'm so very sorry it's been such a horrible week and on top of all that bad stuff...your bank account got hacked! :banghead::banghead::banghead: Here's a big :bighug::bighug::bighug:

The only thing I can say about Purrdy's numbers is it just looks to me like he needs more insulin. Why he does, I don't know. He's not yet at a dose high enough for us to recommend testing for high dose conditions but there's nothing that would stop you. You just might want to give it more time...I know it seems like it's already been a long time. But other than that, I'd keep taking him up .....yes, by the TR protocol...and hope that he hits the magic dose soon. I have seen cats go up over 6u, and look a lot worse on the way, and then come screaming down. Check out Max's SS. It's not a great answer, but it's the best one I have. And as Sienne said, I'd love for Gracie to look like that.

Paws crossed!!

I'm like you on the cyclosporine....you have to really keep a close eye on his liver. ......

Thinking of you and sending prayers.
 
Thanks @Marje and Gracie that spreadsheet does help a little - I will show it to mum too - I can see how Max pretty much did nothing until 5.75-6 units and then zoom back the other way. I was starting to think if Purrdy was just doing the same at every dose we may as well just drop him back to 2 or 3 units and save mum freaking out - we will persevere.

@Tiger and Ruth you always find the most interesting links!

Thanks for the support everyone. I wish mum would do the posting herself so she could suck up the goodness, it's like a recharge and reset :)
 
Best wishes for Purrdy and your mum too. Like the others said you can only keep going with the protocol and hope for the best. I think that Purrdy's numbers look good and good that his glucose levels don't have a lot of bouncing. Best wishes also for Vyktor too.
 
Sorry you are having so many problems this week. Best wishes with the dosecrease. Sorry your Mum is finding it hard going ..I empathise.
 
Serryn, just an echo of everything said by others. And giant hugs. So much to deal with. Thank goodness for this place and the understanding and wisdom of this community.

Light. Vines.

Marilyn and Polly
 
(((Serryn)))

I'm so sorry you had such a crappie day. I've had a lot of those lately, so I know just how you feel. :bighug::bighug::bighug:

I got my cat sack from
http://www.fourflags.com/s.nl/sc.2/...ftiLL8KkupiEmxDw12N124mILh4Dr6PxFVRoCmdfw_wcB

(sorry, I can't figure out how to do a link on my tablet with the touch screen keyboard). I believe you can find them on Amazon, too.

Harvey has gotten a lot better about getting into it -maybe because I give him lots of love when I get him in it.

I hope you get the meds figured out and that they help Vyktor.
 
Try not to disparage because his numbers look pretty good as they are. I know you both want him in remission but I think the best goal is regulation. And he's doing great.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top