5/2 SHEBA AMPS 466 +5 299 Advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-27-sheba-amps-301-after-nadir-104-pmps-277.136907/

Haven't seen a green for Sheba for days. She came close to it on 28th when she was 101.
She appears to be well. Eating, sleeping, purring, mobility good, communicating ++
Last time I was at the vet he said she had the best teeth of a cat her age he has seen (anti jinx) so I doubt it is that which is causing a problem.

One thing I have done is increase the number of low carbs in her +2/3 meal from 20 to 30 grams routinely to try and help the drops.
Yesterday I thought I brought her down really well in the am cycle with no big drops so was surprised to see the higher numbers afterwards.
I can see she did drop quite a bit in the pm cycle on 28th from +3.75 to + 5. I knew when I got the +9 reading in that cycle and it had almost doubled we were in for a bounce and sure enough she was hi the morning.
Am I missing something or doing something wrong?
Would be grateful if you could have a look at it all and advise me please. Thanks.
 
Hi Bron!

I just think you need to increase her dose. She hasn't seen green in 11 days. I'd probably increase by 0.5u because her dose is larger.
 
I agree with Julie. More insulin can also take down some of the higher numbers.

Has Sheba ever had dental X-rays? For Neko's last dental, I took her in to get some gum work done (from her acromegaly). I went to a dental specialist and they always do X-rays. In spite of her only having a little tartar and the teeth looking fine to visual inspection, the X-ray found a tooth with missing roots and a pocket down to the jaw line. Plus early signs that two of her canines roots may also be absorbing.
 
Hi Bron!

I just think you need to increase her dose. She hasn't seen green in 11 days. I'd probably increase by 0.5u because her dose is larger.

OK I will increase the dose tonight. Thanks Julie

I agree with Julie. More insulin can also take down some of the higher numbers.

Has Sheba ever had dental X-rays? For Neko's last dental, I took her in to get some gum work done (from her acromegaly). I went to a dental specialist and they always do X-rays. In spite of her only having a little tartar and the teeth looking fine to visual inspection, the X-ray found a tooth with missing roots and a pocket down to the jaw line. Plus early signs that two of her canines roots may also be absorbing.
No I don't think she has had any dental X-rays done. She did have X-rays done about a year ago when they were looking for a cause of her illness and I think they did head to tail but probably not up close enough. I will check next time I go to the vet. Thanks Wendy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top