5/25 Floyd AMPS Hi, +3 Hi, +6 297

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Janine & Floyd (GA), May 25, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Janine & Floyd (GA)

    Janine & Floyd (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Yesterday

    Bouncing again after some nice blues last night. The good news is no vomit this morning, so I'm hoping that I was right about the increase in food volume as the cause.

    We're getting ready to travel tonight. No results from MSU yet.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2018
  2. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I know what it's like to celebrate a day without pukus! :p I hope the floors (and probably carpets) stay clean today.

    Floyd, those were really some pretty greens yesterday. No need to make such a statement. If today wasn't so busy, might have been an opportunity for a little R this morning.

    I thought MSU results came late Friday. Paws crossed for negative.

    Have a good trip and holiday weekend.
     
  3. Janine & Floyd (GA)

    Janine & Floyd (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Results of the IGF-1 are in..........265 nmol/L. So, it's official, he's an acrocat. :(

    I guess I need to do some more reading on cabergoline. I'm fairly certain SRT will not be an option.

    IAA still pending.
     
  4. Stacy & Asia

    Stacy & Asia Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    I’m sorry the results were positive for acro, but... he’s the same cat he was before you knew and he doesn’t the know the difference. It’s really good to know what you are dealing with. We’ve seen some impressive results with cabergoline around here and others it didn’t seem to do much for, but you never know if Floyd will be one of the lucky ones! Had you been following Pig’s recent SRT journey? Pig’s bean did a vlog and it has a lot of the geeky details in it. If I can be so nosey, why is it likely not an option for Floyd?

    Hugs to you and extra love to Floyd! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Janine & Floyd (GA) likes this.
  5. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

    Sorry you had to join the not so exclusive club. I have seen a recommendation that all cats still unregulated over 6 months from dx should be tested.

    I don't know if you've looked at the cabergoline thread over in the high dose forum (some experiences and dosing) - most of the research has been at Royal Veterinary College. One of their latest tests was adding octreotide to the mix if cabergoline was not enough. More about that here. Octreotide by itself was tested by Colorado State University and found not to work for acrocats. Unfortunately (for us, not him), Chris at RVC has graduated with his PhD. I don't know if he can be contacted there anymore, but usually the folks at the diabetes remission clinic at RVC are very good at answering any questions.
     
  6. Janine & Floyd (GA)

    Janine & Floyd (GA) Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    You're right, he's the same Floyd. Looking at me wondering when his next meal is coming!

    I have been following Pig's SRT journey. :)

    Multiple reasons on the SRT for Floyd. It would be really hard for me to travel, plus the cost involved. We are moving our clinic to a new location, so that is a big expense this year. DH would never go for it.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  7. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    For the majority of acros, just managing the symptoms has been the standard of care. It's just with the recent trials of cabergoline that a relatively inexpensive drug has become available. Not sure if you get any discounts, but pasireotide (Signifor LAR by Novartis) has seen much better results than cabergoline - but it costs an arm and a leg.

    Has Floyd ever had an echo or cardio proBNP done? Heart issues are more common with acros, though not with all of them. Thankfully he's got a great team on his side.:bighug:
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  8. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Oh no. Mine just came in at 389 and my vet is telling it's normal and he wouldn't do the IAA. I think he reading old studies. IDK anymore.

    Interested on hearing your take on cabergoline. Reading up on it myself.
     
    Stacy & Asia likes this.
  9. Amanda and a Loudogg

    Amanda and a Loudogg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    I'm going to be testing my buddy Lou. I just have to physically bring him in to get his blood drawn. Many hugs :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Ana & Frosty (GA) likes this.
  10. Ana & Frosty (GA)

    Ana & Frosty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Is he an IM vet? If he's not, is it possible to take his bloodwork to see an IM specialist? Or at least a second opinion so that you can he can get treatment?

    Sorry to hear about the results. I'm still waiting, although I will be completely shocked if it's positive bc Frosty has all the typical signs of Cushing's, not Acro. But you just never know....

    I hope you come up with a good treatment plan soon. SRT is definitely expensive, and our IM vet is an hour away too. The good thing is that apparently prognosis is good with SRT treatment for Acro cats.
     
  11. Ana & Frosty (GA)

    Ana & Frosty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    @Janine & Floyd since you're a vet, any interest in publishing something about the protocols we use here in a US veterinary journal? Just curious. I realize you have a lot on your hands right now, but I want to pick your brain lol. I would LOVE to be able to educate my cat's vets about this without them thinking I'm crazy or think I /the internet knows more than they do. Haha. Just throwing it out there. I can help edit. ;)
     
  12. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Great idea. My vet made a comment about "internet vets" when I asked for the cushings test. Smile and nod was my response.
     
  13. Ana & Frosty (GA)

    Ana & Frosty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    My goodness... is there an internal medicine vet near you somewhere you can take your kitty to? lol
     
  14. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Only at the ERs. I did find a dental only vet not far. Never thought cats, dogs, and pocket pets would have root canals, crowns and even braces.
     
  15. Ana & Frosty (GA)

    Ana & Frosty (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2018
    Braces?!?! Stop it... although a coworker today told me she got a dental implant for her cat. WHAT?!

    Is there maybe other vets in the area who are more familiar with cats with acromegaly? And what treatment options are available in your area.

    Hope you figure something out.
     
  16. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Ana, I will answer on my condo. Don't want to hijack Floyd's.
     
    Ana & Frosty (GA) likes this.
  17. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Uugh sorry to hear that Floyd's IGF-1 is high. It does help knowing what you're dealing with. For us it was no surprise at all. It was like I was shooting water into Beenie. She never saw a blue or green just stayed flat and high as I continued to increases her dose.
    I think Cabergoline is a great option and I feel it was working for Beenie. It was her heart that ultimately was the problem. She was coming down the dose ladder nicely on Cabergoline. To me its worth a shot in lieu of SRT as the expense and travel was not an option for us.

    :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page