5/25 SHEBA AMPS 160 ? Re dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Previous condo:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/5-23-sheba-amps-277-3-5-199-6-5-94-8-56.138281/

Yesterday morning Sheba bounced following a big drop the night before that got away from me. The bounce was bigger than it has been this past week or two but only lasted one cycle. Disappointing but expected.

I am finding with this dose Sheba is having a very strong response most cycles.
I am loving the green and blue numbers but I am finding to stop her dropping too fast and so prevent more bounces and to stop her going so low she gets a reduction, I am having to spend much of every cycle testing. Otherwise she will end up back where she was with bounces and rapid drops.
Apart from the time involved and the cost of all the test strips I am using, which are expensive out here, I am exhausted from constantly broken sleeps. While she is dropping at night I have to keep getting up as there is no guarantee that she will stay safe, because even with the honey and food she still continues to have drops.

I feel bad complaining because I know I am in a great position with Sheba, but I can't keep doing it.
So my question is: could I let her drop down and get a reduction but just take .25unit and see if that maintains the greens but slows the whole cycle down a bit. I know she responds well to small increases and decreases. I don't want to lose any ground, but I can't keep this up.
I would appreciate input and advice please. Thanks
 
I guess if you want to think of it as modified tr....
the go slow approach earns reductions at 80 ( or was that before the new guidelines)

sometimes you have to take care of yourself too.
 
If it were me, and I have been in your shoes of not enough sleep due to relentless night time action, I'd reduce her down .25U for a bit. If she holds the reduction great. If not, you can take her back up once you've recharged your batteries. It's not according to protocol, but follows the mantra of safety first. You have to be able to take care of you to take care of Sheba. :bighug: A couple of years ago, one of my favourite phrases was "I'm taking her down for a bit so I can get some sleep". A reduction may also be warranted if you are having to work hard to keep her up.
 
If you're having that much trouble keeping her from dropping, I'd try the reduced dose. You can always go back up if it doesn't work.
 
Thanks Rhiannon and Wendy. So do you mean just go down the .25 or get the reduction first?
I hate doing it, but I am really getting tired and I haven't been able to get as many naps during the day as I was.
 
Just go ahead and go down so you can get some rest and recharge your batteries

If her numbers get out of hand, you'll be ready to go back up again and fight the good fight
 
Thanks Chris and Carla. I will do that and if it doesn't work I will go straight back up..
I'm loving the greens so am hoping to keep them:):cool:
Even a few good night sleeps would recharge me, I think.
 
I agree with everyone else Bron. I would reduce the dose by .25 units as you are thinking of doing. It seems you are working hard to keep Sheba from dropping low so she may well have earnt the reduction if you weren't doing that. You also need to sleep and rest because you need to stay healthy too. I have thought a lot lately about how hard we try and how committed we are to doing our very best for our cats but we need to look after ourselves too because we are the most crucial element in our cats having good health because the reality is for many of us no one else could or would do what we do to keep our cats healthy and safe. Lately I have been thinking that if good regulation rather than remission is the price to pay for not being so stressed and exhausted maybe it is a reasonable trade off. But then I think of how much better remission would be for Lucy and me too and I think I need to work on taking better care of myself while not giving up trying for remission. Sometimes that might mean reducing the dose for a while to take a breather and get more rest. Sending you hugs Bron. :bighug:
 
I agree with everyone else Bron. I would reduce the dose by .25 units as you are thinking of doing. It seems you are working hard to keep Sheba from dropping low so she may well have earnt the reduction if you weren't doing that. You also need to sleep and rest because you need to stay healthy too. I have thought a lot lately about how hard we try and how committed we are to doing our very best for our cats but we need to look after ourselves too because we are the most crucial element in our cats having good health because the reality is for many of us no one else could or would do what we do to keep our cats healthy and safe. Lately I have been thinking that if good regulation rather than remission is the price to pay for not being so stressed and exhausted maybe it is a reasonable trade off. But then I think of how much better remission would be for Lucy and me too and I think I need to work on taking better care of myself while not giving up trying for remission. Sometimes that might mean reducing the dose for a while to take a breather and get more rest. Sending you hugs Bron. :bighug:
Thanks @Voula
That is kind of you to think of me. Yes, it is hard when we are not getting enough sleep. I can go on for so long and then I have to stop and recharge. Usually I can grab an hour during the day here and there but lately things have worked against that happening.
Having had a cat in remission I can say that is definitely the better option, but I have to admit I have on occasion thought, 'just get her into OK numbers and leave it at that'. But that is tiredness talking.

Yes, we must look after ourselves as most of us don't have anyone else who would do what we do for our kitties. We all have to walk a fine line between looking after our kitties and looking after ourselves. Most of us don't put ourselves first!
I'm sorry you have been feeling so tired lately. Having a chronic illness makes it that much harder :bighug::bighug:
Do look after yourself and try not to get stressed if you can. I find taking some deep breathes and dropping my shoulders and closing my eyes relaxes me.
 
No dosing advice from me Bron but agree with everyone else that it's time to put yourself first otherwise you run the risk of total exhaustion and not being able to look after anyone. Permanent tiredness is very wearing on the mind and body. Back off for a couple of days and get yourself re-energised. Take care :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top