5/5 Oren; AMPS=355; PMPS=350; +2.5=331;+5=188;+6.75=175;+7.75=201;

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
things are not going well. backwards motion for sure. Dose increase is warranted; based on numbers .25 would be likely, but because he's over 5 already, others say .5. That puts him to 6.25 which makes me wonder do i need to schedule a vet visit?
trying to remember "they need what they need" insulin wise and not get freaked by the amount, but it's making me sad.
Last night was just a mystery; I don't know what's causing him to stay high other than not enough insulin. :(
 
Last edited:
Hi Megan,
No dosing advice just support to say I know how you are feeling.
Does Oren have any pain, do you think?
I was unaware Sheba was in pain and when that was addressed (she has arthritis) her BSL went down and she needed less insulin. They are very good at hiding pain. Just a thought....
Hope you get some good numbers soon. Come on Oren
 
Hi Megan,
No dosing advice just support to say I know how you are feeling.
Does Oren have any pain, do you think?
I was unaware Sheba was in pain and when that was addressed (she has arthritis) her BSL went down and she needed less insulin. They are very good at hiding pain. Just a thought....
Hope you get some good numbers soon. Come on Oren

Thanks Bron! Oren doesn't seem to have any issues such as arthritis etc. just yet, but I do wonder about his teeth. His vet at last visit (a bit over month ago) said his tartar wasn't terrible, but i keep hearing from others that there are often issues not easily discernible by a casual look. His breath is bad, and he's already missing many teeth (they were bad when I adopted him 7 years ago, and he's had a few pulled since then, knowing they'd have to come out). He had done quite well at this dose about 1 mo. ago, with lots of green/blue and even earned a reduction at one point, but something is different.... So i am thinking maybe a check up is in order again.
Thanks for checking in on us, and yes, I think he's a handsome and suave little guy (as per his pose in the pic!). Sheba is quite lovely and regal herself! I hope she behaved better today for you, what a wild ride!
 
With as many cats as we have and have had over the years, we've experienced a great deal. My sweet Rocky boy (GA) never displayed any issues of pain or dysfunction with his teeth. He would eat his food and didn't lose weight at all. But he had some pretty nappy smelling breath. Vet did a visual on his teeth and saw nothing. More time went by and nothing changed. Finally he did an x-ray and there was decay below the gum line. I don't remember the number of teeth at this point, but there were multiple extractions. 2? 3? You've tried so many things ... a vet visit to rule out tooth issues sounds like the next logical step so at least you have peace of mind and can go forward with the dose increases without doubt.
Give sweet Oren some scritches from Zoe. :D
 
Definitely time for an increase. I would do .5u. Oren seems to have lost his greens and you don't want him lingering too long in higher numbers or glucose toxicity can set in, which means even higher doses to break through.

I would think about a vet visit, especially since you say his breath is bad. Dental issues can play such a huge part in the numbers and I have personal experience with issues only visible below the gum line and needing dental X-rays to see what is really going on.

When did Oren last have blood work done? If the vet recommends more blood work (which they usually do if it's not current before a dental), then you might want to consider having the vet get tests done for a couple of the high dose conditions. Usually when a cat gets to 6 units, we suggest getting tested for acromegaly and IAA. Neko has both of those conditions. In North America, the blood has to be sent to Michigan State University. Recent research has shown that 20-25% of all diabetic cats has acromegaly. Oren's need for more juice may be nothing more than a dental needed - but it's more cost effective to do now if blood work is being done anyway.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top