? 6/11 Muffin PMPS 387 - seems like getting no where - could someone check SS and advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Hi
Muffin has been on insulin for almost 2 full days but her numbers are not good. Really not sure what is the next best step. Stay the course or ?? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
 
Well - I am not an adviser haha But I am a curious bystander, perhaps :)
Were you first using food to control blood levels, instead of insulin? Is that why the SS just recently shows insulin given?

My Mouzer is one of the kitties of Tommy Cat Sanctuary. That is cool - you also have a sanctuary for kitties *insert heart here*

Tommy Cat Sanctuary is my own sanctuary to 50 kitties - which, three of them are actually my personal kitties and the rest are rescues. There are 32 left from two cat colonies I found in 2004, while living at an apartment complex for seven years, after hurricane jeanne destroyed my home. And 13 were rescued from this area, where I live now, which is in the country and another home purchased in 2011, finally. And there are three rescued dogs.
 
Hi
Muffin has been on insulin for almost 2 full days but her numbers are not good. Really not sure what is the next best step. Stay the course or ?? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
Lantus is a depot insulin. The effects are cumulative, meaning one dose builds upon the next. When first starting out, you may not see what the dose can do for 5 - 7 days, sometimes more. Hold the dose for about a week unless Muffin tells you otherwise by dropping too low... under 50 if you've chosen to follow the TR Protocol, under 90 if you've chosen to follow SLGS.

Hang in there. What you're seeing is normal. It's simply too soon to draw any conclusions.
 
Lantus is a depot insulin. The effects are cumulative, meaning one dose builds upon the next. When first starting out, you may not see what the dose can do for 5 - 7 days, sometimes more. Hold the dose for about a week unless Muffin tells you otherwise by dropping too low... under 50 if you've chosen to follow the TR Protocol, under 90 if you've chosen to follow SLGS.

Hang in there. What you're seeing is normal. It's simply too soon to draw any conclusions.

I was wanting to say this but I am too new -- except I guess I could have went and dug it out of all of the stickies and just made link to it for reference. I wasnt sure if this was something being done where food is used to control blood glucose or what - so, I was afraid to even share the links to the stickies because if this was something being done where food is the controlling factor, I did not want to be giving wrong links to people.

I am glad to see that I have retained what I have learned. This response tickles me. I feel so happy every time I see something repeated and I knew the answer and it is confirmed I learned something. I hate for Mouzer to have this diabetes but I sure like seeing I am able to learn, even if slow at a bit of it.



And Muffin kitty owner ... Go look at Mouzer's SS ;)
Now there are some numbers there not to be happy with heehee
 
Hang in there! We switched from another insulin (after 7 months on ProZinc) and Chuck is a high dose kitty but it still took 3 days to see some numbers in the 100 range.
Chuck was mostly pinks and yellows until the pm cycle on the 3rd day (6th shot of lantus).
It can be extremely frustrating waiting to see better numbers but it's worth every gray hair!:smuggrin:
 
Well - I am not an adviser haha But I am a curious bystander, perhaps :)
Were you first using food to control blood levels, instead of insulin? Is that why the SS just recently shows insulin given?

My Mouzer is one of the kitties of Tommy Cat Sanctuary. That is cool - you also have a sanctuary for kitties *insert heart here*

Tommy Cat Sanctuary is my own sanctuary to 50 kitties - which, three of them are actually my personal kitties and the rest are rescues. There are 32 left from two cat colonies I found in 2004, while living at an apartment complex for seven years, after hurricane jeanne destroyed my home. And 13 were rescued from this area, where I live now, which is in the country and another home purchased in 2011, finally. And there are three rescued dogs.
Hi...yes I wanted to see the affect of LC canned food in her diet before starting insulin. That's wonderful you rescued all of those animals. We have over 100 cats and half are feral kitties. Our website explains what we do www.sistersanimalsanctuary.com. We are a nonprofit and a no -kill so we have to watch our numbers. And we are not getting any younger;)
 
Lantus is a depot insulin. The effects are cumulative, meaning one dose builds upon the next. When first starting out, you may not see what the dose can do for 5 - 7 days, sometimes more. Hold the dose for about a week unless Muffin tells you otherwise by dropping too low... under 50 if you've chosen to follow the TR Protocol, under 90 if you've chosen to follow SLGS.

Hang in there. What you're seeing is normal. It's simply too soon to draw any conclusions.

Thanks Jill! I was just getting worried about her. We will continue as is.
 
Hi Julie, do you remember patients pants from your last time here. :p Muffin didn't become diabetic overnight, it will take time to get regulated. :bighug:.
 
Hang in there! We switched from another insulin (after 7 months on ProZinc) and Chuck is a high dose kitty but it still took 3 days to see some numbers in the 100 range.
Chuck was mostly pinks and yellows until the pm cycle on the 3rd day (6th shot of lantus).
It can be extremely frustrating waiting to see better numbers but it's worth every gray hair!:smuggrin:

Thanks Steph. Appreciate the input and we will hold and see how it goes.
 
Hi...yes I wanted to see the affect of LC canned food in her diet before starting insulin. That's wonderful you rescued all of those animals. We have over 100 cats and half are feral kitties. Our website explains what we do www.sistersanimalsanctuary.com. We are a nonprofit and a no -kill so we have to watch our numbers. And we are not getting any younger;)

I had seen that you did get blues in there with the lc food but I guess it came time for insulin.

I know what you mean by watching numbers and not getting any younger. That is, if you are meaning aging cats costing more money due to medical care they need. This is very expensive. It wasnt that bad, when they were all younger, but the age and things that take place with aging cats has run-a-muk on expenses big time! The once upon a time ferals in my care are no longer feral, where I am concerned, but you know how that goes - they are not adoptable. They only know and trust me.
I have stopped being able to go out and do tnr, just because what ended up in my permanent care is now very expensive and I hate not going out and tending to others but it came to the time that - so these can get cared for - I had to know when it was time to stop trying to save the world of animals. I wish I was rich!!!
And bless you all for caring for the precious ones!!!!! I smiled real big when I saw this kitty is a sanctuary kitty - my passion :)
 
Hi Julie, do you remember patients pants from your last time here.
I believe these are this seasons new model:p
HTB1D8YgKFXXXXacaXXXq6xXFXXXM-800x800.jpg
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top