6/20 Purrdy AMPS 239 +3 232 +5 166 PMPS @+14.3 189 +3 113 the Purrdy has landed!

Status
Not open for further replies.

purrdydolly

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

So with the board down I couldn't get to yesterday's advice (thanks Wendy, thanks Julie) before shot time - actually shot times it was still down when I went to bed last night. I had to make the call so I dropped him to 4 units and also moved the shot time forward so he won't be quite as late for his shot tonight and then per Julie's advice (specific for Purrdy and I - should not be copied without advice) probably shoot at around +10 on the next shot tomorrow morning. That should get him on schedule and give the depot refilling a kick start. We'll try to do better on the way home...

Purrdy is on his way to the airport now, I've still got to organise his room and go shopping before he gets here. The weather is a lot colder than when he was last here so I'm going to turn the laundry into a giant snuggly nest for him. I have about 8 hours so we should be right!

Funny story from yesterday - since Purrdy got dx I leave my phone on at night in case mum needs me. For the first time yesterday she did. I got a phone call at 2.15 am my time from a very panicky mother saying the meter wouldn't work and she didn't know whether she should shoot. She'd had the battery flash at her the other day and then when she'd put the strip in to test got an E9 low battery message. So she'd taken the battery out and cleaned it and tried again - nothing!

Luckily I have also made the mistake of putting the battery in the wrong way before so was quickly able to resolve that one lol!

Thanks for the travel vines Amy and Ann - he's getting to be quite the frequent flyer so I don't think he'll be too stressed, also we've dosed him up with rescue remedy :woot:

Thanks for the pharmacy link @Voula mum does sometimes get out Coburg/Brunswick way so looks like we have a new place to buy syringes, at half what she's been paying :)
 
Last edited:
Hope all goes well with the traveller. Lucky your mum had you to ring re the meter and I'm glad it was all ok. She certainly would not want to shoot too low if he was traveling. So I understand her anxiety
 
Yesterday

So with the board down I couldn't get to yesterday's advice (thanks Wendy, thanks Julie) before shot time - actually shot times it was still down when I went to bed last night. I had to make the call so I dropped him to 4 units and also moved the shot time forward so he won't be quite as late for his shot tonight and then per Julie's advice (specific for Purrdy and I - should not be copied without advice) probably shoot at around +10 on the next shot tomorrow morning. That should get him on schedule and give the depot refilling a kick start. We'll try to do better on the way home...

Purrdy is on his way to the airport now, I've still got to organise his room and go shopping before he gets here. The weather is a lot colder than when he was last here so I'm going to turn the laundry into a giant snuggly nest for him. I have about 8 hours so we should be right!

Funny story from yesterday - since Purrdy got dx I leave my phone on at night in case mum needs me. For the first time yesterday she did. I got a phone call at 2.15 am my time from a very panicky mother saying the meter wouldn't work and she didn't know whether she should shoot. She'd had the battery flash at her the other day and then when she'd put the strip in to test got an E9 low battery message. So she'd taken the battery out and cleaned it and tried again - nothing!

Luckily I have also made the mistake of putting the battery in the wrong way before so was quickly able to resolve that one lol!

Thanks for the travel vines Amy and Ann - he's getting to be quite the frequent flyer so I don't think he'll be too stressed, also we've dosed him up with rescue remedy :woot:

Thanks for the pharmacy link @Voula mum does sometimes get out Coburg/Brunswick way so looks like we have a new place to buy syringes, at half what she's been paying :)
Hi Serryn. I hope your mum can get the syringes for $20. I think the woman at the pharmacy sold the syringes to me at the price they pay for them as they were part of their Diabetes Australia stock so I don't think the chemist made any profit. Hopefully your mum can find the same at another UFS chemist too. The chemist I usually go to probably sells them to make a profit from them. There is a medical supplies place in Preston that sells them for about $25 online plus postage. If your mum goes near Preston she could buy them directly from there if the UFS chemist doesn't sell them for $20 like the one I went to does. This is the medical supplies place in Preston. https://www.medshop.com.au/products...ml-29-g-0-33-mm-x-12-7-mm-syringe-326103.html Without postage one box costs $24.95. If she got a few boxes at a time it might be worth it even with postage and it seems most online shops sell them for about the same price plus postage.
 
Safe travel vines for Purrdy. I'm looking forward to the Vyktor update.

Interesting you guys get the BD syringes cheaper than we do. Maybe we pay extra for those .5U lines. :rolleyes:
 
@Wendy&Neko - Our lantus is a whole heap cheaper too, embarrassingly cheaper :oops: - we get a box of five cartridges for between AU$95 to 120. I have no idea how that can be???

Purrdy has arrived safe and sound and with no accidents in his carrier - I was half expecting him to have pooped and rolled in it and need a shower so that was a relief! His BG was lower than expected after the seriously reduced doses. I thought high yellows or perhaps even pink but he was blue :cool: He's had his dinner and his shot (full dose) and is now chortling away in the laundry. He's a funny boy, I go down and sit with him and he loves on me for 5-10 mins and then goes and sits near the window by himself but as soon as I leave he starts chortling again :rolleyes:

Vyktor is trying to ignore his arrival and Meg has already stamped her feet at him - best I go suck up to them a little to show them that I still know who's boss!
 
He's a funny boy, I go down and sit with him and he loves on me for 5-10 mins and then goes and sits near the window by himself but as soon as I leave he starts chortling again :rolleyes:
Noodle is like that sometimes, too! She doesn't necessarily want to snuggle, but she wants me nearby just in case she gets the urge while watching her birds.

Hopefully Meg isn't TOO offended to see her former houseguest has returned. I was going to ask if she's handling it well or already stalking the hallway for a chase!
 
Yay for a safe arrival and a clean cat and carrier - what a bonus! :woot:

Cinco tends to go lower when he's stressed, so maybe that's the deal with Purrdy's numbers.

Hopefully all critters will remember how well they got a long the last visito_O and pick up where they left off soon. Meg, stamping your feet is so below you! Try for a little more dignity, please. :joyful:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top