? 6/3 Shiloh ~ AMPS 132, +1 99, +5 74, +10.5 135, PMPS 110, +2 96, +3 91

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shiloh & Rhonda (GA)

Member Since 2015
Well, I took a shot (pun intended) and gave her her insulin this morning. I will be able to come home at lunch and check on her. That was a quick bounce!

I will also be checking her before I go to work.
 
A drop at +1 could mean a fair amount of activity is ahead. How long before you leave for work? And how long until you get back home at lunchtime? Are you able to grab another test before you head out the door? If she continues to drop, leaving out some MC or maybe a little HC (depending on the size of the drop) might not be a bad idea.

I do have to get ready for work myself in a few minutes, but I will try to check back. Others should be waking up and getting on board soon, too.
 
Thanks Amy and Carla. I will leave some food down. I am actually on my way out the door now. I should be home between 11:30 and 12:00 for lunch.
 
yup - you keep the dose for now. She looks great on it! that's been about a perfect cycle today! wahoo!

that was also a very fast recovery from the skipped shot yesterday morning.
 
I thought so too! I assume that is a good thing!

ETA: When I first started sharing my numbers with the vet, he said this: "Ideally 150-160 range. It's not uncommon to see some rises and fall, but 150 should be a good target.
Keep in mind we do not want it going below 100!"

Should I try to explain to him what I am doing? Send him the TRP info, or nod and smile?
 
Last edited:
nod and smile. ;) Better yet, why share at all?

150-160 is great for a cat that's just being maintained on insulin. If you have any goal of remission, then it's way too high.

Here's a great spreadsheet to look at - notice in February when Shawna first started shooting green preshot numbers. Watch across the cycle at how flat the cycle became. Davidson Davidson took months to work off of insulin - which is kind of unusual, but he mostly earned reductions by going down the dosing scale 0.25u at a time after each week in normal numbers. Shawna checked in with FDMB just a little while ago to report that Davidson was more than 1 year OTJ and still doing great.
 
I share because he wants to know some of her numbers, or else he wants me to bring her in, which she hates. I guess I can share select information?

ETA: I always hit post, then think of more information I wanted to say. Obviously it is better for the pancreas to kick in on it's own, and her not need insulin. But is it harder on them in the short run to push for remission, or just regulate? I know that sounds like a silly question.
 
I would shoot the full dose, as long as you have supplies and will be home to monitor.
Try to get a +1 and a +2 to start with.
 
Thanks Dyana. I saw after I posted that that Julie was not online anymore. I will be home and unless I screw up alot, I've got plenty of supplies.
 
Since there are more people here at night than when I shoot in the morning, anybody have any ideas about what I SHOULDN"T shoot in the morning, just in case the trend continues?
 
Seeing you aren't at home during the day, getting a +5 or +6 at night would be useful to fill the gaps in the SS, plus she could well drop lower and it would be good for you to know how far this dose takes her down.
Good idea to ask about the morning shot now!!
 
Looks like nighty night. Excellent cycle tonight. :)

Can you see the Thread Tools drop down to the right of the title on your phone? I've managed to change the title on my phone before.

As for the morning shot, it can be useful to get a +11 test, so you know whether the preshot value is rising, dropping or about the same. Dropping greens are probably not good to shoot yet.
 
Rhonda, that was a beautiful cycle today! Nice work! I know those lower numbers are probably a little scary to you, but they are right where you want her to be. :) Shiloh appears to be a fast learner. You, too.

Regarding your vet, if he seems like he is open to learning, by all means share the TRP info. If not, the nod and smile works just fine.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top