8/12 Nelli PMPS 244 +3 280

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krystina & Nelli

Member Since 2018
Nelli has a Rx forTheophylline (C) Lipoderm gel, as needed for mild asthma. She could use a smearin’ of this now- Obviously I am pricking her ears 5-6 X’s a day. Can I smear this on her ear without causing complications?
Thanks!
 
Nice yellow!

I am not familiar with Theophylline (C) Lipoderm gel so I can't comment.

I would start with at a +1 since this is the lowest she's been at preshot time on this dose. And get a +2 and at least a before you go to be test. If you can get a +6 that is wonderful. That number should guide you if you need to continue to test.

I saw your comment yesterday about running out of AT strips and using a human meter and how they compare. The human meter is going to run higher than the AT meter.
 
Start with a +1 tonight and then a before we go to bed (+2.5)?
I have no problem wak8ng up for a +6 (1:30a EST)... Nelli is usually fast asleep :-\ at this time.

The last two numbers today were from a ReliOn micro... how much higher? Maybe she really isn’t quite in yellow :(
 
Start with a +1 tonight and then a before we go to bed (+2.5)?
I have no problem wak8ng up for a +6 (1:30a EST)... Nelli is usually fast asleep :-\ at this time.

The last two numbers today were from a ReliOn micro... how much higher? Maybe she really isn’t quite in yellow :(
It's hard to know exactly how much higher than the AT. It is difficult to compare the two meters for dosing. I understand that you switched to the Relion because you ran out of AT strips. If it were me, I would switch to the Relion ( I use a Relion meter also) as it is so much cheaper than the AT strips and the TR protocol was written for using a human meter. JMMO.
 
I am. We are going to use the reliOn micro exclusively now.
Not only is the T ridiculously high in cost for strips, it has a bar which must be touched to the pricks but… Always irritated Nellie, maybe hurt her too? Relion much, much, much better and easier! Not only is the AT ridiculously high in cost for strips, it has a burr which must be touched to the prick spot… Always irritated Nelli, Maybee hurt her too? Relion much, much, much better and easier!
 
I’m glad you switched.

Could you do us a favor please and record her subject line as indicated in the “Making the Most of your Lantus Basalgar Levemir ISG Experience” that I linked the other day? The reason is because there are several of us who scan down the column and look at the numbers so we can determine if there’s a number to be concerned about or not. For example, if I’d seen it was time for her PMPS and she was at her lowest number, I’d drop in quickly to see how you all were doing. But there isn’t anything about your subject line right now that would make me think, “I need to look at this condo right now”.

The best way to record your subject line, for today as an example, is as follows showing the a.m. cycle info first and then the p.m. (if/when you test a lot, there’s not enough room for the a.m. and p.m. cycle numbers so we start with a.m. cycle and then, at PMPS/PMBG, edit the subject line to delete the a.m. cycle info and start the p.m. cycle info.
8/12 Nelli AMPS 364 +3 329 +6 253

8/12 Nelli PMPS 244 Question on when to test next

Of course, there might be times when you want to leave a bit of the previous cycle’s numbers up so we can see she’s dropping such as (example, only):
8/12 Nelli +10 182 AMBG 148 should I shoot

That tells everyone that she was dropping from +10 until you tested her in the morning before her shot but that you are stalling and haven’t shot yet. When you haven’t shot, you show it as AMBG or PMBG, whichever is applicable.

Make sense?
 
Whew... I think makes sense.
Ok, so I should have titled our post today... to read “8/12 Nelli AMPS 364 +3 329 +6 253?
I will go to “Making the most of your Lantus...”
I must tell you, I have not/had not been there :(... yet :)! Sorry.
 
Nice yellow. You're doing a great job. With luck, Nelli will get to some regulated numbers soon. Slow and steady. That's how we get there.

Leo just had his third diabetes anniversary. (Link here)
You are in the right place, with great people helping you. It's a long road sometimes, but your kitteh will be healthy and happy when you achieve some blue regulation numbers.
 
Whew... I think makes sense.
Ok, so I should have titled our post today... to read “8/12 Nelli AMPS 364 +3 329 +6 253?
I will go to “Making the most of your Lantus...”
I must tell you, I have not/had not been there :(... yet :)! Sorry.
It's all a learning curve. It's a lot to take in learning about Feline Diabetes and how to navigate this forum. You are doing great. And along the way someone will help you to navigate as Marje did. We are all here to help one another. :)
 
Ok, so I should have titled our post today... to read “8/12 Nelli AMPS 364 +3 329 +6 253
Yes and right now it should be:
8/12 Nelli PMPS 244

Once you get the next test, just add it to it. You edit the subject line by going to the first post in the condo, click on “thread tools”, and then “edit title”.

You are doing a really good job. It is a steep learning curve with a ton of reading but as Bobbie said, there are a lot of people to help. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Correct me if I'm wrong, doesn't the human meter run lower than AT meter?
Yes, typically although you might see some differences at higher numbers (my AT always ran lower than my Micro at high numbers for some reason). I’m 100% certain that was a typo that Bobbie made.

I just saw her +3 is 280. That was +3 not +2? If she’s headed back up at +3, I’d save some strips and get some sleep.

It’s fine to leave all the p.m. cycle numbers up because it helps us see where she started so I’d edit so the subject line includes the PMPS. Sorry to confuse you but as you get more tests in the cycle, you just add them on.
 
Yes, typically although you might see some differences at higher numbers (my AT always ran lower than my Micro at high numbers for some reason). I’m 100% certain that was a typo that Bobbie made.

I just saw her +3 is 280. That was +3 not +2? If she’s headed back up at +3, I’d save some strips and get some sleep.
Yes, it is a +3 not +2.
Yeah, we get to s.l.e.e.p :cat: :)
 
Bobbie is going to be regretting that typo:D :eek: Just saying this in fun Bobbie!
I'm pretty sure she knows the human meter is lower.

I once posted that Prozinc had some depot effects. (Please don't try to find that thread). I still think I read somewhere that it had some lasting effects past 12 hours...but I'm not defending that thought anymore.
 
For the record I'm using AlphaTrak2 as well. I currently have FreeStyle Lite strips. But the next batch will be FreeStyle Insulinx strips. JanetNJ did a test on them. Not perfect, but close enough.
See following if interested - this post here
Janet put it in her spreadsheet too.
 
So, “heading back up” is normal?
“a typo that Bobbie made”...
I am not following you- what was typo?
No it isn’t normal. But it’s not abnormal ;):p

Typically, as a cat is becoming regulated, you expect numbers to come down through mid cycle and then gradually go higher. A tightly regulated cat will actually be flat green. I was just saying if she’s headed up by +3 like that, she most likely will not drop low during the cycle.

Bobbie said the human meter reads “higher” than the AT. I’m certain she meant “lower” instead of “higher”.

Night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top