Bron and Sheba (GA)
Very Active Member
Previous condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...er-a-green-night-3-5-295.142692/#post-1478944
AMPS 238
Sheba is her usual bouncy self.
I increased the dose again 5 cycles ago.
The day before yesterday I saw the opportunity to bring down the numbers very slowly. She had a preshot of 182 with no real food spike. It was a very strong cycle but I fed her 13 carb food and honey as she dropped and managed to slow it right down. Even so, she still kept dropping, even after the honey and carbs.
She did hit a high green and I fed her as I didn't want her dropping any lower. I was congratulating myself and confident she would stay down next cycle ....but no!!she bounced again
............and I can't see what made her bounce!
It is so so jolly frustrating. I was looking back yesterday to the beginning of this second time around........she certainly went up the dosing scale far too quickly, and I wasn't taking tests between shots (I didn't know I should back then and my vet dosed on the preshot number). She has been bouncing from the beginning.
Once her bounces clear she usually drops quickly and the dose often seems too much at that point.
So I have decided to go back to the food again and fiddle with that to see if I can change her pattern of dropping. Can't think what else I can do.
I am now adding 10 grams of 13 carb to her meals. So now, apart from the raw...I add for carbs: 22 grams 4 carb and 10 grams of 13 carb to her food twice a day. I am hoping this might slow the drop. It might not be enough and I am sure I will have to fiddle with it.
Apart from that she seems well. Her mobility is good. I think the Tramadol makes her sleepy ........but not dopey.
Her appetite is good. She is always hungry at mealtimes, but once she is fed, she is happy to go off for the day until her next meal. Of course if she smells something yummy in the kitchen she will come and investigate and ask for some, then she's off again to find a good place to sleep.
Any comments or suggestions very welcome.......thanks
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...er-a-green-night-3-5-295.142692/#post-1478944
AMPS 238
Sheba is her usual bouncy self.
I increased the dose again 5 cycles ago.
The day before yesterday I saw the opportunity to bring down the numbers very slowly. She had a preshot of 182 with no real food spike. It was a very strong cycle but I fed her 13 carb food and honey as she dropped and managed to slow it right down. Even so, she still kept dropping, even after the honey and carbs.
She did hit a high green and I fed her as I didn't want her dropping any lower. I was congratulating myself and confident she would stay down next cycle ....but no!!she bounced again


It is so so jolly frustrating. I was looking back yesterday to the beginning of this second time around........she certainly went up the dosing scale far too quickly, and I wasn't taking tests between shots (I didn't know I should back then and my vet dosed on the preshot number). She has been bouncing from the beginning.
Once her bounces clear she usually drops quickly and the dose often seems too much at that point.
So I have decided to go back to the food again and fiddle with that to see if I can change her pattern of dropping. Can't think what else I can do.
I am now adding 10 grams of 13 carb to her meals. So now, apart from the raw...I add for carbs: 22 grams 4 carb and 10 grams of 13 carb to her food twice a day. I am hoping this might slow the drop. It might not be enough and I am sure I will have to fiddle with it.
Apart from that she seems well. Her mobility is good. I think the Tramadol makes her sleepy ........but not dopey.
Her appetite is good. She is always hungry at mealtimes, but once she is fed, she is happy to go off for the day until her next meal. Of course if she smells something yummy in the kitchen she will come and investigate and ask for some, then she's off again to find a good place to sleep.
Any comments or suggestions very welcome.......thanks
Last edited: