8/21 SHEBA AMPS 238; +3 270; +4 241;+6 209

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
Previous condo
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...er-a-green-night-3-5-295.142692/#post-1478944

AMPS 238
Sheba is her usual bouncy self.
I increased the dose again 5 cycles ago.
The day before yesterday I saw the opportunity to bring down the numbers very slowly. She had a preshot of 182 with no real food spike. It was a very strong cycle but I fed her 13 carb food and honey as she dropped and managed to slow it right down. Even so, she still kept dropping, even after the honey and carbs.
She did hit a high green and I fed her as I didn't want her dropping any lower. I was congratulating myself and confident she would stay down next cycle ....but no!!she bounced again :banghead::banghead: ............and I can't see what made her bounce!
It is so so jolly frustrating. I was looking back yesterday to the beginning of this second time around........she certainly went up the dosing scale far too quickly, and I wasn't taking tests between shots (I didn't know I should back then and my vet dosed on the preshot number). She has been bouncing from the beginning.
Once her bounces clear she usually drops quickly and the dose often seems too much at that point.

So I have decided to go back to the food again and fiddle with that to see if I can change her pattern of dropping. Can't think what else I can do.
I am now adding 10 grams of 13 carb to her meals. So now, apart from the raw...I add for carbs: 22 grams 4 carb and 10 grams of 13 carb to her food twice a day. I am hoping this might slow the drop. It might not be enough and I am sure I will have to fiddle with it.

Apart from that she seems well. Her mobility is good. I think the Tramadol makes her sleepy ........but not dopey.
Her appetite is good. She is always hungry at mealtimes, but once she is fed, she is happy to go off for the day until her next meal. Of course if she smells something yummy in the kitchen she will come and investigate and ask for some, then she's off again to find a good place to sleep.
Any comments or suggestions very welcome.......thanks
 
Last edited:
Morning Bron, sorry no advice from me but feel your frustration over Sheba's continued bouncing. I do hope your fiddling with her food works and it manages to stabilize her, you must be running out of ideas to try. Hope you start seeing some nice flat low blues soon.

Apart from that Sheba sounds content. thanks for posting about her vaccinations, or lack of, you have an understanding vet.
 
Good luck with the new food experiment. I hope this one has better results in slowing those drops. Some cats really do better with a higher % version of LC food. Your logic on this one seems sound to me. I feed Neko a raw food with some carbs, because back when I fed the no carbs stuff, she seemed to drop a little harder. Course that was Lantus then.
 
Thanks Carolyn, Suki, Carla, Wendy and Tricia for visiting.
Not much movement today but at least it is not up! She did get the extra carbs today which could have influenced the numbers a bit. With Levemir having a later onset, it gives the numbers the chance to creep up which is the downside of levemir I think.
Last time I fiddled with the food she went into blues and greens so am hoping she will do the same again.
 
Best wishes for your efforts Bron and hopefully it will help Sheba to have less bounces. Sometimes I have thought that slightly higher carb food gives us more steady numbers with fewer highs and lows but I haven't done that consistently enough to know for sure. I have wondered about it though given your experiences with higher carb food and honey strategically fed leading to smaller drops and fewer high bounces.
 
Thanks @Voula I'm not sure if adding the carbs will help or not but I had to try something. It is all so frustrating.
Hope you and Lucy are doing well:bighug:
Hi Bron. I can understand your frustration. You are doing your best. We are doing well and the bounce has cleared this morning from the 1.7/31 the other night. I panicked and gave Lucy honey and high carb and then called the vet. It was nearly 3:00 am in the morning and I wanted to ask the vet if I should take Lucy in to the clinic as I was so anxious. My anxiety was also very high because Lucy was so hungry that I had difficulty doing another glucose test to confirm the glucose level but I am certain it was correct by the way that Lucy was acting. She calmed down as her glucose level rose and I was then able to continue to monitor her glucose levels with ease. I had been worried I would need help to do the tests so thought maybe we should go to the vet for help with testing and also in case the vet needed to give Lucy glucose too. The vet clinic is only a few minutes away and the vet lives within minutes of the clinic so medical assistance is easily and quickly accessible here. Thankfully Lucy's glucose level responded really quickly to the honey and high carb food. I had been considering increasing the dose but reduced the dose instead. :) Anyway I hope your attempts to minimise bounces succeed. Pats to Sheba and hugs to you too. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top