8-25 Gizmo AMPS=285; +2=385; +5=255; +9=207; PMPS=136; +2=200; +3=210

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chubba (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-24-gizmo-amps-358-2-311-5-5-132-8-151-pmps-124.182839/

PMPS = 124
+2 = 228
+4 = 284

AMPS = 285

Still waiting to here back from the new vet I contacted, but in the mean time I reached out to a friend who used to work in the vet field. Turns out she worked at this practice and highly recommends them (even switched all of her animals from our current practice to this new one). She shared all of this information without knowing Gizmo's current vet or the fact that I was already in contact with the new vet. I feel all of this is a really good sign and think I'm going to call them back today ... maybe beg them to see Gizmo!:oops:
 
So I was just thinking about last night's shot. It wasn't a fur shot, but Gizmo did jump and I wasn't sure if the needle was still in him. I shoot the insulin very slowly because he seems to get upset more if I shoot it quickly (I thought it might sting more shot in quickly - idk). So I gave the second part of the shot in a different spot (close but obviously not the same). Would giving the shot in 2 different locations mess with the depot? Just curious what's up with this numbers today. Of course I realize it is probably just Gizmo being a cat, but thought I would ask.
 
I wonder if Gizmo is starting to feel some sting from the Lantus. Sounds like it if he is jumping. You might want to consider adding Levemir to the discussion with the new vet. As for shot locations, not to worry. Some people shooting much higher doses have to do two shots. I have heard mixed results, but some say multiple locations gives better results, not worse.
 
I wonder if Gizmo is starting to feel some sting from the Lantus. Sounds like it if he is jumping. You might want to consider adding Levemir to the discussion with the new vet. As for shot locations, not to worry. Some people shooting much higher doses have to do two shots. I have heard mixed results, but some say multiple locations gives better results, not worse.
Good to know. Thanks.
 
We had an appt for wed evening, but I realized that it was 40 minutes before PMPS. So I call to reschedule and they don't have anything Monday or Tuesday, but told me if I called first thing in the morning on Monday, I should be able to get an appt (because of cancelations). So that is the plan. Fingers crossed that we get in Monday and that this vet is a positive experience!:nailbiting:
 
Bronx starting flinching around 5-6u of Lantus, Levemir doesn't bother him at all. I am very happy I made the switch and so is Bronx!
 
Bronx starting flinching around 5-6u of Lantus, Levemir doesn't bother him at all. I am very happy I made the switch and so is Bronx!
I'm scared to switch insulins especially with returning to work, but have been considering it. Will Definately explore the option with the vet. It will probably be awhile though. This is a new vial ... will probably last about 2 months and then we have a vacation planned for the fall. :nailbiting: Just not sure about the timing.
 
How do I know if a +2 or +3 test is a better indicator of the cycle for Gizmo? It seems like he is often higher at +2. I'm wondering if a +3 would be a better indicator?
 
I found that the +2 test wasn't very helpful for predicting Neko on Lantus either. Getting a few +2 and +3 to compare will help you decide. Unless Neko was low at shot time. I often used the +4. But ECID of course.
 
Looks like the start of a bounce. Not the best cycle to check. One feeding of soulistic chicken and they both devoured it. :smuggrin: Hopefully that continues.
 
I don't have as high a dose as you need for Gizmo, but it's weird, I'll just pull Maverick's skin while he is eating and poke with my finger, and he'll jump sometimes. That usually tells me I have to be patient and wait a few minutes :rolleyes:. is he jumping when you insert the needle, or as you push the plunger/insulin in?

I really hope the vet visit goes well, and Maverick and Gizmo need to sync up their visits to the lagoon, it seems lately they pass the baton to each other :p, then head in opposite directions lol. Glad Gizmo had a lovely blue PMPS :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top