? 9/14 Muffin AMPS 125 +2 113 + 3.25 66 +3.76 49 +4.75 57 +5.75 44 +6.25 PMPS 283 +3 300 +6 280

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Julie, nicer start for Muffin! Hope she gives you a great cycle. BTW, you don't have last night's PM recorded on your SS.
 
So now she doesn't want to eat and going pretty low from +2. She ate really good last night at +10. Hasn't eaten but 1 tsp since then. Caretaker didn't mention so she shot at AMPS but Muffin didn't eat! Any advice? Worried she is going to go too low and not eat. Thanks.
 
So sorry, I am just seeing this now. If she goes below 50 and still won't eat, put a drop or two of honey or syrup and swipe it across her gums.
 
Here's some info Jill often posts when a kitty won't eat:Here are some things you can do to entice your cat to eat:

-sometimes in order to get a cat to eat you even have to resort to dry it is more important that they eat. there are a couple low carb / grain free brands -- EVO and wellness core. * I have added Young Again Zero Carb

-making a buffet to give him choices
sprinkle food with :
- forta flora -- a probiotic you can get at vets or online. is very smelly and cats love the taste of it.
- heating food

- parm. cheese
- smashed crumbles of dry food
- bonito tuna flakes
- halo chicken treats -- crumble into dust over food
- poor a little water from tuna in water over food ( I use low sodium/no sodium added as other kinds in water has veg. broth in it and I assume that means onions, which are toxic to cats-- check labels)
-powdered oregano. yep sounds weird . but some cats like it and it will entice them to eat.

other ideas of foods to offer your kitty to stim appy:
- trader joe tuna for cats
-baby food -- beechnut turkey and broth or chicken and broth. they have no onions or other additives. some babyfoods have onions . please read labels if you can't find beechnut.
- kentucky fried chicken
- deli turkey /chicken
- plain cooked ( boiled or baked ) chicken breast
-canned chicken for people (watch the label that their are no onions)
- chicken broth -- low sodium
 
Still doesn't want to eat. Going to have to give her Zero Carb dry if she doesn't eat now at least baby food. She hasn't eaten much all day since 6 am.

Dose reduction question. Is Muffin considered a newly diagnosed diabetic after over 90 days? I can't find a definition for "newly diagnosed" versus "long term" diabetic. I'm probably looking in the wrong place? If she is considered newly diagnosed, then she earned a reduction. If not newly diagnosed then she stays at current dose at 2.0? Any help appreciated.
 
Last edited:
A long term diabetic is one diagnosed over a year. Muffin is still newly diagnosed so earned another reduction today.

Sending appy vines.
 
A long term diabetic is one diagnosed over a year. Muffin is still newly diagnosed so earned another reduction today.

Sending appy vines.
I wasn't sure so we didn't reduce. We will reduce in am. She seems much happier and eats better in high numbers but of course that's not the goal. Thanks for the answer.
 
Wow, what a day Muffin had! Congrats on the reduction.

She is probably starting a bounce now, so shooting the previous dose is okay - it's called shooting through the bounce. Start with the new dose in the morning.

She seems much happier and eats better in high numbers but of course that's not the goal.
She seems happier because those are the numbers she's used to. Once she gets used to lower numbers, she'll be happy there, too. Also, in higher numbers they eat more because the body is being starved.
 
Wow, what a day Muffin had! Congrats on the reduction.

She is probably starting a bounce now, so shooting the previous dose is okay - it's called shooting through the bounce. Start with the new dose in the morning.


She seems happier because those are the numbers she's used to. Once she gets used to lower numbers, she'll be happy there, too. Also, in higher numbers they eat more because the body is being starved.

Thanks. We are going to be looking for a permanent foster for Muffin but are not too optimistic. It's sad because she is the sweetest cat and deserves a good home where she can get more one on one time and honestly in our sanctuary environment it is killing us to try and do right by her.
 
Maybe you can post something on the main forum about needing a permanent foster in Northern CA. Couldn't hurt. Also talk to DCIN - I think they help place diabetic kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top