9/15 Hyde AMPS 470 PMPS Hi +4 410

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Hyde. I love when they sneak up to pillow share during the night. Now, how 'bout sneaking down to some lower numbers, Hyde.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Ah, breathing in the kitty fur... Love it!!! Something about that smell is so comforting. :)
Hope to see him come back down for you soon!
 
I feel like I am chasing her BG and it is getting away from me. At every dose we see a few good numbers then they go to crap again. DH already thinks we are giving her too much (and the vet too) and does not want to increase until we get her IGF numbers on Friday...:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:
 
I think it's ok to hold the dose a little longer. It's possible she's having some better day cycles than it appears.

I spent the whole summer of 2011 feeling like i was chasing Punkin's BGs. He got his acro diagnosis in June and we decided in September to do the SRT 2 weeks later. We went constantly up in dose, from 9u to 15u, and had the same yellow numbers. His ss is a little deceptive because the Freestyle lite was discovered to read blue/yellow like this. When we switched to a Relion his numbers were all in the pink zone. Those meters measure differently from each other. In any case, one thing I've learned since is that it probably would've been better if I'd used larger increments. Increasing a 13u dose by 0.5u is more like fattening a 1.0u dose. We kept increasing by too small of increments and you can tell it didn't have the effect it should've.

Hang in there Anne. Once you've got test results, then it'll help to know how to proceed. :bighug:
 
I too have a vet that thought Crystal was getting way too much insulin but when faced with the evidence, she has to admit that it works. (apart from the last few days when she has now got ahead of me) A cat, especially an acro kitty, needs as much insulin as it needs, there is no maximum dose. As long as you test and increase safely you just have to find that magic number that she will respond to, and you may have a way to go yet. I agree with Julie that a 0.5 increase on 13u isn't probably going to have much effect on her numbers. Once Crystal reached 13u (on Levemir) I only held the dose for 4 cycles before increasing by 1u (under guidance from the experienced acro members), and then going up by 10% increases. This acro dance is not for the fainthearted, and the numbers are scary, but you will get there :bighug:

I hope things will be clearer for you once you have Hyde's results on Friday.
 
I feel like I am chasing her BG and it is getting away from me.
An apt description. I seem to remember Julie describing it as trying to get ahead of a speeding train. It's definitely a moving target.

Treasure those pillow sharing moments - that means Hyde is feeling better. Cats are more than their numbers.:bighug:
 
Wendy took the words out of my mouth. Of course the numbers are important and you need to be paying attention to them, but don't lose sight of the cat while you're doing it. Enjoy the snuggle and be grateful that she feels well enough to do that.

I have no other advice for you, as I haven't experienced the trauma of a high dose kitty (knock on wood). But I send you vines and hugs of support. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top