9-22 Gizmo AMPS=376; +3=295; +6=245; PMPS=162; +3=172 Starting cabergoline next week!

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Chubba (GA), Sep 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Yesterday

    PMPS = 141
    +3 = 252

    AMPS = 376

    Not sure whether to increase or not. These bounces are extreme, but with a nadir of 106 on alphatrack yesterday ... I'm not sure how much lower I want to push him.
     
  2. Alicia & Maggie (GA)

    Alicia & Maggie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Maybe you could just increase to a fat 6.5. Hope Gizmo cools it on the bouncing, whatever you decide.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  3. carfurby (GA)

    carfurby (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Bouncing can make it hard to know which dose to give. I hope Gizmo flattens out for you soon.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  4. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    Tough call. Maybe the fat 6.5, its hard to say. In the end if its a fail you go back down or if you hold a few more cycles you can increase. Could you eyeball 6.75? Is that crazy?!?
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  5. MyTitan (GA)

    MyTitan (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2017
    106 nadir seems pretty good. Will 6.5 u hold that?
     
  6. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    106 is like a green with the AT , so the rules say hold I think. But I was never the type to follow rules, if it was me I would increase unless Gizmo goes green today of course.
     
    Chubba (GA) and MyTitan (GA) like this.
  7. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Found a local pharmacy for cabergoline for 80 a month. They mix with almond oil chicken flavor. Also has stivia silica and sodium chloride in it.

    I'm worried about the stivia silica. Is this ok for a diabetic?
    @Marvin's Mom - Nat @Beenie @Wendy&Neko
     
    Marvin's Mom - Nat likes this.
  8. Beenie (GA)

    Beenie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2017
    I asked google :p and it appears its diabetic friendly. You could always ask the pharmacist and advise them the cabergoline is for a diabetic cat and they should be able to concocted it as a diabetic friendly compound.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    You could always try a 0.25 u increase, to see if it helps lower the upper end. With a nadir of 106, you have almost 40 points room for an increase.

    Usually compounder will do water based or oiled based. Based on sample size of one, Neko preferred the water based ones. It was "chicken soup" vs. "roast chicken" flavour.
     
  10. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Cabergoline was just ordered through CrossRiver pharmacy - thanks @Beenie. They were extremely nice and very helpful. It is shipping Monday and will be here within 3 days! Finally things are starting to fall into place. Now, I just hope it works for Gizmo!

    Probably going to increase to 7 units tonight. He has been high all day today and I will be able to monitor over the weekend.
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  11. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    I don't want to do 6.75 ... but probably will. Lol:nailbiting:
    he bounces around so much, it's hard to tell. I will probably increase a bit tonight.
    I'm usually a rule follower:rolleyes:, but I want to do what is best for Gizmo and I hate seeing him in high numbers for part of the day. He isn't himself and he is starving when his numbers are up. :(
    So I saw your post and in my crazy end of the workweek mind, thought a 0.25 increase was 7 units. :banghead: Glad I double checked my thinking ... 6.75 units it is tonight.
     
  12. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    PMPS = 162
    Increased to 6.75 units
     
  13. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    His PMPS being lower than the +6 might mean an active cycle tonight :coffee::coffee::coffee:
     
  14. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    I thought that. I probably shouldn't have increased tonight when it looks like he might be clearing the bounce. I'm able to monitor so he should be fine.
     
  15. Bronx's dad (GA)

    Bronx's dad (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2016
    yeah, probably not the best time for an increase
     
  16. Girlie's mom

    Girlie's mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Good luck, good luck with the Cabergoline! I so hope that works for you.
     
    Chubba (GA) likes this.
  17. Chubba (GA)

    Chubba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Thank you.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page