9/6 China AMBG 73,+1.25 113 , PMPS 154,+3 99,+6 119 Home from the dental!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris/China (GA)/Garfield

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's conundrum

Well, she's off!!

I went ahead and fed her about 1/3rd of her usual breakfast, but couldn't bring myself to give her insulin. I'd rather have her run a little high today than worry about if they're keeping a good enough eye on her

I'm glad I didn't shoot too since we hadn't gotten more than 1/2 mile from home when it all came back up...I forgot how carsick she gets....my poor girl.....she looks so miserable when she's nauseous

We appreciate all the good vetty vines we can get today!! Mama's going to be a nervous wreck :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting:
 
Lots and lots of good dental vines. Prayers too.

did you take food with you for when she wakes up?
Hopefully they will let her go home right away as soon as she is cleared.
 
She's done!!! Lost another tooth and had a root that had to come out so hopefully her mouth will feel better once it's healed up

Vet said she had a lot of blackheads on her chin so is sending home something for me to put on it to help clear it up. Doxi-something

I asked this morning what drug they used for induction/anesthesia but the vet wasn't there yet and the tech didn't know (but said he'd have her call me).....She never did and sure enough, when I asked, they're still using ketamine/valium for induction. I said I wasn't a big fan of ketamine and since when she talked to me yesterday she seemed to maybe be using a newer protocol so I was thinking maybe they were using Alfaxalone she copped another attitude....said she was using the latest protocol from someplace (don't remember the site right now) and it was just obvious that me even asking the question ruffled her prima-donna feathers. At first I couldn't remember the name of it but I told her it started with an "A"....she pops off with "There are no drugs that start with an A"....then I found it and spelled it for her.

I think I'm going to take MY paper and drop it off when I pick her up. If I do get a chance to talk to her, I'm going to bite my tongue (maybe) and say something like "I didn't mean to question your experience or anything....just thought maybe you might be using a different protocol.....this is the one I was talking about" and giving it to her.

Her BG is through the roof....358....but considering the day she's had, I don't blame her a bit. I just hope she'll return to my little green kitty once she's home again

Still on IV and I can't pick her up until 4-4:30 (it's noon now)
 
Her BG is through the roof....358....but considering the day she's had, I don't blame her a bit. I just hope she'll return to my little green kitty once she's home again
You dont want to find yourself in a potential crisis situation where you need to steer numbers up but she wont eat due to post dental mouth discomfort. The BG may be high however skipping the morning shot puts you right back in the drivers seat. :cool:
 
I'm so glad the dental is over and our China is in recovery. I know you can't wait to get her home again.

Have you tried giving her some Cerenia two hours before a car ride? It worked like a charm with Sasha (although she still drooled, she didn't throw up anymore). I've started Natasha on it after two consecutive car rides with vomit, and it seems to do the trick. She didn't even drool her first ride after getting it.

I've experienced plenty of prima donna vets - unfortunately, most of them were "almost a vet" (students) at UCD. Ugh!

Sending boatloads of healing vines. Hope there's some wine and chocolate waiting for you when you get home with China!
 
Glad that the surgery is over. Hope that the car ride home is vomit-free and uneventful and that her BG is normal China green soon!
 
You must be close to on your way to get China. Give her a big kiss from all of us. Glad the bad tooth/root is out. Sorry about the black heads, seems to be a curse of white chins. Doxycycline? Might need a probiotic with that AB.

Ugg on the 'tude. :mad: If I was a vet I would prefer caregivers who actually care about their pets.
 
too bad she didn't give you topical clindamyacin phosphate for those bumps.... it works great and you don't have to give a pill.
I have plenty if you ever want some.

So glad it's over and she's on the mend now....
 
Glad you are home with Sweet China and sending lots of healing vines. With losing a tooth and root that need extraction, her numbers have been so good. Maybe after healing you will see that you can continue to reduce.

Just curious, what is wrong with the anesthesia they used? Recently Bubba had a dental and had a weird reaction to the anesthesia ( he was awake and pacing for 24 hours after I brought him home ) and then was knocked out of remission so, I am quite curious.
 
I hate staff in places that are so arrogant! I walked out of a vet office this weekend because of that. (I should have packed Gordy up as soon as the vet insisted I was using the wrong needles for my insulin... "he is a cat so you need to be using the u40 needles"..... no.)

I am glad her dental went well and I am sure you well get your nice green kitty back after a few days :bighug:
 
Just curious, what is wrong with the anesthesia they used?

Nothing exactly....I'm just not a big fan of ketamine in the first place.....I've had a couple of cats that had life-threatening reactions to it in the past

Also, different types of anesthesia are generally better for diabetics than others

The article I linked in yesterday's condo is from 2016 so it's pretty recent and it talks about several other drugs that can be used.. I was just hoping that she might be using some of the newer stuff.

Ketamine has been around forever

@Wendy&Neko may have some other insight into the different anesthesia's....I know @Marje and Gracie went to a dental specialist that used the newer stuff, Alfaxalone
 
Nothing exactly....I'm just not a big fan of ketamine in the first place.....I've had a couple of cats that had life-threatening reactions to it in the past

Also, different types of anesthesia are generally better for diabetics than others

The article I linked in yesterday's condo is from 2016 so it's pretty recent and it talks about several other drugs that can be used.. I was just hoping that she might be using some of the newer stuff.

Ketamine has been around forever

@Wendy&Neko may have some other insight into the different anesthesia's....I know @Marje and Gracie went to a dental specialist that used the newer stuff, Alfaxalone
Thanks for this info. What were the life threatening reactions.

Good to know what are some newer meds that can be used.
 
It's not a pill...it's a topical called Douxo Seborrhea Spot On

1 drop to affected area every 3 days until acne is gone
Good to know. Sounds like it'll be easy to apply.

As for anesthesia, alflaxalone has been used in Canada a lot longer than in the US. It's what Neko's dental specialist used. And what I convinced CSU to use for her second SRT, by saying it had been an easy anesthesia for her. Ketamine has some contraindications for kidney disease and hepatic lipidosis. Neko had CKD so no brainer on that decision.
 
She's definitely either hurting or confused about how this new mouth of her works

Didn't eat much at PMPS but came looking for more 30 minutes later, so broke out the Gerbers!! She seemed to do OK with that

Gave her the first dose of bupe

My poor little girl :(
 
So, I missed the entire day of China's dental. But I'm glad she is home. Hoping she is feeling better soon.:bighug:
 
Yo Deputy China, I'm so glad that you're home. I know you'll be feeling much better without that rotten tooth. And just think, the Tooth Fairy Kitty will visit you tonight when you're asleep and leave a nice little gift under your pillow.

Don't worry about the Lagoon tonight. I've got it covered. Been mending the shark nets so as to keep everyone safe.

~ Rusty

Hi Chris, I hope that China will recover quickly from the trauma of the day (and you, too!). That vet sounds like one to avoid in the future! Sending a beautiful bouquet of healing vines to the Deputy LagoonMistress. She'll be ready to party at the Full Harvest Moon Party tomorrow, to be sure!

Hugs and (gentle) scritches,
 
So glad to see China did so well! Sending healing thoughts for a speedy recovery!

Such a shame the vet has a negative attitude. I am lucky to work for three wonderful vets that are happy to learn new tricks and protocols. We use ketamine in certain cases for specific reasons, but we use Alfaxalone daily for most patients - kitties seem to do VERY well with it!
 
Dentals are so hard on kitties. I think China just needs a quiet night so she can get right back to doing what she does best. She'll feel better in no time :cat:
 
No Beechnut in any of the stores close by....and she doesn't like it! She only likes the Gerbers....and really only likes the ham flavor in that

She's not a big fan of baby food, but she's at least getting some food into her tonight
While Bubba is off his feed, I took a few ounces of ground turkey and put it in a small fry pan with a little water and cooked it. Then put it in the magic bullet and pureed it and voila! baby food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top