+9/7 Beenie 75 PMPS , 81 +1.5, 88 +3, 103 +4.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Beenie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Condo: Yesterday

Thanks for all the posts last night and well wishes! I was able to get 4 hours of sleep in a row :woot:

Starting the day nicely. I can't wait to see how Beenie's numbers do today. She was purring this morning and happy to be brushed. She looks so pretty:kiss:

Chin scritches to all the kitties
Thursday cat.jpg
 
Oh, I'm so glad to hear you got some sleep! And look at all of that green last night! Can't wait to see what today brings...
 
47!! And the action begins!! Just gave a teaspoon of MC FF (15%). Will re-test in 20 . Nowhere near nadir yet :nailbiting:
 
Sometimes late nadir kitties will nadir early when going low. I hope so! Good catch and congrats on the reduction.:D
 
Lows a little earlier in the cycle may need higher carbs than lows later as the insulin is wearing off. Glad to see she's away from the sharks now.
I just broke out the HC (20%) and gave her a tsp. She dropped back to 53. Should I be doing anything different now? Since this could go on for a while I'm giving very small amounts at a time. I don't think Karo is necessary or should I add that to her HC food next time if still in the 50's?

I assume I will need to steer her until she is rising on her own but what will this all mean at PMPS time? I usually cut food off in 1-1/2 hours from now so her number isn't influenced by food. Keeping her safe is priority but was curious how you handle when the time comes.
 
Since she went down to 52 I did add a dollop of pancake syrup to the HC food. She is loving all this. I was going to open the karo but I had syrup opened already and only used a teeny amount.
 
I was a little more generous with the gravy, more like 1 tsp, but I also included some meat chunks in it too. When you get them back up over 50, a little LC/meat can help them surf. Now that it's later in the cycle, the higher carbs "should" bring her up more. I also used +10 as the cutoff time for higher carbs, but I knew that gravy at that point would last for two hours in Neko. I would steer either until she was flat and not under influence of carbs (ie. 2 hours past any MC/HC) or rising.

I only needed syrup (corn syrup or karo) if she was below 40. But ECID.
 
Just cause it might be a timing issue, have you thought about a dose for tonight, or at least a regular dose going forward?
 
Just tested again and got 54 and that's after a little HC and syrup. So I did it again. Its keeping her surfing in he low 50's for now.
 
89 +9 No food to steer this time. Will re-test in 20 and fingers crossed she maintains or rises. That way I can with hold food the required 2hr before PMPS.
:D
 
up to 100 then back down to 80 at +10.5. Going to grab DH at train station and will re-test when I get back. The MC/HC snacks are wearing off I guess.
 
And I'm back and she's dropping. 68 +11. Will test again in 20. Have not given anything other than zero carb treat after test (FF natural, pinch of chicken).
 
Wow -this is pretty amazing! She's responding so well.

Can I ask - will this potentially put her in to remission? Is that the goal? How long will she be taking the cabergoline?
 
@Susan G & Jimmy G so far only one cabergoline cat has gone into remission and it was Marvin. Others have gone down in dose, which is still a good thing as it is limiting the effects of the growth hormone. It is a drug for life. Formal results of the trial are supposed to come out this month.

Hold it there Beenie! :stop:
 
will this potentially put her in to remission
It did for @Marvin's Mom - Nat . So it is possible. I of course hope for that or at the very least hope it could stop the tumor from growing or possibly shrink it a bit. I think its a lot of unknown since it was a trial drug for Acro kitties and the study hasn't been published that I know of yet. I'm floored that it could be the drug this early on but I guess anything is possible :)
How long will she be on it?? I don't even know. I would imagine if it does put her in remission I would reach out to the RVC for advice.
 
I am so impressed, it took about 3 weeks for it to work for Marvin. Since it started to work or looks like on Beenie so fast, it will be important to test constantly I think.

I so remember when it started working on Marvin, I forgot what sleep was. Marvin was more active in the evening. It's was good I was on sick leave at the time. I really do hope this works for Beenie.

Marvin is on this for life as far as I know. Not sure if I should be reducing the dose and see if he still holds or not. He has been doing very well to date. He is feeling even better now, that he is regulated. He moves around more, I think his legs are getting better. His fur looks better, he is now eating more, so need to watch out for that and seems to be filling out in the areas where the diabetes made him lose weight. I don't regret it at all.

Beenie, keep it up and stay safe........
 
I am so impressed, it took about 3 weeks for it to work for Marvin. Since it started to work or looks like on Beenie so fast, it will be important to test constantly I think.
My only guess here was Beenie was already seeing blues and greens before adding the cabergoline. Maybe that's the difference? Maybe this is just some weird coincidence and the cabergoline isn't a factor?!? I guess time will tell and I can't wait to see what the new 7 U does.
Marvin is on this for life as far as I know. Not sure if I should be reducing the dose and see if he still holds or not. He has been doing very well to date. He is feeling even better now, that he is regulated. He moves around more, I think his legs are getting better. His fur looks better, he is now eating more, so need to watch out for that and seems to be filling out in the areas where the diabetes made him lose weight. I don't regret it at all.
So glad to hear all of the improvements!! I can't wait for Beenie to get a little back to her old self. Her appetite is and always was good. Since getting her BG numbers down and adding Zoabline to the mix that has helped her nueropathy already which is nice.

Thanks for checking in on us. I really do appreciate the feedback from you. You and Marvin are after all celebrities here :)
 
Glad Beenie came up for you and that you were able to shoot the 7 units. Fingers crossed for safe surfing tonight for all the kitties who seem to like swimming with the sharks these past few days. :cat:
 
Glad Beenie came up for you and that you were able to shoot the 7 units. Fingers crossed for safe surfing tonight for all the kitties who seem to like swimming with the sharks these past few days. :cat:
Yes the deep sea diving needs to stop. The beans need a break:facepalm:
 
@Wendy&Neko I'm guessing I need to test every hour? This is going to be tough. I'm so tired now. Of course I'll do what I have to but if this is a repeat of today I may skip tomorrow's shot altogether. Drain everything and re-set?
 
My only guess here was Beenie was already seeing blues and greens before adding the cabergoline. Maybe that's the difference? Maybe this is just some weird coincidence and the cabergoline isn't a factor?!? I guess time will tell and I can't wait to see what the new 7 U does.
Two things different from Marvina and Beenie. One, Beenie is female. The RVC study the female kitty did better than the other ones. Cabergoline affects the hormone system so could react differently. Second change, Beenie has IAA and Marvin didn't. Sometimes I've see when you impact the thing that caused the need for insulin (such as the acro tumour), the antibodies break. It did on Neko right after she had SRT. It doesn't always happen of course, but may be a factor. Wish our kitties could talk.

As for testing, when is Beenie's onset on Lev? You could take a nap until then. With Neko in the 80's on Lev, I only needed to test every 3 hours.
 
I did alot of NS and back to back BCS. We were not sure how he was going to react. This is when Wendy really guided me through, I was lost and sleep deprived. I would keep the NS for PM cycle so you can get some sleep, well you will have to coordinate with Gizmo too.
 
As for testing, when is Beenie's onset on Lev? You could take a nap until then
+6 but I wasn't sure what would happened and wanted to get a +1 and +2 in. She barely rose so I'm thinking she will drop under 50 again so if I can squeeze a nap in it would be now. be back latero_O
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top