AMPS 290/+2=116/+4=51/+6=86 ...

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Ellen and Woody, Mar 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ellen and Woody

Ellen and Woody Member

My first attempt at curving Woody every 2 hours. So far, it seems he really dropped FAST after I gave him 3 units of Lantus. Is this normal? So far, does 3 units look like the right dose? Too high? He has neuropathy now and I am trying to better regulate him.
    I will post full curve later but NEED ADVICE on what to shoot at +12! THANKS ALL!
    BTW, what is a vine and what is a condo??? I'm a newbie :)

2. Vyktors Mum

Vyktors Mum Well-Known Member

Hello Ellen and Woody

Welcome to lantus/levemir land. A condo is this thread you have posted (woody's home) most of us post daily so others can get to know our cats and give the best tailored advice. Especially good for newbies because often you don't even know that there's a question that needs answering at this point. Sending vines originated from a typo years ago when someone was sending good vibes. It stuck and we now have vines for everything :)

I would encourage you to read the stickies (the threads stuck to the top of this forum) to learn more about Lantus, particularly the ones about how to handle your Lantus and how to deal with low numbers - that one is a good one to print out and keep handy too.

Well done on getting Woody's first curve. It does show that Woody is getting too much insulin. To help us decide on a more appropriate dose can you please provide a bit more information as follows:

What and when (in relation to his shot times) is Woody fed and have you changed his diet at all since diagnosis?
    How much does he weigh and if this is not his ideal weight how much should he weigh?
    When was he diagnosed?
    When was he started on lantus and how have his doses been adjusted so far?