? Boots 11/24 PMPS 403 (using ReliOn meter)

Status
Not open for further replies.

spuds151

Member Since 2017
After a scary day yesterday, Boots had a GREAT night last night and an even better day all day today! He ate and started being more social like he was pre-diagnosis. Still didn't get my AT2 test strips, but was able to procure a ReliOn meter from Walmart today at least get SOME kind of reading. I have no idea what the comparison is with the AT2, but 403 was a good reading for us. Haven't been able to test for ketones because I can't seem to catch him going to use the litterbox.

I started giving him 1u last night because he didn't really have any food in his system and I couldn't check him, so I wanted to make sure he didn't crash. He instantly started acting almost like his old self. So now since he ate normally last night, this morning, and tonight, and his reading is low 400s from 2 cycles of 1u, I want to know if you guys think I can stick with 1u.

The main reason why I think I want to go back to 1u, aside from him having good progress in his numbers on 1u, is that when I was giving him 2u (which I think we may have escalated too quickly in hindsight), he DEFINITELY wasn't himself. Even more so post-diagnosis. Just not being social, not coming out from under the bed, and I wonder if Wednesday night/yesterday morning's episode had something to do with it too.

I can already hear the choruses of "get us more data" LOL, and I will do that now that I can. But I can't begin to describe the sweet glimmer of hope I'm experiencing right now.
 
PS - a pic of him napping with my wife mid-afternoon. He hasn't done this since pre-diagnosis.

20171124_162640.jpg
 
Well for a 15lb cat, the starting dose of Lantus would be 1.7U for Tight Regulation

400's are still way too high (but better than 500's!!)

If you think you could split the difference between 1 and 2U, you could try going to 1.5 and see how it goes. It's really normal for them to act pretty "out of it" for awhile when we first start insulin

What you could do is use an old syringe and pull up some kind of colored liquid to what you think is 1.5....that would give you something to compare to when you use the real thing.
 
So glad you were able to get him a meter, I started with the AT2 as well, and I had a couple close calls waiting for the strips to come in the mail. I switched to a human meter, much cheaper, and it's nice to buy the strips at a real store if you need to (and as you can see, cats have the worst timing for not feeling well) ;)

I'm glad he seems to be acting more like himself compared to yesterday. I would still strongly encourage you to stalk him to the litter box, or put the litter box near where everyone hangs out so it's easier for you to catch him. Keytones are nothing to mess around with and would likely require hospitalization. It can be hard, depending on your cat, to get the strip in a stream of urine, I've heard others use a spoon to catch it from under them. I'm lucky that Asia pees sometimes on the sides above the litter and I just press the strip against the side that is wet when she hops out.
 
Two bad you didn't get syringes at Walmart, they have the half unit markings too. I hope you stocked up on lots of strips. Always good to have a spare package in a hypo kit, so you never run out.

I don't think going back to one unit was the right thing to do. Boots has gotten used to being in high numbers and probably felt off being in slightly lower numbers. Think of someone who drinks a lot of coffee (high blood sugar). Remove the coffee and they get grumpy. I understand being conservative last night when he was off food and you couldn't monitor.

Here is the link to your last post. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...439-5-513-11-23-amps-481.187058/#post-2076246 We include those links to easilyngo back and see the history.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top