Diet change trial

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tanya & Wilson

Member Since 2018
Wilson's diet was changed yesterday from dry food (MD) to Prime 100 spd raw food. He hasn't been under 25 for 4 months and is usually around 28ish. He was 16.4 +10.5 and now 15.8 PMPS. I gave him his usual 2 units. I wll keep monitoring him for the next few hours. I am a bit worried he may keeping dropping to low. He normally gets 3 units AM and 2 units PM. He bounced from 20 PMPS last night but to 35 +3. To everyone in Australia I think you should look at the prime 100 raw food. It looks exactly like the raw food diet recommended on here. It's made of human grade meat, bones, offal and all the needed vitamins including taurine. Each pack consists of 2 x 90g sachets and purchased frozen. Costs $3.50 at Petstock. I am kind of exited Wilson's numbers are finally dropping after 6 months but scary at the same time. Should I drop his morning dose from 3 units to 2? At what BG number should I reduce so he doesn't drop too low? I will update later and may need help if he gets too low.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...t-diabetes-under-control.190191/#post-2128165
 
Hi Tanya, welcome to the L and L page.
Great to have another Ozzie here.
Here is your post from the welcome page so everyone can catch up on the details
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/help-cannot-get-diabetes-under-control.190191/
Lantus works best when the same dose is given morning and night 12 hours apart.
That is a good idea to keep monitoring him tonight as he is obviously dropping lower with the low carb food. You may well have to adjust his dose as he drops lower. Just keep testing and you will keep him safe.
I am going to page a couple of people who may be able to help you with the dosing. There are many others here who will be only too happy to help as well.
@Wendy&Neko @Chris & China
 
Hi @Bron and Sheba
Thanks for relying. So he is bavk up to 19.1 +1. I can relax a bit now he has stopped dropping. I don't want him go too low too quickly. I think his body will need time to adjust to sudden lower numbers. If his neuropathy goes away do you know how long will it take? I know I am jumping the gun a bit but I'm a bit exited to be getting yellow and even pink at the moment. Sick of seeing red and black.
 
. If his neuropathy goes away do you know how long will it take?
Are you giving any b-12 (Methylcobalamin)? It helps with neuropathy. 250mcg 2x's per day. I saw improvement in 2-3 months in Gizmo.

Welcome :bighug:

Good luck with the food experiment. Testing is important during changes like these. Post for help if you need it or just for support :)
 
Wilson's diet was changed yesterday from dry food (MD) to Prime 100 spd raw food. He hasn't been under 25 for 4 months and is usually around 28ish. He was 16.4 +10.5 and now 15.8 PMPS. I gave him his usual 2 units. I wll keep monitoring him for the next few hours. I am a bit worried he may keeping dropping to low. He normally gets 3 units AM and 2 units PM.
Best results are obtained when you shoot the same dose consistently.

So he is bavk up to 19.1 +1. I can relax a bit now he has stopped dropping. I don't want him go too low too quickly. I think his body will need time to adjust to sudden lower numbers.
Please don't relax too much. The change to 100% raw can result in unexpected lows. Do you have honey or karo on hand, in the event you need to steer numbers upwards?
 
From your introductory post, it sounds like you are using the pen needles to inject insulin. It would be better to get the U-100 syringes so you can measure doses in between whole units. Cats can be very sensitive to even as small as 0.25 unit changes. Tagging @Girlie's mom who is also in Australia, and has the link to ordering 1/2 unit marked syringes. Unfortunately it sounds like only whole unit marked syringes are available in Oz. However if you get the BD syringes, there is a paper ruler you can use for smaller doses. If you look at the Sticky Note on Tight Regulation, there is a link to a PDF document called Management of Diabetic Cats with Long Lasting Insulin. In that document is a section on doing small doses, which includes a link to a document with the paper rulers for the BD Microfine syringes. The article shows how to use the rulers.

Congrats on changing to 100% raw. You will find he does much better on that than dry food. As Sandy says, you could see some blood sugar changes from the diet changes. I would shoot 2.0 units, both AM and PM, make sure you are getting tests before every show and a test somewhere in the middle of the cycle where you can. The PM cycles are especially important, as many cats go lower then. A test before bed is a good one to get into the habit of doing. I would have suggested splitting the difference and doing 2.5 units, but that will have to wait until you get syringes.
 
Housekeeping recommendation - :cool:

I think it is a good idea to make the note on your ss regarding the overnight diet change as eye catching as possible.
It's a piece of information that everyone popping in to help you during this transition needs to know in order to help you make the best decisions.

Over the course of the 10 years I've been hanging around here there have been a few kitties, who upon making that type of change, came flying down the dosing ladder. ;)
 
Thank you to everyone helping me. @Sandy and Black Kitty I have highlighted the line on my ss when the diet change occurred. I am now giving 2.5 units AM and PM so dosing is even and using syringes. I will check level today at +3. He is doing okay with AMPS at 25 so not drpping too suddenly.
 
From your introductory post, it sounds like you are using the pen needles to inject insulin. It would be better to get the U-100 syringes so you can measure doses in between whole units. Cats can be very sensitive to even as small as 0.25 unit changes. Tagging @Girlie's mom who is also in Australia, and has the link to ordering 1/2 unit marked syringes. Unfortunately it sounds like only whole unit marked syringes are available in Oz. However if you get the BD syringes, there is a paper ruler you can use for smaller doses. If you look at the Sticky Note on Tight Regulation, there is a link to a PDF document called Management of Diabetic Cats with Long Lasting Insulin. In that document is a section on doing small doses, which includes a link to a document with the paper rulers for the BD Microfine syringes. The article shows how to use the rulers.

Congrats on changing to 100% raw. You will find he does much better on that than dry food. As Sandy says, you could see some blood sugar changes from the diet changes. I would shoot 2.0 units, both AM and PM, make sure you are getting tests before every show and a test somewhere in the middle of the cycle where you can. The PM cycles are especially important, as many cats go lower then. A test before bed is a good one to get into the habit of doing. I would have suggested splitting the difference and doing 2.5 units, but that will have to wait until you get syringes.

Hi Tanya,

Welcome! I'm in Sydney. I order my 1/2 unit syringes from Hyperdrug UK. They come in about a week with their normal shipping option. They're also a shorter needle, which is nice, and they work with the Insulin ruler which I use to get accurate doses. You can read about this in Roomp and Rand's Management of Diabetic Cats (attached). Many others here use the Insulin ruler or Calipers to accurately measure doses when you get down to low micro-doses. That's for later for you, but I thought I'd pop it in here just fyi.

I'm going overseas for a few weeks, but I'll pop in later to see how you're going! You've come to the right place... :)
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top