? Extreme low BG's all day, need advice for PM shot please

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Sonia & Leo, Jun 17, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sonia & Leo

Sonia & Leo Well-Known Member

Leo's BG's were extremely low all day, his next shot is due at 8pm, one and a half hours from now. Should we reduce his dose and by how much or should we skip his evening dose?

US
    Preshot: 49,
    +2: 43
    +3: 43
    +4: 56
    +6: 65
    +8.5: 59
    +10: 47

World
    Preshot: 2.7
    +2: 2.4
    +2: 2.4
    +4: 3.1
    +6: 3.6
    +8: 3.3
    +10: 2.6

2. Rain7

Rain7 Member

I'm no doctor, but my vet has said that once the sugar gets into the 50's that is when you start to be concerned. His highest reading all day has been 65, with most of the readings being in the 40's and 50's. Those are very low. How is he acting? I personally wouldn't give my cat a shot at all if the readings were that low to begin with, but that is just my opinion.

Sonia & Leo likes this.
  3. JeffJ

JeffJ Well-Known Member

Do NOT dose him in the PM. You probably should get him some high carb gravy now. This is a light hypo. I would push him up into the mid-50s or 60s with carbs or carb gravy.

You should continue to monitor Leo today with BG tests to ensure he does not drop lower into definite hypo numbers.

I also recommend AMPS and PMPS testing each day. It is hard to tell his recent history in the past week. Leo may require less insulin in the past week.

Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  4. JeffJ

JeffJ Well-Known Member

On 5/30/2018 you show a BG = 20.2
    If that is a typo, you may want to fix it.
    If that was a real hypo, I hope you actually gave sugar to bring Leo up. That low range is deadly.

Some cats give very few symptoms when they hypo. We cannot count on external behavior to determine hypos.

Tanya and Ducia likes this.
  5. Tanya and Ducia

Tanya and Ducia Well-Known Member

@Sonia & Leo