? Frankie 04/05/2015 AMPS 14.1 (254) D +6 and +11 15.9 (286) dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue484

Member Since 2015
Morning.

Please see thread below from yesterday about Frankie's curve and him getting normal readings for the first time since diagnosis. I erred on the side of caution last night and gave 2.5 units, although I was advised 3 or 4. This morning his AMPS is 14.1 (254) on Alphatrak, so my question is, do I shoot 3 or 4 units? I need advice now please as he's due his shot.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dosing-advice-please.137276/
 
Last edited:
Kind of scanned back at what's been suggested.....I think if you can be home to test today and have all the supplies you need, I'd go with the 4 unit dose that Marje suggested

If he drops below 68 on the AlphaTrak, he'd earn a reduction.

It's my understand that ALL dry is now out? He isn't getting any more dry treats or kibble?

I can't stay to guide you tonight though, so if you're unsure, go with a smaller dose

let's see if @Wendy&Neko are around to offer some wisdom
 
Thanks. I had decided on 4 and that it what I just gave him. Thanks for the quick replies everyone. I can test all day and all dry is out. I think I'm finally understanding this!!
 
Next time, try to get a +11 and then post so we can figure out some options for you to consider when PMPS time comes...gives us some time to see who's online and get several people's eyes on the problem

Good luck with the 4U dose tonight!!!
 
I have no idea.!! hopefully they have got lost somewhere. I don't want to see them again!!
 
4 looks good to me too as you can monitor. I'll be here on and off for another 2-3 hours (not at the computer all the time but I'm definitely not going to sleep for a while yet so I'll look in a few times during that time) so I can at least see you to his +2 and help you figure out a plan for when to test next at that point. :)
 
A +2 test will give you a hint of what the cycle will look like. If it's about the same as the preshot, you'll get a normal Lantus cycle. If it's lower, then you'll have an active cycle which will require more testing. If it's higher, then it'll be a quiet cycle.

What a difference on the spreadsheet!

How do you know if someone is online or not?
If you are logged on and go to the Forums page, it'll list who is logged on, though someone may be watching and not logged on.
 
Looks like a bounce starting. You can always get one towards the end of the cycle to get a heads up for the PMPS, but it looks like you can catch up on sleep now.
 
Sometimes seeing a bounce can be a good thing - it gives you and Frankie a break for a few hours. You must be so tired - it looks as though you tested pretty much right through the last 24 hours...as Wendy says, I'd catch up on some sleep while you can! :)
 
I am shattered!!! Got a dead weight called Frankie laying on me now snoring and twitching. Oh well.who needs sleep? Rom is not yet on the low carb food. He is well regulated so once his stock of food has gone I may switch.
 
Last edited:
Sometimes seeing a bounce can be a good thing - it gives you and Frankie a break for a few hours.
Absolutely.

And interestingly, Frankie hasn't bounced as quickly this time. The rise has been much more gentle. Maybe it's because there isn't so much carbohydrate to fuel the rise, or maybe it's because his body is beginning to get used to the lower numbers and no longer reacts so quickly to them....
 
Enjoy and more relaxed day, Sue! I always hate seeing a bounce, but like others have said, it gives you and Frankie a bit of a break for a few hours.
 
Had the sitter round to practice testing just now and it seems his bounce is on the way out (fingers crossed). +6 he was 15.9 (286). Got a busy day and night today and back to work tomorrow yet I'm shattered. I hope he settles down soon.
 
Oh, (((Sue))), you poor love. You've been working so hard. Frankie is one lucky kitty to have you caring for him.

Nice numbers there. Not too bad a bounce at all (touch wood/anti-jinx).
We're keeping fingers, paws and everything else crossed here that this is just the beginning of better numbers for Frankie. :cat:
.
 
+11 was also 15.9 (286). What dose this evening? I cannot test until at least +3 or +4 tonight. Shall I stick with 4 or go back to 5 units?
 
I think I'd stick with 4 while you're changing his food over. 5 might well be a bit too much once he settles onto the lower carb diet for a few days. Nice to see him not bouncing too high or for too long (anti-jinx)! :)
 
Thanks. He is fully transitioned over to wet food now. No dry since Friday apart from a few sneaked pieces. I'll stick with 4 then and hope there is no bounce again, although he has seemed fairly consistent today. How long before bounces stop and he starts adjusting to lower figures?
 
It's great that you managed to get his food changed over without him resisting too much. :) Hopefully his numbers will settle at a lower level overall now and you'll be able to adjust his dosing better based on those. :) Cats do vary a lot in how long they continue to bounce after low numbers - it's really down to how long it takes their body to get used to being in the normal range again. The good news is that this doesn't look like it'll be a 3-day bounce (anti-jinx) and although every cat is different, I found with Rosa that the bounces started getting shorter before they disappeared completely - she was down to only bouncing for 3 or 4 hours just before she stopped reacting to low numbers much. Maybe Frankie will be the same and the shorter bounces are him getting used to spending time in better numbers. :)
 
Hope so. He needs a bit of luck finally. He was really easy to switch foods. When I mixed the old and new together he just ate the new so no transition really needed. He has a cast iron stomach so no upsets either which is good.
 
Yes I think so - he's only really had one dose at 4 units so far and the 2.5 he had before that will have drained his depot a bit. I wouldn't go back up to 5 at this point as his numbers are definitely lower the last 3 cycles than they have been.
 
One thing to understand about Lantus is that you're not going to change the dose with every shot based upon numbers being higher. You're going to only change the dose with the next shot if he goes low on the AT (68 if you're following Tight Reg, 90 if you're following Start Low Go Slow dosing). Other than going low, you're going to hold the dose for at 3 days (TR) or 7 days (SLGS) and then re-evaluate and decide if you should hold the dose longer or increase it. So I'd plan on sticking with that 4u dose now for at least 2 more days. Since you're working during the days, it will be very helpful if you find a way to have food available for Frankie during the day. If his blood sugar goes low, food will bring it up.

Are you going to follow the Tight Regulation Protocol dosing guidelines or Start Low Go Slow? Some of us wrote a little blurb about those two to help people figure out how to start out. I'll paste it below. When you decide what you want, please put it in your signature line so we don't ask you daily! ;):D

Welcome to Lantus and Lev land – the best place you probably never wanted to be! If you are like most of us, if this is your first few weeks of trying to wrap your head around the fact that your kitty has diabetes, you’ve no doubt been terrified, in tears, in a state of shock, and completely overwhelmed. Don’t worry. It gets easier. It really does.

None of us here are veterinary professionals but many of us have been working with our cat’s diabetes for a long time. Even those of us who have been here for a short time are here to help. This is a wonderfully supportive community.

There are a few first steps. We firmly believe that home testing is the best way to keep your cat safe. We keep a record of our cat’s blood glucose (BG) data on a spreadsheet (SS) which you can create using these instructions: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...te-a-ss-and-link-it-in-your-signature.130337/. If you’ve not mastered home testing, we’re happy to offer suggestions or you may want to spend some time on the Health board mastering the basics of testing, low carb diet, and getting your SS set up. We’re happy to help you with those things, but you should be aware that this is a busy board and if there’s an emergency, everyone’s attention goes to helping the caregiver and his/her kitty.

Once you’ve got a handle on the basics, you will have the option of following the Tight Regulation Protocol or the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) method for managing your cat’s diabetes. You don’t have to stick with whichever approach you initially choose but it is helpful to give your choice a chance so you can evaluate the results fairly.

The Tight Regulation protocol was developed based upon the premise that a cat's pancreas may be able to heal and return to producing insulin if the cat's BG is kept in a normal range (i.e., 50-120}. Caregivers following this protocol adjust insulin doses following the protocol guidelines to aim for that range. Basic information on the TR is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol.1581/. The advantage of this approach is that it is based on research published in a leading veterinary journal and has an admirable track record of getting cats who are within the first year since diagnosis into remission.

The Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) approach has caregivers start with an initial dose based upon the BG at diagnosis and whether kitty has been transitioned to a wet low carb diet, hold that dose for a week or two while testing for ketones regularly, being consistent with food and testing before shooting every 12 hours. Once a week a curve is done (test every 2 hours for one cycle) to check for the lowest point. the low number in that curve determines any dose change for the following week. This approach was the original method used in the FDMB prior to the TR protocol. It is an alternate approach if TR is not the right fit for you or your kitty. Basic information on the SLGS approach is here: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/lantus-levemir-start-low-go-slow-method-slgs.129446/.

Both approaches require that you test at pre-shot times and do your best to test at least once each 12-hour cycle. Lantus and Lev dosing is based on the lowest number in the cycle (i.e., the nadir) so getting at least one spot check is important to guide your dosing decisions.

If you are switching to lantus or levemir from any other insulin, please post for suggestions on the starting dose before you change insulins. You should also get your vet’s recommendation.

Amy&Trixie, Dyana&(GA)J.D., Julie&(GA) Punkin, Marje&Gracie, Sandy&Black Kitty, Sienne&Gabby, Wendy&Neko
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top