No insulin until Monday! Help! (And other questions)

Status
Not open for further replies.
BGL 202 this morning. A slight rise, but I can’t guarantee that he didn’t have a mouthful of food soon before. He breath smelled suspiciously of wet food when he gave me wake up kisses, and I noticed that he has some little chunks of his FF under his dish. I don’t know if that little sneak had a bite before he woke me. At any rate, the time between the possible food and his test was about half an hour. He’s right above the no shoot number, so I think I’m going to try my hand at .5 of a unit.
@Deb & Wink, what do you think?
 
Ugh, I’m already at work. I waited as long as I could before I had to leave. I can probably go check on him soon though. I’m lucky enough to work pretty close to my house, and (knock on wood) it’s relatively quiet here this morning. Should I not have shot? I gave him .5.
 
Last edited:
Giving the shot of insulin is fine.
That is a nice low dose with the 0.5U dose.
Maybe a lunch time check? Around the middle of the 12 hour AM cycle would be good.
+5 +6, +7, one of those 3 times would be good. Not looking for you to do them all.
Are you able to do that?
Did you leave some food out for Sirius to snack on while you are away at work?
 
Ok, I was starting to panic. (What’s the mantra, “deep breaths”? Lol)
I can do that, I can test at whichever is the best time to do so. He has a small snack size amount of FF, but maybe I’ll sneak out just to make sure he has more available to him.
 
If sneaking out from work is possible, and you feel like doing that then go. It will help to reassure you.
Yes, mantra is "deep breath, hold, release, deep breath, hold, release." :) It's mindfulness breathing or concentrating on your breath to help you fall asleep or used during yoga.

I would not be worried about checking sooner than 2 hours after the shot. At +2 to +3 is fine.

Have you thought about getting a timed feeder?

p.s. I snuck out from working at a retail store a few times with Wink. There was someone else there, but did not really know how to run the cash register. Fastest trip home, BG test and drive back to the store. 15 minutes top. Don't rush the drive.
 
I’ve always wanted to try yoga, just gotta get up the nerve first!

Oh yes, I’ve been researching them. It seems like I have to choose between one with the option to use cold packs, or the option to be able to record a voice message. I haven’t found one that has both. I’m thinking the one with voice message will help him to know when he can eat, and maybe regulate that crazy snacking of his a little better. I can always freeze the portions that would be for his later meals.
I’m going to search around the internet and see if I can find a Chewy first order discount code. I want to order better syringes too.

Omg! I WISH testing was that easy for us! As of right now I’m pushing 30 minutes of struggling. I try to keep it as stress free for his as possible, so I let him go for a bit to calm down after a failed attempt. Lots of snacks, and lots of breaks with bribes to come back. He’s a stubborn old man, so I’m not sure I’ll ever get him quicker than maybe 15 minutes. Here’s hoping though.
 
In another week or so, you'll have the breathing down pat. Then I'll teach you Child's pose. :joyful: Great for stretching out the back and relaxing the whole body.

I think Wink was easy to test because 1. out of the shelter, 2. determined foster mom, 3. he was feeling like crap, 4. away from 20+ other cats in a tiny little room at the shelter, 5. had his own comfy place, my spare bathroom until I integrated him with my other cat. 6. Halo Liv-a-Little chicken freeze dried treats. (at Chewy)

He absolutely loved the Halo Liv-a-Little chicken flavor treats. It's one of the things I used to transition DFAA Wink from dry to wet food.
 
I’ve always wanted to try yoga, just gotta get up the nerve first!
Yoga is great- I do it a few times a week. I started for the physical benefits, but it really does help with stress and relaxes you (even when you're doing intense yoga versus slow paced). I highly recommend it! It's good for physical and mental health. :)
Oh yes, I’ve been researching them. It seems like I have to choose between one with the option to use cold packs, or the option to be able to record a voice message. I haven’t found one that has both. I’m thinking the one with voice message will help him to know when he can eat, and maybe regulate that crazy snacking of his a little better. I can always freeze the portions that would be for his later meals.
I’m going to search around the internet and see if I can find a Chewy first order discount code. I want to order better syringes too.
I have the Cat Mate C500, and although it doesn't have a voice message, it does make a noise when it's rotating to the next meal, and as soon as Socks hears that noise, he goes running! I love it when I'm home (or watching on the security cam) when it's time for a snack, because he's so funny rushing to get his snack.
 
In another week or so, you'll have the breathing down pat. Then I'll teach you Child's pose. :joyful: Great for stretching out the back and relaxing the whole body.

I think Wink was easy to test because 1. out of the shelter, 2. determined foster mom, 3. he was feeling like crap, 4. away from 20+ other cats in a tiny little room at the shelter, 5. had his own comfy place, my spare bathroom until I integrated him with my other cat. 6. Halo Liv-a-Little chicken freeze dried treats. (at Chewy)

He absolutely loved the Halo Liv-a-Little chicken flavor treats. It's one of the things I used to transition DFAA Wink from dry to wet food.[/QUOT

That sounds amazing.
I’m going to have to try those specific treats. I made a trip to the pet store last night to get some good bribery morsels, but he wouldn’t even lick the freeze dried salmon treats I got him. Go figure.
 
dropped the end ] when you did the reply, so your text got buried in the orange reply box.

"That sounds amazing.
I’m going to have to try those specific treats. I made a trip to the pet store last night to get some good bribery morsels, but he wouldn’t even lick the freeze dried salmon treats I got him. Go figure."

Some cats like little pieces of home cooked chicken as bribes. Or the Pure Bites freeze dried treats. Anything that is pure protein. Does Sirius like cheese?
 
Yoga is great- I do it a few times a week. I started for the physical benefits, but it really does help with stress and relaxes you (even when you're doing intense yoga versus slow paced). I highly recommend it! It's good for physical and mental health. :)

I have the Cat Mate C500, and although it doesn't have a voice message, it does make a noise when it's rotating to the next meal, and as soon as Socks hears that noise, he goes running! I love it when I'm home (or watching on the security cam) when it's time for a snack, because he's so funny rushing to get his snack.

The main reason I’ve been wanting to try yoga is the mental benefits. I have a hard time letting go of stress. And who doesn’t want to be able to touch their toes, and put socks on without struggling?!? Hahahah.

Then maybe Sirius will associate the noise of the feeder to his food too! One can hope. He’s pretty clever, but oh so stubborn. He takes his old man title very seriously. Lol.
dropped the end ] when you did the reply, so your text got buried in the orange reply box.

"That sounds amazing.
I’m going to have to try those specific treats. I made a trip to the pet store last night to get some good bribery morsels, but he wouldn’t even lick the freeze dried salmon treats I got him. Go figure."

Some cats like little pieces of home cooked chicken as bribes. Or the Pure Bites freeze dried treats. Anything that is pure protein. Does Sirius like cheese?
Im sorry, I’m still getting the hang of the site. I didn’t even notice my blunder. Thank you for deciphering that.

He likes meats way more than cheese, so I’ll have to try out some more of the meaty treats. He loves tuna, but I’d rather not give him canned tuna. All that mercury! Yikes!
 
My cats would not eat the freeze dried salmon either. I think they didn't like the texture, it was kind of tough. But Billy loves his freeze dried chicken.

You know, you could use just a couple bites of stinky tuna if he likes it. Not forever, because you are right about it not being the healthiest thing to feed him. But a couple little bites at testing time until you guys get into the swing of things might work well. Once he knows test = treat, you could go to a healthier snack.
 
Nice number for the mid-cycle. You don't want it going much lower, so leave some food for Sirius before you head back to work.

p.s. He may not need as much insulin as he is getting.


p.p.s.
The main reason I’ve been wanting to try yoga is the mental benefits. I have a hard time letting go of stress. And who doesn’t want to be able to touch their toes, and put socks on without struggling?!? Hahahah.
Can't get my socks on without stretching exercises in the AM. Old and creaky joints.
 
Thank Cat I didn’t give him 3units!!!

He ate almost all of the FF I gave him before I headed back to work, and he didn’t seem as upset with me post stick. And only 2 pokes to get a good sample!

My question now is, should I try for .25u at his next shot of his BGL is around the same as his morning reading? (His AMPS was 202)
 
My question now is, should I try for .25u at his next shot of his BGL is around the same as his morning reading? (His AMPS was 202)
It depends.
On what the PMPS is this evening.
Depends on what any other additional tests you can get in this AMPS cycle tell us.

Do you get home from work tonight a bit before the PMPS? Test then. Even 1 hour earlier would be good data to have.

Depends on seeing some SS data or a list of the BG readings listed in this post. See below for example.

So I'm not working in the dark with my eyes closed and one hand tied behind my back, while hopping on one leg, singing the "I'm a little teapot" song off-key, in front of a packed house at Carnegie Hall, being televised, while I have laryngitis.

Since you still don't have the SS set up, I need you to put the blood glucose readings you have for the last 10-14 days into the next post. List them from the most recent to the oldest.

List them in our + hours format. Each day can go on one line. Click on the blue highlighted text to read the explanation. It will open the document for you. Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid

AMPS is your pre-shot BG test for the morning cycle. PMPS is your pre-shot BG test for the evening cycle.
2/11/20 AMPS 202 +6 92 etc PMPS xx + whatever hour BG reading for that test time.
2/10/20 AMPS xxx + ? PMPS xxx + ?
2/09/20 AMPS xxx +? PMPS xxx + ?
2/08/20 AMPS xxx + ? PMPS xxx + ?

p.s. SS is so much easier to read. Can be done on pc, laptop, tablet, smartphone. Excellent directions on how to do this are here. FDMB Spreadsheet Instructions We have a template you can use. You do not have to create this spreadsheet from scratch.

What it all means is here: Understanding the Spreadsheet/Grid

Computer skills not up to it? Please let me know, I'll tag someone to help you.
 
Just got a +10 hour BGL: 170. (It was more like 10 and a half hours though. I got stuck in traffic)

Im working on setting up his SS now. Although, I don’t have very much info. I only just started testing him Friday night. And I didn’t get a reading twice a day every day.

EDITED TO CORRECT.....+10.5 hours (not 11.5)
 
Last edited:
Krystie, whatever SS data you have is going to be useful. Don't worry about only starting to test Sirius on Friday night.
 
My SS is done, but I don't believe its correct. While learning to test him over the weekend, these times were sporadic. I wasn't sure how to enter those on the SS, since I wasn't giving insulin. Example:
Line 1 is from 02/07/20 (Friday after I learned about his insulin). His BGL wasn't tested until 8:55pm, and he didn't receive insulin.
02/08/20 I was only able to test him once, at 1:45 pm.
02/09/20 He was tested once at 9:50am
02/10/20 @6:42am (which is going to be his normal testing time), and again @ 6:58pm. But again, no insulin given.

So I'm unsure how I should record those times that were sporadic, and there was no insulin given. Should I enter the readings in the + sections that would correlate with what that time frame should have been? Example: on 02/08 his 1:45pm test would be +6.5 hours after his morning shot this morning. (I hope this makes sense)
 
Sporadic test times are ok.
It does not matter that you were not giving insulin.
I would put the BG readings in the columns that correspond to what his normal test times would be.
So yes, in the + columns that would correlate to the the 12 hour dosing cycle.
The + times that the time frame should have been.

So for 2/8/20 your AMPS is at 6:42 am(normal AM test time going forward.
The 2/8/20 test was at 1:45 so that is +7 (close enough) (elapsed time between 6:42 and 1:45 is 7 hours)

PS tests are at 0 hours. Each subsequent test in the same dosing cycle is entered on the spreadsheet in the appropriate + cell for that cycle.

Got it?
 
Maybe a note on your SS in the remarks column, explaining that your boyfriend put the Prozinc in the microwave to heat up the insulin and that is why no dose was given 2/7/20 through 2/10/20. Another note in today's Remarks column that you got a new bottle of insulin.
 
Maybe a note on your SS in the remarks column, explaining that your boyfriend put the Prozinc in the microwave to heat up the insulin and that is why no dose was given 2/7/20 through 2/10/20. Another note in today's Remarks column that you got a new bottle of insulin.
Got it...I think.
Can I update his SS on my phone? (iPhone). I haven’t figured it out yet.

PMPS is 149. Should I give him .5u?
 
If you have a smartphone, you need Google Drive and Google Sheets on your phone.

"Go to the App Store if you have an Apple device"
" Download Google Chrome, Google Drive, and Google Sheets apps onto your device. "
"7. You can access your SS on your device for editing through the Google Sheets App."

Quotes are from the spreadsheet setup instructions. Yes, other people have been able to update the SS from their phones.

Remarks column is on the far right hand side. You will have to scroll over to the right, after the +11 cell for the PMPS dosing cycle to find the Remarks column.

The SS can not be updated from within the message board. That version of the SS is "view only". You edit it from your google account.

p.p.s. From Deb, who still has a landline, with a corded headset and an old flip phone as a cell phone.
 
Hahaha Deb I have family that won’t give up their land line, nor their flip phones. If it ain’t broken...

I decided to skip his dose, and that number seems really low. I can always give it now, if that’s not advisable...?
 
With a PMPS of 149 I would recommend skipping the shot.
Thank you, Deb.

I was reading in the ProZinc threads that the dose shouldn’t be changed for at least 3 cycles, to get a good idea of how the insulin is effecting kitty. I also read in the advanced thread that 6 cycles is also recommended before making any changes. I’m wondering if I should start with a .25 or a .50 dose in the morning (granted he doesn’t have an amps number under 50mg/dl), and continue for the recommended 3 cycles? I don’t have consistent data just yet, but it worries me that his nadir today was lower than 50% of his amps.

The dosing info in that sticky isn’t very helpful when it comes to numbers under 250mg/dl...unless I’m missing it. Which is very probable. I’ve read that the no-shoot number is 200. Yes, ECID. And yes, I don’t have enough data yet. My head is spinning trying to decide to shoot him at low numbers like he’s had most of today, or not to shoot..? My head is going to explode.

amps 202
+6 92
+10 170
Pmps 149

I’m thinking I should post in the ProZinc threads at this point.

Thank you so much for listening, helping, and reassuring me throughout the last few days.
 
If you want to move over to the Prozinc ISG, that is fine. I'll be one of the people mentoring you over there too.

I wouldn't recommend more than 0.25U in the morning. But Sirius's pre-shot will need to be high enough.

I realize you did not give insulin this evening, but if you have a chance to get a +2 or +3 tonight, I'm curious what the numbers will be. Then if you are still normally up later, a test right before you go to bed.
 
If you want to move over to the Prozinc ISG, that is fine. I'll be one of the people mentoring you over there too.

I wouldn't recommend more than 0.25U in the morning. But Sirius's pre-shot will need to be high enough.

I realize you did not give insulin this evening, but if you have a chance to get a +2 or +3 tonight, I'm curious what the numbers will be. Then if you are still normally up later, a test right before you go to bed.
Ugh, I wasn’t able to get another test in before I fell asleep on the couch. I will test him in the morning; am I still aiming for a number above 200 to shoot? I will be testing him around 6:30am/7:00am.
 
It is fine to post here as well at the moment. More eyes here.
Yes I would aim for 200 or above to shoot at this stage.
Are you testing for ketones at the moment? I would if I were you as you are having to skip quite a few doses.
You just need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and collect a urine sample and dip the test strip into the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the side of the bottle. Anything above a trace needs vet attention.
 
I agree with no shot unless it's above 200. If it's over say, 170, you could try a drop dose. By drop dose I mean so little your like "Wow! I can hardly tell there's any insulin in there." I never actually did that with Bill, though I was considering it when he started skipping doses.

I agree with you and Deb about trying .25, if he's high enough to shoot. His pancreas is definitely on the mend. Even if he's well over 200, I'd do that .25 dose. Sirius is coming down closer to normal range with no insulin. I'm not saying he might not need a little more, he might, but err on the side of caution. The last thing you want now is a hypo event.

Huzzah for the tuna helping! Once he gets in the habit of test = treat, you should be able to give him something healthier.
 
It is fine to post here as well at the moment. More eyes here.
Yes I would aim for 200 or above to shoot at this stage.
Are you testing for ketones at the moment? I would if I were you as you are having to skip quite a few doses.
You just need to buy a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy and collect a urine sample and dip the test strip into the urine and read the result exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the side of the bottle. Anything above a trace needs vet attention.
I tested for ketones last on 2/08/20 (Saturday). He was negative. I figure I’ll test his for certain once a week, and more if I can...if he lets me near him. Saturday was an all day ordeal. He was holding his pee, he didn’t want me near him while he’s in his box. At that point I estimate that he had already had at least 6 missed doses.
 
I agree with no shot unless it's above 200. If it's over say, 170, you could try a drop dose. By drop dose I mean so little your like "Wow! I can hardly tell there's any insulin in there." I never actually did that with Bill, though I was considering it when he started skipping doses.

I agree with you and Deb about trying .25, if he's high enough to shoot. His pancreas is definitely on the mend. Even if he's well over 200, I'd do that .25 dose. Sirius is coming down closer to normal range with no insulin. I'm not saying he might not need a little more, he might, but err on the side of caution. The last thing you want now is a hypo event.

Huzzah for the tuna helping! Once he gets in the habit of test = treat, you should be able to give him something healthier.

Amps 188. (This is actually about + 11.5, but I’m hoping that’s close enough) I’m going to try to stall...
 
Good morning Krystie.
Sirius is serious about not getting insulin anymore.:joyful:

He still needs the tiniest bit of insulin I think.
You can try the 0.25U with the U40 insulin syringes if Sirius is over 200 blood glucose (BG)

If Sirius needs even less insulin than that 0.25U measured with the U40 syringes, you will need to learn "drop dosing". And maybe learn how to use U100 syringes with a U40 insulin.

Drop dosing description for you. I'm helping someone else with this method. @Kerri & Tigger
1. First of all, you will want some U100, 3/10 cc volume insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel.
Yes, I know you are using Prozinc, but there is a conversion chart for using U100 syringes with a U40 insulin.
Insulin conversions, U40 to U100 document. I highly recommend you print a copy.

2. Take an old used U100 insulin syringe, or a new one and put some tape around the top edge of the barrel, the plunger end of the insulin syringe. Blue painters tape, duct tape, masking tape, whatever you have.
So you don't mistake it for a syringe you can use for insulin.
This is your "practice" syringe.

3. Then you will want to practice and see how many drops you can get with drawing up to the 0.25U "line".
You have to "guesstimate" where the 0.25U would be, about halfway down from the 0.5U mark on the insulin barrel.

4. How many drops do you get from the U100 syringes if you draw the liquid up to the 0.25 unit "line"?
Practice, practice, practice until you get a consistent number of 4 drops.
Maybe use grape or apple juice in your "practice syringe" Then let me know.

5. For a single drop of insulin, draw up the tiniest bit of insulin you can, push as much of the air out towards the needle end of the syringe as you can with that 'finger flick'. Needle is pointed up towards the ceiling as you are doing the 'finger flick'.

6. Twist the plunger sslooooowwwly to squeeze out most of the insulin until you have a tiny drop at the end of the needle. Then draw back on the plunger to "suck' that tiny bit back into the syringe.

7. There is this http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/ that shows a bit more detail for drop dosing. It shows pictures of the tiny drop of insulin on the end of the insulin syringe.

Urine Catching tips for you.
With the missed insulin, you need to get a ketone test sooner than this weekend.
Try the plastic wrap trick in the litter box.
 
Good morning Krystie.
Sirius is serious about not getting insulin anymore.:joyful:

He still needs the tiniest bit of insulin I think.
You can try the 0.25U with the U40 insulin syringes if Sirius is over 200 blood glucose (BG)

If Sirius needs even less insulin than that 0.25U measured with the U40 syringes, you will need to learn "drop dosing". And maybe learn how to use U100 syringes with a U40 insulin.

Drop dosing description for you. I'm helping someone else with this method. @Kerri & Tigger
1. First of all, you will want some U100, 3/10 cc volume insulin syringes with 1/2 unit markings on the barrel.
Yes, I know you are using Prozinc, but there is a conversion chart for using U100 syringes with a U40 insulin.
Insulin conversions, U40 to U100 document. I highly recommend you print a copy.

2. Take an old used U100 insulin syringe, or a new one and put some tape around the top edge of the barrel, the plunger end of the insulin syringe. Blue painters tape, duct tape, masking tape, whatever you have.
So you don't mistake it for a syringe you can use for insulin.
This is your "practice" syringe.

3. Then you will want to practice and see how many drops you can get with drawing up to the 0.25U "line".
You have to "guesstimate" where the 0.25U would be, about halfway down from the 0.5U mark on the insulin barrel.

4. How many drops do you get from the U100 syringes if you draw the liquid up to the 0.25 unit "line"?
Practice, practice, practice until you get a consistent number of 4 drops.
Maybe use grape or apple juice in your "practice syringe" Then let me know.

5. For a single drop of insulin, draw up the tiniest bit of insulin you can, push as much of the air out towards the needle end of the syringe as you can with that 'finger flick'. Needle is pointed up towards the ceiling as you are doing the 'finger flick'.

6. Twist the plunger sslooooowwwly to squeeze out most of the insulin until you have a tiny drop at the end of the needle. Then draw back on the plunger to "suck' that tiny bit back into the syringe.

7. There is this http://steverapaport.com/jock/SyringeFineGradations/ that shows a bit more detail for drop dosing. It shows pictures of the tiny drop of insulin on the end of the insulin syringe.

Urine Catching tips for you.
With the missed insulin, you need to get a ketone test sooner than this weekend.
Try the plastic wrap trick in the litter box.
Good morning, Deb!
I printed out conversion chart, I’m going to call his Vet to see if I can get some of those syringes today. If not I’ll order them from Chewy. I’m even afraid to try to dose .25u in my syringes, I don’t think my eyes are that good. Also, nerves. Lol. Looking at the conversion cart, can I Dose .25u in the U100 syringes? The conversion table says .2 = .5....is that close enough for a .25u dose? Or should I stick with the U40 syringes for a .25u dose?

Im going to try the plastic wrap again, but I think I’ll cut apart a contractors garbage bag, they’re much thicker. I tried with the Saran Wrap, but his nails ripped right through it. And by the time I got out there to try to test, the litter absorbed too much of the urine for it to be a good test. I’ve tried the popcorn method too. He’s very private about his litter box, and is very suspicious when anything changes. I was worried about him not going that day, but he was just holding his pee until I wasn’t lurking or trying to trick him. Poor guy went in and right back out, several times without going just because something in his box changed.

The drop dosing is intimidating, but it definitely seems like he still needs a very small amount, so I’m going to nail this for him!
 
ooking at the conversion cart, can I Dose .25u in the U100 syringes? The conversion table says .2 = .5....is that close enough for a .25u dose?
Yes, that 0.2 U dose is close enough. You do need to get syringes that are U100 3/10 cc volume, half unit markings on the barrel, needle length is your choice. You will need a prescription from your vet to order them at Chewy.

ADW diabetes also carries U100 insulin syringes. They have more choices.

Not sure which ones have 1/2 unit markings on the insulin syringe barrel. You do NOT want 0.5 cc (sometimes says 0.5ml) syringes.
 
You might think about getting a pair of those magnifying "readers" at the pharmacy/drugstore. The kind that people wear when their close up vision starts to go and they need to see close up better. But don't want to get an eyeglass prescription - yet.
 
+8 BGL = 156.
No shoot for the last 32’ish hours...????
Should I try for .25u if he’s around the same numbers at his pmps? (Picture of my syringe attached)
 

Attachments

  • 66DA3D76-4EBB-496E-8268-9AB975CB6DC8.jpeg
    66DA3D76-4EBB-496E-8268-9AB975CB6DC8.jpeg
    29.3 KB · Views: 140
That picture is a U40 syringe with 1/2 unit markings. I can tell it's a U40 syringe because in the USA they have a red cap. (thanks for the nice clear screen shot/picture of your syringe. Picture is even in focus!)

Shorter lines on that syringe are the 1/2 unit marks.
The line below the "1" labeled line is 0.5U.
Halfway between the 0.5U and the syringe needle would be 0.25U.

Do you think you can "eyeball" or "guesstimate" that 0.25U dose on your syringe?
Feel free to take another screen shot and post it showing the syringe plunger in the correct position.
 
If Sirius's BG level at PMPS is > 200, I'd try for the 0.25u dose. IF you are around to monitor tonight.
 
That picture is a U40 syringe with 1/2 unit markings. I can tell it's a U40 syringe because in the USA they have a red cap. (thanks for the nice clear screen shot/picture of your syringe. Picture is even in focus!)

Shorter lines on that syringe are the 1/2 unit marks.
The line below the "1" labeled line is 0.5U.
Halfway between the 0.5U and the syringe needle would be 0.25U.

Do you think you can "eyeball" or "guesstimate" that 0.25U dose on your syringe?
Feel free to take another screen shot and post it showing the syringe plunger in the correct position.

I’m going to try it with colored water, and take a pic for you to see before I do it. I had to run back to work, so his pmps will be his next test. I’ll try to get that around 6:30/7:00 tonight to give time for uploading the pic of my .25 attempt before I shoot. If he needs it..
 
Kind of an off-topic question:
His poor ear is really starting to look red and ouchy. I know he’s definitely in pain at this point, because he's flinching when I even try to give him head scratches. :( I make sure to hold his ear a few seconds (10 at least) after I poke him, and I put some Neosporin with pain relief on it too. He will not let me touch his other ear. Aside from paw testing (which I’m really against) is there anything I can do? I’m afraid he’s going to get a hematoma, or something like that on his ear. Will he develop scar tissue if I keep poking him in the same place? I try to move it, but it seems like he only bleeds if I like him in a very small area. The sweet spot is really only so big too. (It doesn’t help that he’s black.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top