Pig 6/17 amps 67; +2 89; +3 86; +4 88; +5 79; +6 52; +7 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

Has it really been 3 days since our last post!?!? Oh my goodness.. To be honest, I do not even know where the time has gone. I have been struggling to keep my head above water these past few days. School is getting crazy, I am in the process of purchasing transportation for us, but it has been idle for a while so I am also trying to do mechanical repairs, and we just got a new roommate for a bit to help with SRT aftermath... Whew.. Regardless, we are here now and my oh my what a 3 days it has been.

We made the move to 29uL and right when that depot filled he dropped below my cut-off line. I reduced to 26uL and he had a good first few cycles, but I think the combination of the dose and the R dropped him below that cut-off line again. Either way, I reduced again because I don't like him being that close with reductions looming and the fact that he is still acclimating to his new roommate... Meaning, the person that is here to help test Pig tries to test and Pig tries to kill.. lol. Pig, he keeps a knife in his back pocket and likes no one but the Momma bean... Okay, that is unfair. He likes people when I am here, but when I am not then he does not. I think he feels insecure.

So, we are back on 23uL. Do I think he really needed the second reduction? Not necessarily, but in order to keep him safe until the depot drained I felt it needed to be done. Also, I really did not want to skip owing to the fact that I was just now leveling out the depot from the last fiasco! I hope I have done this all right. I had to give a lick of honey and a tablespoon of HC at the +6, but he is holding the incline very well indeed. I also hope he holds this 23uL dose... Maybe, since I did not skip the dose then that depot will continue to carry the 23u like the 59u depot carried the 45u dose...??? All just guesses at this point!
 
Wow! Talk about a turn around in numbers.

If I can channel @Wendy&Neko, I think she would point out that with a post-SRT kitty, there really aren't rules. A lot of what you need to do is based on how well you know your cat and you know Pig. What you're doing is getting him in really good numbers.

Thank you... These things are all so nerve wrecking sometimes! Regardless, if he holds this reduction then he will have halved his unit dose since SRT and I could not be happier with that. :smuggrin:
 
Love that Pig, he looks so meek and mild, then boom! The avatar reminds me of the movie picture of Oliver, "please, sir, may I have some more?" Take care. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Haha! That is a great movie! I will need to get it for my Daughter, now that you mention it! She will love it!
 
Let's see what he does with the reductions this time.:D
I certainly hope so! For now, its all depot action and he has barely even acknowledged the reductions.. This will mark the 5th cycle out from the 29u dose, so I may look at reducing again if he does not incline some soon.. He held pretty flat and steady all day today and in reality, ran a perfect cycle. I just want to stay ahead of his declining need. He is starting the pm cycle on basically the same number as the am, so I am interested to see where he will go. I am learning that if he hits the low lows he does so around +5-+7 when the insulin kicks in. Of course, he would probably go lower if I did not intervene.. :p But, I find that a mere tablespoon of HC is enough to halt that action and coast out the rest of his cycle.

How long do I hold this dose before we chalk up the below 70s to more than just depot and make another reduction??
 
I might do a BCS to drain the depot. As you said, the 29 unit depot is still there, much less the 26.

When playing the post SRT game, I took another reduction if she'd been on the dose at least four cycles, or she kept going lower and it felt like she needed less juice. Trust your instincts.
 
I might do a BCS to drain the depot. As you said, the 29 unit depot is still there, much less the 26.

When playing the post SRT game, I took another reduction if she'd been on the dose at least four cycles, or she kept going lower and it felt like she needed less juice. Trust your instincts.
Okay... I gave the full 23u for tonight's cycle because I will be home to monitor until the +7. He never really went into the danger zone today, but the post-SRT throws another consideration in there. If he is still lower on the am cycle for tomorrow, I might look at doing a BCS. I want to avoid all the changes in dose amount, because like you said, it became increasingly harder to predict his patterns. I felt a little more than lost there for a few days. I am thinking these reductions will hold and hoping for more, as scary as they to navigate. But, having a second body in the house to help with him levels the playing field a bit.
 
Yeah, I remember going to school. The last one was my PhD. We were basically busy 7 days a week doing those studies. I don't miss it, because I would rather get paid to get burnt out! Some day you will be done and it will be a nice reward.

Leo sneaked about 20 kibbles from China's bowl tonight. I think he is cahoots with Pig.

Those are great numbers for Pig. I am so jealous. Leo can't be in those low tight regulation numbers. Leo is a hypo monster. We did have a lucky day. He had a nadir of 85, and I think he felt pretty good with it. Usually nadir is 120-150 for him.
 
Yeah, I remember going to school. The last one was my PhD. We were basically busy 7 days a week doing those studies. I don't miss it, because I would rather get paid to get burnt out! Some day you will be done and it will be a nice reward.
Yes... It will. But, I sometimes wonder just how much I am missing in chasing this reward. Yet, I am doing this for me. School is a love of mine. I love to read and I love to learn. Researching and working a challenge are equally fun for me. I have always been that sort of anti-social book worm type. Born crazy cat lady... bwuahaha

Leo sneaked about 20 kibbles from China's bowl tonight. I think he is cahoots with Pig.
They have been conspiring... Silly Leo!

Those are great numbers for Pig. I am so jealous. Leo can't be in those low tight regulation numbers. Leo is a hypo monster. We did have a lucky day. He had a nadir of 85, and I think he felt pretty good with it. Usually nadir is 120-150 for him.
I wonder why Leo likes to dive like that... Pig has always regulated himself really well, staying within any given 30-50 point range. Of course, that made it insanely hard to pull him from pinks and yellows… It is always harder to get them down than it is to get them up.. *sigh*
 
The moment Leo gets under 100, he typically goes to 50 or 60. We can't get him down there. I don't know why. So we keep him as safe as we can.

He has eating issues from the Acro. And he has the SCL. We are just trying to keep him going as long as we can. He is a special boy who specializes in leg lovin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top