Pig 6/8 +11 190

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by LuvinThisPig, Jun 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Yesterday's

    Not a tremendous amount to report. He has been a little higher than I would like lately, but if that is what it takes to keep him safe at this point. However, he has still been maintaining his bladder size and that is just incredible to me. I have not had to fight leaky puddles of sticky pee all over my house for quite sometime. What is even better, though, is now I am not constantly worrying about the damage it does to his kidneys holding his urine like that.

    I do have a wild conjecture.. I mean, a really wild one. Okay, so about 1.5 weeks before the last reductions hit his behavior changed a bit. As in, he was acting like he did in the beginning before I learned to manage this Acro thing. His hunger was ravenous, like overly so. He was grumpy and sluggish unless food was out. His numbers hit yellows and nothing touched them. No amount of R would even put in a dent. Then all of a sudden he started moving downward. I know... Crazy theorizing here, but he had not acted like that in a very long, long while. Not even when he was in yellows before. Those behaviors were saved for the pinks.

    Now, maybe it was because he was not used to the yellows after so long in the blues and greens, but maybe it is a cycle for him?? The reason I say this is because just the past few days, being over 150, he has started acting out these same behaviors. They are not constant and seem to come and go just as they always did in the start. The R I am giving is barely knocking the top off the numbers, much less stopping the rise. Now, as far as that goes it could just be the effects of a smaller lev depot. I don't know. There is just something different and familiar. I am wondering if it is maybe the effects of a dump of IGF or something else related... I know how nuts this sounds, but the patterns are there. It could all be circumstantial. But, maybe it is sort of a very subtle warning for when a reduction is about to begin... Alright... Now, I will retire the tin-foil hat for a bit.

    On more sane and reliable news... Raw has arrived! Thank goodness! He will not run out again..
     
    JeffJ and Tracey&Jones (GA) like this.
  2. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Now I can properly reply. I am so sorry you have not felt good! I really hope you do start to feel better, because that bronchitis is just miserable! The heat only makes it worse... You have got to be miserable. Have you started antibiotics?

    Now, as far as the raw goes. Here is my go to website, Raw Feeding for IBD Cats. It is full of a ton of amazing research and the sister site to FoodFurLife and the Raw feeding FB group. @Sienne and Gabby (GA) passed it on too me. @Wendy&Neko sent me another very informative and just as good site, IBD Kitties. Before I knew about this board, I always did my research at Feline Nutrition Foundation. All three are incredibly comprehensive, reputable, reliable, and informative resources.

    Now, the research for the influence of cooked foods and chronic panc can be found here... It is a link I found deep in the files from Raw Feeding for IBD Cats.

    And if you want to go the route of commercial and cannot find the RadCat close by, I order mine from Onlynaturalpet.com... the direct link to the RadCat order page with them is right here.

    Hope this helps!
     
  3. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    On a side note.... Slippery Elm Bark. How do you use this stuff?
     
  4. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Grrr… He must just be so incredibly sensitive to ANY dietary changes... Because, here we go again...
     
  5. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    @Marje and Gracie knows more about SEB than I do. Check on the Raw Food for IBD cats pages. It's widely used there.
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  6. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    http://felinecrf.org/appetite_loss_nausea_vomiting.htm#slippery_elm_bark

    I started with SEB and switched to marshmallow root. Gizmo seemed to like it better. I would make up the slurry every cycle. 1/16 teaspoon of SEB or MMR mixed with 1-2 Tablespoons hot water and then microwaved for 8-10 seconds. The hot water makes it slimy which helps to coat the GI track. No other meds should be given 2 hours before or after it due to absorption inhibition with SEB/MMR.
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  7. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    I found a few instructions for its use, but most or all that I have found use a free form powder... The SEB I have is in capsules. Also, I am not sure if there is a variance in potency or not...
     
  8. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    What form is your SEB in? I have 400mg capsules. Is it all just the same potency? Where do you get your MMR? I might look into that if it works the same, yet is more appealing. Pig will pretty much eat just about anything. The only thing he won't eat is pickled vegetables… :p
     
  9. Tracey&Jones (GA)

    Tracey&Jones (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    I use the powder and make a "pill" that I pop onto the roof of his mouth. He will not eat food with SEB in it.

    1/8tsp SEB with 1/4 Aloe Vera Juice. It has helped Jones a lot!
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  10. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000UE25XQ/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B007WU5Q3W/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Gizmo won't do the MMR anymore :(. He got turned off of it during one of his inappetance bouts. It was a life saver for over a year (maybe 1 1/2 years). I haven't given up and keep trying it every once in a while in the hopes he will start accepting it again. Much, much less expensive than the Cerenia - lol. It also kept him a regular Joe in the LB.

    ETA - this is the AVJ that most everyone here uses.

    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00014EB6O/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  11. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Wonderful!! Thank you! I really hope Gizmo will go back to it... It seems to be something that has helped a ton of kitties! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
  12. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Awesome! Thank you! I have heard so many good things about this stuff and I am really into trying it! I have a several dietary things to change, but it all has to be done very, very slowly of course. I think the SEB will be next...
     
  13. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    The 'NOW' SEB is what I have, but it is in capsules... I am assuming that I can just open them up and use this ratio to water??
     
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    I think you are right that Pig has gotten used to greens and lower blues. So he didn't like the yellows then, and maybe not liking the higher blues now. You basically halfed his dose in a week. That might have been too aggressive a decrease. The depot is now full again after the skip, and the lowest you have seen is low 120's. I would give the dose a couple more cycles, then maybe think about increase by just a couple of units. It would be nice to get rid of all yellows and take his nadirs down maybe 20 points or so. Of course, I am saying this and hoping Pig will respond to the threat. ;)

    Great news on the bladder and not having to do that clean up!
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  15. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    I really agree with you. I played off my fears. I am so worried he will drop suddenly while I am at work... But, I think I went about 10% too far.

    I can wait it out for a bit, because I really don't want to increase... But, I also do not like those ugly yellows. And neither does he.

    I am actually moving someone into my home for a short period of time for this very reason. To help me watch Pig while I am at work, so that I can get a little tighter with his dosing... It is the gentleman who drove us to WA. Pig and I are so blessed to have such a strong team behind us!!! My brother is also in on it as well! Along with my Mother... With Pig the Rockstar cat we need all hands on deck!

    And, Wendy, you are an invaluable part of that team as well! Along with everyone here! Its just so fantastic!
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  16. LizzieInTexas

    LizzieInTexas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Yes. That is what I do with the B12 and B-COMPLEX. I use these, label them and put the dosage on it. That way I don't have to mess with capsules every time I mix up his food.

    ETA
    And these are a life saver

    https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B0009X1P9S/ref=oh_aui_search_detailpage?ie=UTF8&psc=1

    Tad = 1/4 tsp
    Dash = 1/8 tsp
    Pinch = 1/16 tsp
    Smidgen = 1/32 tsp
    Drop = 1/64 tsp
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2018
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  17. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Pig is doing fabulous.
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  18. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017

    Oh! How phenomenal! The little spoons are perfect! I am ordering a set asap! I have been needing the smaller measurements, but did not think they made them that small... Marvelous! Thank you so, so much!
     
    LizzieInTexas likes this.
  19. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug: How is Miss Olive?
     
  20. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    As far as your theory goes, I don't think it is wild. (Wild would be "D.Trump was born in Hawaii and is not a citizen."...okay enough about that).

    Yeah, Pig's behavior could change quite a bit. When Leo had SRT, the prevalent behavior was ravenous eating and a singular focus on the next meal. Yes, I know that sounds like many Americans.:confused::eek:

    Anyhow, Leo did seem to become more normal as the Acro tumor subsided. I suspect the high amounts of IGF-1 in their system probably causes odd behavior. The kittehs probably feel a lot better when their chemicals are balanced. I know that human diabetics can get real cranky if their BG goes high before their evening dose. When the kitteh does not feel like they are dying from lack of food, then I think they revert back to normal kitteh behavior.

    With Leo, it took awhile for him to normalize after SRT. Then, as you know, he had the lymphoma occur. That caused him to stop eating and almost die - about 5-6 months after SRT. Did the SRT or the Acro cause the lymphoma? Who knows. I do think it is important to monitor for other conditions like lymphoma after SRT.
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  21. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    She is doing good. Vet finally agreed she is acro. Thanks for asking.
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  22. Phoebes (GA)

    Phoebes (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2017
    Thank you for the info, now how do I save this thread so I can find this info whenever I want?? I am puter illiterate. :)
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  23. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    This is it precisley! He is so flipping hungry! Now, right after the dx he was as well and before, actually. However, a lot had to do with the fact that I was told the best thing to do was to only feed 2x a day. Yet, when I moved him to many feedings several times a day that hunger subsided a bit. He is like that in higher numbers, but not to this extent. It is at the point it was when I was only feeding 2x a day. I seriously worry that he will hurt himself in a panic for food.

    Case in point, he tried to grab food right out of the blender!! While it was plugged in!! :eek::eek::eek: If my hand had slipped....
    He also jumped hard off the stool and made a loud grunt. I can only assume he did not prepare for the landing properly.

    Back in the day, I had to buy a locking trash can because he would knock it down and steal food from it... I can only hope this behavior subsides as his numbers move down...
     
    JeffJ likes this.
  24. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    Wonderful!! That is very good news, indeed! Have you decided on a treatment plan?
     
  25. LuvinThisPig

    LuvinThisPig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2017
    You can find the exact directions right here!! Hope this helps!!
     
    Phoebes (GA) likes this.
  26. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    It's up in the air. My vet is being told cabergoline isn't effective and to do pasiretide (sp ????). I can't afford that or the srt. Vet has no clue about this, he was surprised the specialist agreed with me that she was. Since her dose isn't enormously high and we are making progress he still doesn't think she's acro. He and the specialist are more concerned with the abdominal mass. I would like to do cabergoline, that I can afford.
     
  27. JeffJ

    JeffJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    For food waste - we keep our kitchen garbage can in the garage. It means we have to open a door each time we throw something out. But we have 2 droolers and 3 kittehs. They all want the new mystery food that is in the garbage can - especially the droolers.

    I hope you are careful with the Blender! Pig may not know how dangerous it is.

    Hi @Olive & Paula - I hope you are able to get Olive on cabergoline or pasirietide soon. Acro is a tough disease on our kittehs. My Leo was also fortunate that I had funds to afford SRT. If you look on the Acro subforum, there have been a couple successes on cabergoline.
     
    LuvinThisPig likes this.
  28. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Don't mean to hijack Pig. @JeffJ pasireotide is not an option at over 13k a MONTH. Since she isn't on that high of a dose, actually no where near what others are on who are doing the srt. I think the cabergoline could work well. Just have to convince the vet(s).
     
    LuvinThisPig and JeffJ like this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page