Pig 8/23 amps 275 *sigh*

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

Man. I am getting horrible about posting. Its only temporary, though. I am in the middle of 3 very busy weeks at school and transitioning jobs... Almost there, though.

So, I told Pig I was taking him back to 7u if he did not comply with the 6u soon. On the last cycle of 6u before I increased he dipped to 75, a perfect number. This is fantastic because it means he is holding the reduction (I think). However, then, of course, he had to hit an epic bounce. Right into the flipping red zone again. :banghead:

Well, I am hoping this will be the dose to stabilize him bit. He needs some solid blue and green landscape.

But, I am getting to where I really do not trust any of my dosing choices. I am just not good with patterns. I, personally, would choose to hold the 6u for a few more cycles and see what he does once he breaks this bounce, but I am just not certain. @Wendy&Neko what do you think?
 
Things to consider when contemplating the dose. How low does this dose take the cat? Is that a true number, not influenced by depot? Are you comfortable with that as a nadir if it continues? If yes, then hold the dose. It's possible an increase up to 6.5 would help dampen down the heights of the bounces and bring the overall range of numbers down. Of course, it might also reduce those nadirs. Are you comfortable with a nadir down to mid 60's yet? Pig's dose is a lot lower than it was, so you might not need quite as much wiggle room. The answer to that question should also factor in your ability to monitor. Note, at this point reductions are typically by 0.5 units at a time.

As I've said before, I don't know why you are doing +2 tests when he's on the rise from the previous cycle. Lev doesn't onset until later with Pig. I stopped early tests in those circumstances, cause it would just cause me to do this :banghead:. Hopefully the ugly numbers are temporary and he'll turn it around later this cycle.
 
Things to consider when contemplating the dose. How low does this dose take the cat? Is that a true number, not influenced by depot? Are you comfortable with that as a nadir if it continues? If yes, then hold the dose. It's possible an increase up to 6.5 would help dampen down the heights of the bounces and bring the overall range of numbers down. Of course, it might also reduce those nadirs. Are you comfortable with a nadir down to mid 60's yet? Pig's dose is a lot lower than it was, so you might not need quite as much wiggle room. The answer to that question should also factor in your ability to monitor. Note, at this point reductions are typically by 0.5 units at a time.

As I've said before, I don't know why you are doing +2 tests when he's on the rise from the previous cycle. Lev doesn't onset until later with Pig. I stopped early tests in those circumstances, cause it would just cause me to do this :banghead:. Hopefully the ugly numbers are temporary and he'll turn it around later this cycle.
Nope. I totally agree with you and in fact, I was remarking about wanting to hold him a bit closer to the line just the other day. I was going to ask about it as well. Since either Michael or I are here with him 95% of the time, could we drop the reduction line a bit? I need to be able to pull the majority of his cycle down. The way it goes right now is that as soon as he sits a dose long enough to hold at steady numbers, he drops to a reduction. This is awesome, but leaving the vast majority of his time above his renal threshold and his depot unstable because I keep doing BCS. My goal is to hold him tight to a 80-120 range, but I realize that may not be possible right now. So, perhaps 60-150 is what we need to shoot for.

I wanted to hold this 6u until he clears this recent bounce and we make it through the next day. (Daughters Birthday and we will be away from home) I will probably start the 6.5u on Friday night's cycle.

I know. About the +2. I know every time I waste that strip what it will be close to. I can't help myself though. Its usually right before I go to bed or leave the house and my anxious, what if riddled mind will not let me relax until I know for sure. Bottom line...? I don't trust myself.
 
I have been soaked up at work. Next week, the same.

Pig's BG has not been very consistent the past few weeks. But there are some nice blues in there. In general if he is maintaining weight, I think your goals are being met and he is probably feeling pretty good.

Leo was real bouncy after SRT, and is still bouncy these days...although less than before. Pig and Tail are probably ready for Fall weather. I know that Little Dude is definitely ready.
Little Dude getting baked 08-22-2018.JPG
 
I have been soaked up at work. Next week, the same.

Pig's BG has not been very consistent the past few weeks. But there are some nice blues in there. In general if he is maintaining weight, I think your goals are being met and he is probably feeling pretty good.

Leo was real bouncy after SRT, and is still bouncy these days...although less than before. Pig and Tail are probably ready for Fall weather. I know that Little Dude is definitely ready.
View attachment 38440
 
We were on a day trip all day today. We had a sitter come in and feed the animals twice. All went okay. It reminded me of the days when we both worked outside the house. It can be real challenging being away from a diabetic kitteh. In this case, Leo ended up being just fine.
 
Ok, we are officially ready for FALL weather here. Tired of 100 every day. Leo and LD don't like it either. They go outside and plop on the cement, trying to get cooled off. Then they come back in 20 minutes later and plop onto the cool tile floor. It's a cat's life and they are doing it right.
 
I know. About the +2. I know every time I waste that strip what it will be close to. I can't help myself though. Its usually right before I go to bed or leave the house and my anxious, what if riddled mind will not let me relax until I know for sure. Bottom line...? I don't trust myself.
Trust thyself! One of the best things about Lev. is the late onset. It's a gift!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top