Ti-Mousse PMPS:70 +3=32 +3.5="LO" +4=52 +5=61 +6.5=94 +7.5=117

You have both AT2 and Freestyle meters in your signature. Are you using a human meter now?

ETA ... just seen at top of the SS you swapped to a human meter.
 
Human meter only FreeStyle lite;
just tested after Syrup and HC: 52 (2.9 mmol)
That's better!
Because you are still early in the cycle, I would try and get him up higher.....closer to 90 or 100 so that you have a bit of leeway in case he drops again. I would feed some more HC now.. don't forget the HC and syrup wears off in about an hour.
I'd test again in 20 mins
 
That's better!
Because you are still early in the cycle, I would try and get him up higher.....closer to 90 or 100 so that you have a bit of leeway in case he drops again. I would feed some more HC now.. don't forget the HC and syrup wears off in about an hour.
I'd test again in 20 mins
Hi Bron :bighug:
 
As he was almost GREEN and often does not do well with reducie I thought of waiting for another one!... not a good idea
If he has earned a reduction I would take it. You can always go back up if it fails.
Definitely reduce the dose next shot.
Be aware that when cats have a really low number like he had, they can be very sensitive to insulin. I would make sure to get a +2
 
Not really.....the reduction was earned in this morning's cycle and should be taken with the next insulin dose.
I've heard people saying that reducies are working better when you take them after having a couple of high LIMES ! As he was almost Green, I thought of waiting in case he would get another one! I'll take the reducie tomorrow morning and next time I won't wait for a second lime!

He's hungry, can I give him his LC meal and when will it be safe to leave him ?
 
I've heard people saying that reducies are working better when you take them after having a couple of high LIMES !
This is usually true for "old" diabetics/cats that have been diabetic for 1+ years but Ti is getting there. But I also think you need to account for how the individual cat has reacted to reductions in the past and if they're good at holding them.

I don't feel confident interpreting your SS so I can't really tell if Ti is good at holding reductions :oops: But if you're doing the 3x under 50 or 1x under 40 reduction rule, maybe put it on your SS or somewhere on your signature?
 
He's hungry, can I give him his LC meal and when will it be safe to leave him ?
What is his latest test?
As @Bron and Sheba (GA) mentioned, you want him closer to 90-100 to give yourself some room.
You will be up for some time.
  • Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only. (If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
  • Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
  • Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
  • Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
  • Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

A reading of LO is dangerous territory. It is important that you make sure he is rising without benefit of food before you can leave him.
 
I've heard people saying that reducies are working better when you take them after having a couple of high LIMES ! As he was almost Green, I thought of waiting in case he would get another one! I'll take the reducie tomorrow morning and next time I won't wait for a second lime!

He's hungry, can I give him his LC meal and when will it be safe to leave him ?
I think it’s a case of ECID and know thy cat. Personally I would take the reductions earned unless your kitty tells you otherwise. And then you need to be careful incase they fool you... which we all know they love to do.
You did a great job managing that scary event!
I think you need to stay up and test until at least nadir.
He must be due for another test?
 
I've heard people saying that reducies are working better when you take them after having a couple of high LIMES ! As he was almost Green, I thought of waiting in case he would get another one! I'll take the reducie tomorrow morning and next time I won't wait for a second lime!

He's hungry, can I give him his LC meal and when will it be safe to leave him ?
That is for long term diabetics which he is, but... well, bc I worked full time and couldn't be there or stay up all night to monitor I really never pushed it, my nerves just couldn't take the stress. Plus Gizmo had many other health issues.

I suggest tagging Wendy after this long weekend and getting her input on the "3 below 50" to earn a reduction.

You need to wait 2 hours after food to see if he is maintaining safe BG. Yes, please feed the boy :cat:. I would test in an hour after food, if same or lower, give more food (lc) and test again in an hour. If significantly higher the bounce has started and you should be ok.
 
I think it’s a case of ECID and know thy cat. Personally I would take the reductions earned unless your kitty tells you otherwise. And then you need to be careful incase they fool you... which we all know they love to do.
You did a great job managing that scary event!
I think you need to stay up and test until at least nadir.
He must be due for another test?
He was starving, I gave him some LC and will keep testing until nadir to make sure he's going up on his own!
I'm sorry, I should have done better! Thank you so much Bron for helping me with this! Tomorrow morning, I'll shoot half a dose; Wendy told me once that after 30's, the 1st shooting should be 1/2 or 2/3 dose! and I'll take a +2! Thanks again :bighug:
 
That is for long term diabetics which he is, but... well, bc I worked full time and couldn't be there or stay up all night to monitor I really never pushed it, my nerves just couldn't take the stress. Plus Gizmo had many other health issues.

I suggest tagging Wendy after this long weekend and getting her input on the "3 below 50" to earn a reduction.

You need to wait 2 hours after food to see if he is maintaining safe BG. Yes, please feed the boy :cat:. I would test in an hour after food, if same or lower, give more food (lc) and test again in an hour. If significantly higher the bounce has started and you should be ok.
He's eating.. he was starving! I'll follow your advice, hourly testing! Thanks Lizzie for being there for my Ti-Mousse! :bighug:
 
I've heard people saying that reducies are working better when you take them after having a couple of high LIMES !

You're not seeing things....In long term diabetics (over a year) or in cats that don't hold reductions, we often say to wait for 3 drops below 50 or one drop below 40

No matter what, he's earned a reduction tomorrow morning!!

Congrats on the reducie!!
 
With kitties on higher doses, it is better to take a reduction right away. In fact, it is often better to do a BCS to reduce the depot after a reduction is earned. An overfull large depot can keep you busy several cycles. With that Lo, a skip tomorrow may be a good idea.
I was thinking of giving half dose, but I'll skip! Great I'll sleep :)
 
Back
Top