Tiger's Ride: Prozinc>Vetsulin>Prozinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacque- Tiger & Jazz Man

Member Since 2014
Previous Thread http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tigers-tid-3x-a-day-vetsulin-ride.227584/#post-2550049
With advice from members I have put Tiger back on Prozinc at 11am(CST). His AMPS at 10:30am was HI. But that was expected he'd gone 8hrs without insulin. Gave him 5.5U after he ate whole can of Friskies.
Tigers' Ride: Tried Prozinc when he was first diagnosed. His bg almost always read HI. Didn't help him at all..take a look see at Tiger's SS.
Advice from Doc and members switched him to Vetsulin 2x a day. Vetsulin works fast, the downfall is it wore off at 8-9hrs after shot. So roughly 6hrs he'd go without insulin. Soo, we then tried him 3x a day(TID..see Tiger's TID SS) he did good on it. Unfortunately it has worn me and Tiger out.
We are hoping that the Vetsulin kick started his body and he'll make a easy transition back to Prozinc.
 
Yes, we expected the BG to be HI this morning. Keeping all our fingers, toes, and paws crossed that the Prozinc works better for Tiger this time.

Hoping the TID on vetsulin, also did a bit of a "kickstart" to his system.

p.s. Thanks for including the link to this new thread in your old one. Got my attention that way. Thanks.
 
Jacque, I've let some other people know, but I wanted to let you know too. I'm running a fever, and not sure how much I'll be able to post here. I may not see tags with my user id on them.
 
Jacque, I've let some other people know, but I wanted to let you know too. I'm running a fever, and not sure how much I'll be able to post here. I may not see tags with my user id on them.
Oh NOOOOOO please don't worry about me and Tiger, we got this!! Other members can assist me if I need them. Get some rest My Friend
 
Paws crossed the Prozinc will be better for Tigger. It will definitely be easier for you than TID dosing.

With the numbers so far today, looks like you can go to that 6.0 units that Deb suggested in your previous post.
I was going to wait until 2 cycles so he could build the insulin back up... Had none for 8hrs. Then go up to 6 depending on his readings.
 
crystal ball smiley.jpg Mind reading! Always a good skill to have.
 

Attachments

  • crystal ball smiley.jpg
    crystal ball smiley.jpg
    1.3 KB · Views: 224
I think sleep will come tonight..finally!!!

If you really need to sleep, I wouldn't suggest shooting 6U again...I asked about testing tonight because if you shoot 6u again tonight, you may need to be testing a LOT tonight.

Since we don't have any data or experience with Tiger responding this way, it makes it harder to decide what to do tonight.

Now I'll ask again....are you able and willing to stay up as long as necessary to test tonight? (if it's necessary)
 
If you really need to sleep, I wouldn't suggest shooting 6U again...I asked about testing tonight because if you shoot 6u again tonight, you may need to be testing a LOT tonight.

Since we don't have any data or experience with Tiger responding this way, it makes it harder to decide what to do tonight.

Now I'll ask again....are you able and willing to stay up as long as necessary to test tonight? (if it's necessary)
Yeppers ya I kinda expected to get up several times to either check his bg or just wake him up and look for signs of hypo.
 
The PMPS +3 he was 80, since he was trending downward before the insulin was kicking in..I figured I'd give him some "unhealthy treats" I gave him about 10 of each(temptations and Blue wilderness kitten)..went up after that. Not sure why the numbers went up and up, the treat food?? His body must have been freakin out because of the lower numbers. But it looks like the insulin kept it under control somewhat, until this mornings AMPS HI.
 
Don't dose based on that high from today. Dose based on the lows from yesterday. That green at +3 last night "earned" Tiger a dose reduction. Down by 0.25U at least.

Any drop below 90 after pre-shot, means an immediate dose reduction.

Not sure why the numbers went up and up, the treat food?? His body must have been freakin out because of the lower numbers.
Probably a little bit of both. All those carbs you fed him to get the BG's up, and then his body dumped hormones and sugars into his bloodstream to bring him up. With the 2 working together like that, BOING, BOING, BOUNCE!
bouncy house invisible with cat.jpg
 

Attachments

  • bouncy house invisible with cat.jpg
    bouncy house invisible with cat.jpg
    5.6 KB · Views: 227
How many Units should I give him? Since he bounced
Don't dose based on that high from today. Dose based on the lows from yesterday. That green at +3 last night "earned" Tiger a dose reduction. Down by 0.25U at least.

Any drop below 90 after pre-shot, means an immediate dose reduction.


Probably a little bit of both. All those carbs you fed him to get the BG's up, and then his body dumped hormones and sugars into his bloodstream to bring him up. With the 2 working together like that, BOING, BOING, BOUNCE!
View attachment 52356
I was just fixin to ask what his dose should be lol. I think maybe back down to 5.5 and hold it there for a few days until he gets used to the lower numbers.
 
Hoping his "HI" was just alittle "HI" not like it was on the 30th when we first put him back on the Prozinc it took 5 hrs to get a "number"..but then again he went 8hrs without insulin so really can't compare that AMPS reading with todays.
 
Hi Guys..we(me and Tiger) slept on and off today..last night was rough. I did get a couple scattered readings though. He started the day HI, 528 +3, 329 +6, 376 +8 likely he'll go up until next shot.
 
Kevin my Hubby, has been wanting to help me with the kids. I said "Ya know..how about learning how to check Tiger's bg?" I showed him last night how I do it. He said "Ok, I'm try it tomorrow night"

Here's how it went: Tiger was really squirming, I think he just wanted some lovin from Daddy..he was purring so loud. They were both nervous.

Me: Be forceful just don't hurt him. Kevin's like "I got it, I got it..I can do this." He ended up poking poor Tiger in the middle of the ear.

Me: I smiled(laughing on the inside) "It takes practice, try again tomorrow night."
 
Me: I smiled(laughing on the inside) "It takes practice, try again tomorrow night."
Funny, but not funny. Poor Kevin, Poor Tiger for an ear jab in the middle of the ear.
Wait until Kevin pokes his own fingers, trying to blood test.

What about Jazz Man as a "test subject" for Kevin to try the ear testing? Is Jazz Man easier to test than Tiger?

Does Kevin sing? Remember that trick we've mentioned about singing a silly children's song, to help you calm down? While "Row Row Row Your Boat" may not be "manly man" enough for Kevin, so how about "99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall?" ;)
 
Funny, but not funny. Poor Kevin, Poor Tiger for an ear jab in the middle of the ear.
Wait until Kevin pokes his own fingers, trying to blood test.

What about Jazz Man as a "test subject" for Kevin to try the ear testing? Is Jazz Man easier to test than Tiger?

Does Kevin sing? Remember that trick we've mentioned about singing a silly children's song, to help you calm down? While "Row Row Row Your Boat" may not be "manly man" enough for Kevin, so how about "99 Bottles of Beer on the Wall?" ;)
I reassured him that I have poked my finger several several several times lol.
Jazz Man lol, no waaaaaay.
Beer on the wall song ummm no he's been sober now for about 6mos. sooo I don't think that would a good one. lol. I suggested he hum, he likes to hum nonsense lol.
 
Tiger is pretty much a solid PINK readings Dude. So, thinking I should go up to 6.5u at his AMPS(of course depending on the readings) and also a member has suggested it too. Whatcha All Think???
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top