01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50 5=52 5.75=61

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

nope, you're not done yet, but you're doing fine and so is esse.
btw, the next dose down is 2.25 units. you don't want to drop to 2u and lose the progress you've made.
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

I see someone is giving Basil a run for his money tonight. Nice going, Michelle! No sugar pouring, though. I think it would get ou a wet noodle. LOL LOL
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

Jill & Alex said:
nope, you're not done yet, but you're doing fine and so is esse.
btw, the next dose down is 2.25 units. you don't want to drop to 2u and lose the progress you've made.
Yes, Jill, I do...because I'm just a big ol chicken. Sigh. I know, I know...suck it up, cupcake! And when can I be done again? Despite the nap, me's gettin' snoozy...of course, if she throws another 39 in there, the adrenalin will wake me right on up...

Yes, Lydia, pouring sugar would earn me a wet noodle...but it's tempting. Since I can't set up an emergency D5W drip (well, I can...I just don't have the D5W)...I was thinking hey, maybe if I propped her jaw open and just dropped white sugar down there? ROFL...(and actually, there are only two places in the hospital where we can do D-drips...ICU and ER...)

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

+4.25=55. No movement in the last 30 minutes. Not sure if this is good, bad, or otherwise...she is lurking for more food, but I'm going to hold off for a tad bit...it's almost time for me to fill dishes anyway (at 11 pm my time), and it will be Wellness and Friskies Poultry Platter mixed. So we'll see what she's up to in a few more minutes.

Good grief.

I'm going to need some serious convincing to shoot low tomorrow...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

Don't be a....



hot-dog-ecopy.jpg
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

Michele and Esse said:
Jill & Alex said:
nope, you're not done yet, but you're doing fine and so is esse.
btw, the next dose down is 2.25 units. you don't want to drop to 2u and lose the progress you've made.
Yes, Jill, I do...because I'm just a big ol chicken. Sigh. I know, I know...suck it up, cupcake! And when can I be done again? Despite the nap, me's gettin' snoozy...of course, if she throws another 39 in there, the adrenalin will wake me right on up...

you can give her more hc. she's earned her reduction. she has nothing more to prove tonight. as soon as we see an upwards trend you'll be able to go to bed without worry.
now, about that reduction... you're the one with the syringe in your hand. the decision is yours, but (you knew there'd be a "but" right?) drop the dose too low now and i'll bet you dollars to donuts you'll not only be back to this dose sooner than you think, but you'll surpass it.
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

CD and BigMac said:
Don't be a....



hot-dog-ecopy.jpg
I am just a weenie...I know, I know. But man, I don't want her to go through this again tomorrow...know what I mean?

Yes, Jill, the syringe is in my hand, and I am ultimately responsible for what I put into my cat. I'm just worried that we're going to go low green again tomorrow...

And I know she is asymptomatic; she's actually just fine, and I think that the 39 came because Malachi scooted his pingpong ball right by her nose...and she decided it was way too tempting to not chase it, so she did. And then she went and pooped. But still...it's pretty scary to shoot a full 2.25, knowing how hard I've worked and how much managing is being needed to control this drop.

Of course, you know, now that I've said all of that, she'll be at 200, and I won't even blink shooting in the morning. (antijinx...)

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

Jill & Alex said:
drop the dose too low now and i'll bet you dollars to donuts you'll not only be back to this dose sooner than you think, but you'll surpass it.

Oh yes, been there, done that. Not fun at all when you start seeing progress and then it's gone. But Jill is right, it's your decision and you're the one who has to be comfortable with what you're shooting.
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55

I was just trying to make you smile a little. :-D You have learned a lot since you've been here... hands on, not theory stuff. Tomorrow if you really really cannot do the 2.25, and want 2.00... maybe you could make that a fat 2.00? Perhaps then you wouldn't be so scared of her dropping... and maybe Esse will hang in there with her progress a little better ...? Just a thought. Always, always your kitty and your call!
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55

Michele and Esse said:
I am just a weenie...I know, I know. But man, I don't want her to go through this again tomorrow...know what I mean?

Yes, Jill, the syringe is in my hand, and I am ultimately responsible for what I put into my cat. I'm just worried that we're going to go low green again tomorrow...


Low green is often how reductions are earned in newly diagnosed kitties. You like to earn reductions, right?

These numbers are easily controlled with food. Actual symptomatic hypoglycemic episodes are very rare on the L insulins. If you can let go of even just a little bit of the fear, you'll enjoy this experience much more, I swear. ;-)
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50

Sienne, I don't have hold of the fear. The fear, however, has it's cold, slimy, clammy hands wrapped solidly around my neck. Rueful sigh. I know theoretically...but like CD is saying, I'm learning about how things work outside the books. But it's still scary, and yes, I am a weenie.

Especially since I'm not seeing any spike in numbers yet...and I would've sworn I'd've seen at least a food spike by now. But no, she's surfing...and I worry that she's surfing so low. Which isn't actually low, but is quite low to me.

And I'm whiney and tired...and Esse hasn't come up, and I'm worried, and...blah.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50

Do you think Esse and Basil might have been in contact? And hatched this as a scheme? Because Basil is doing the same darn thing! He knows I have guests coming for lunch tomorrow.
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50

Lydia and Basil said:
Do you think Esse and Basil might have been in contact? And hatched this as a scheme? Because Basil is doing the same darn thing! He knows I have guests coming for lunch tomorrow.
You know, I did see my computer open and didn't remember turning it on...maybe they did email each other. Because if you just took a look at their ss, you'd not not know the difference.

I was supposed to get some heavy cleaning done...but nope, didn't happen. did get some laundry run, but...nothing elsewise. And I was going to go to the market, but I had a feeling just before PMPS that Esse was going to get low...so didn't.

Sigh. I just wish she'd head up...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50 5=52

Drat, I could've sworn I read that somewhere...or...maybe I'm just losing my mind.

She's 5.5 at 52. She is without a doubt surfing. She will be at +6 (+/-nadir) in 30 minutes...would love to hear some advice...sit up all night, or leave out more and more food, and get some sleep? She's been at or around 50 for 2.5 hours, give or take, so I'm thinking she's just gonna keep hanging here for a while.

Not sure what to do at this point...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50 5=52

I wish I knew, Michelle! I suspect that we are going to be on duty until the nadir passes. Then, I am going to fall into bed face down. Naughty kitties! Couldn't they have been more traditional and just lost their mittens or something?
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50 5=52

I really need to get some sleep. So, as nadir is in 15 minutes (although it does move around...), and it is likely she's not going to go up, I am going to get one more tes right now, and then, unless it's an utterly surprising low number, put out yet more food, and head to bed for a few hours. I'll set the alarm for a +11, but who knows if I'll hear the alarm...

She is at 61! Hot dam, we got through the 50s. So it's food out for them, to bed for me...Lydia, you o.k. if I go crash? Or do you need me to stay up with you for a bit? Not sure if I can, though...but I'll try if you need me to.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/09: Esse PMPS+3.5=39 +3.8=55 4.25=55 4.5=50 5=52

So glad Esse is showing some sense! (Now, Basil, it's your turn.)

Thank you so much for the offer, but you go to bed. I'll be fine. I have an old movie on TV and I am putting off this test for another 20 minutes. Then, I am hoping to be off to bed too.

Have a good rest and see you tomorrow. Great job, tonight! Esse has you well trained.
 
Thanks, Lydia...I've just done run out of energy. Food for the critters, and I'm off to bed.

Basil, you listen up. Get up to 61, too...that was the plan, remember? Get up there, and let your Mamabean rest a bit.

Best-
Michele
 
He must have listened to ou, Michelle! He's up to 62 and I am dragging my sorry bod off to that bed. It's 12 degrees out there and my bed has flannel sheets and a big fluffy comforter. OOOOOooooooooooooh.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top