1/8 Baby AMPS (No Shot will be given) +20.5 289

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

kate and lucky said:
I know there's a few of you watching this thread.

Do you still give your contact numbers?
Been out of the loop the last few weeks and with board changing, who holds them if you do now?

It was updated a few months ago -- I remember giving my info. But I don't know who has it.

It would be great to encourage all newbies to update their info (though they don't know us yet).
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

I'm hopeful that Nicole has headed to the vet. She's been in constant touch today, and she understood Jill's ideas about it.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Where should we put personal info?

This rather nerve-wracking thread has me wanting to get mine in place asap!

Hang in there, Nicole! So many people have your back!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Lydia and Basil said:
Where should we put personal info?

This rather nerve-wracking thread has me wanting to get mine in place asap!

Hang in there, Nicole! So many people have your back!

PM either D & Shadow, Cyn and Cosmo, Joan and Madison or Lynn and Bear (not sure if she's registered here yet) and one of them will get you an email addy or place to send it.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Gosh Im worried. I pm'ed my cell phone number to her this afternoon in case something like this happened but she said she never got it :-(

I was confident that by the time I got home Baby would be out of the woods. nailbite_smile

I hope they are at the vet now and Baby is ok.

Sending good vibes.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

Everyone..had a reading of +28, freaked out & went to ER VET, extremely snowy here..rough commute there (so I know Baby was super stressed) but gave a BG reading there of 69, alert - acting good - they gave her oral Dextrose & said they could monitor tonight - but don't feel with her BG 69 & eating/alertness that it warrents her staying. I opted (due to finances) to bring her home & they sent me home with Oral Dextrose to give if the #s drop. We just got home - she just ate - I am a mental mess..but hanging in here..will give her a bit (she needs it) before I BG again...will keep you posted.
I have not gone thru the thread...just walked in the door - so I aplogize for not answering questions..just wanted to give an update.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

thanks for the update, we assumed that's where you were but it's good to know for sure. ((((Nicole))))

Her number could still go up and down for a while, so please test again by +9.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

Great news Nicole...thanks for updating...
You take care of Baby now and rest up...you did very, very well today! just a suggestion....
either set an alarm for yourself every hour on the hour just in case you dose off maybe?
So glad you went to the vet...Kepp posting and updating..we are here... :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

You are doing a super, super job, Nicole.

Was that 69 with your meter or the vet's? They are calibrated differently, of course.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

Oh Nicole! So glad you got to the ER and that they got you something. HUGS!!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

The 69 was the Vet's reading with their meter, tack stress on to that..I bet she was still very low.
I am going to test here in a few minutes, she is eating now & did use the litterbox.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

The 69 was the Vet's reading with their meter, tack stress on to that..I bet she was still very low.
I am going to test here in a few minutes, she is eating now & did use the litterbox.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69

Don't worry about going through the thread. We were all speculating that you got the 28 and jumped in the car. We'll be here. Use the 911 icon on your first post of the day if you need to. We'll respond.

Obviously, we'll respond. I wonder if this has broken all records for the longest condo. It certainly has on the new board!!! (lol)
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

Since being home, she has used the litterbox 3 times (in the past hour) but hadn't gone all day. She is also very very hungry, still alert...
Have vowed to stay up all night & test.. thanks again for everything..just hoping this Lantus will wear off! Hate to think of the damage I have done, with all the high carb/sugar today.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

Nicole, so glad to read that you took Baby to the ER and got the help she needed with that low +7 reading. Talk about trial by fire! You two will get through this and will be able to face all sorts of things for having done so!

Please keep us posted... and good job!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

is Baby still feeling full? Need to feed her something to bump her up a little higher. Has she had any real food lately or just the dextrose? A tsp of high carb food, with extra gravy, might be good. Then test in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

It sounds like you did a great job and I think you'll be fine. Of course, tomorrow, you will feellike you've been hit by a truck...

We're thinking about you!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

She is non stop eating, she has definiely eaten! I know it needs to be higher...thru all of this..she has eaten quite a bit..to the point that I dont want her to vomit. Still acting alert & normal...
Eating again.. Wellness Chicken & I put some of the oral dextrose on top..just a little to see...
Has kept everything down...but I feel she has eaten soooooo much, so nervous about it coming up....dont want to deny her eating though...gosh..we are 2 hours away from 12 hours, I pray this tapers off soon. Am staying up all night though.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

You need to not give her so much food!! You can always give more over time. Are you adding any honey to the food. A drop or two will add some carbs and bring Baby's numbers up a bit. You can always rub a bit of honey on her gums.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

better to not let her eat nonstop, because if she DOES vomit her numbers could drop out. Also, we need to be able to keep feeding her small bits of food for however long it takes for her liver to kick in, and if she gets too stuffed she may not eat for us when we need her to. Sienne's suggestion to add a little honey to her food is good, then she can get more of a bump with less food.

Hang in there, your attitude is great, I'm very impressed. :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +4 62 +5 46 +6 50 +.30 51

Jen and Oreo said:
Lydia and Basil said:
Where should we put personal info?

PM either D & Shadow, Cyn and Cosmo, Joan and Madison or Lynn and Bear (not sure if she's registered here yet) and one of them will get you an email addy or place to send it.

Nicole, the only thing you missed is that many of us have provided our contact info to a central contact board, where one of the experienced leaders can reach you if they see something of concern. You can PM one of the above if you'd like to do that.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

I will go put my information there.
She is napping now...will test again shortly.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

You are doing a great job Nicole! Just keep doing what you're doing. Chocolate for the bean is in order, for now. Wine later!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

Things are not so good now..just tested & she is at 27, gave Dextrose & Honey..still acting fine.. was just a BG test that showed me this, I am getting scared.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

please test in 15 minutes.

What brand of meter are you using? Answer later, take care of Baby first.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

and is it now +10 after the shot?

Might be a good idea to go back to the vet. I know it's expensive.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

The Walmart Rel Micro one..I know that it is a little off..on hold with the ER VEt
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

Or maybe call the ER vet and tell them about the +10. I know it's snowy out too and that transporting Baby back to the ER vet may not be a good trip, in addition to the cost.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 (ER VET) 69 +9.5 42

good. I don't want you to be scared. Baby is acting fine and that's because she probably feels fine. Several people here have had cats in the 20's and they've been fine, no symptoms at all. In your case, it's as much about the time as the number. Unfortunately we don't know how long it will take the extra insulin to work out of her system. All we can do is take it one step at a time, test and treat whatever we find. But if you get too tired or Baby gets too full, then it will get harder. Sorry.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Talked to the ER Vet, she said it is really hard to say how much the meters differ, etc. She basically said - how is she acting? I said besides the hunger fine. She said I could bring her it to monitor tonight, or continue testing, getting food, honey or dextrose into her here at home. It is just waiting for the Insulin to work its way out. I am up for this long night..I just cannot afford the ER Vet..so will keep testing & going off how she is acting... I am hoping that as we near the 12 + hour & later that it will begin rising...I do know that it could still drop..so will keep testing. As I finish typing..she is still acting normal.
Thank you again..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Yes, keep testing. And yes, find a way to stay awake. But really, Nicole, you're doing amazingly wonderfully. I am sincerely impressed; and you should be proud of yourself. It may take some time to get the insulin through, but you've handled a lot today, and you'll be able to handle more.

If you run out of dextrose, some bottled water with a wee bit of sugar can substitute. And sugar on the gums, although honey is easier. Don't worry about the difference in meters right now; use the one you have, and track her that way.

Hang in there...her liver will kick in soon, and she'll bounce. I think you've earned the right to be quite dratted proud of yourself, and go hug Baby for a bit. No testing, no feeding, just some lovies and snuggles. The both of you will feel better for 5 minutes of cuddles...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Sending good thoughts and lots of sugar your way Nicole!

Remember that you need to monitor not only the BG # but symptoms as well. The link that I shared waaayyy earlier is here and I've pasted the list of symptoms below so you have them handy.

SYMPTOMS
Some cats may have NO symptoms whatsoever, but here are the most common ones:

MILD HYPOGLYCEMIA
Sudden ravenous hunger
Shivering
Weak or lethargic

MODERATE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Disorientation
Trouble with vision... bumps into furniture
Poor coordination, such as staggering, walking in circles or acting drunk
Changes in head or neck movements
Restlessness
Urgent meowing
Behavioral changes, such as aggressiveness

SEVERE HYPOGLYCEMIA
Convulsions or seizures
Unconsciousness

And of course you know there will pretty be eyes around the clock here for moral support!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

BTW, I think maybe when this is over, you should play the lottery with some of these BG #s! :-D
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Thanks again, she is just napping & I will test again in 20mins...
I cannot say how much I appreciate all your words of wisdom & assistance... I am scared, but strong for her.
The dextrose seems easier, because the honey is sooo sticky & I now have a furbaby who has honey in her fur (least of my concerns)
Her hunger has subsided for the time being & I think GOD she has kept it all down.
She is responsive & just sleeping like cats do...but I am looking..because I dont want her to go unconcious..I don't know how that typically happens..if they just get tired or what?
I am not tired..we will beat this. How I long for those yellow #s back!!!
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Nicole,

ur doing so well! Just wanna say....DON'T LIE DOWN!!!
I-) no zzzz's for u just yet

got it?

eat chocolate, drink coffee, splash ur face! lol
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

I promise no ZZzzs for me..I am not even tired at all.....
Still too scared..have not even eaten today! Please God let me test here in 10mins & atleast maintain...not another 20 something reading...
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Nicole you need to eat something high carb so you will be able to stay awake. @-)
It has been a long day for you but you are doing great!'
Baby still has no idea what all the fuss is about.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Nicole. YOU need to eat, all right? You'll do Baby no good if you go hypoglycemic...

Hang in there. You're doing well.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Praying, hoping here.. 11.5 BG 46 (this would have been the drop to the 20s from what I can tell) but then again..who knows what I know right now!
Still acting normal..just chillin, alert, looks & acts content..doing the eye thing where they slowly blink.
Will test again at 12 which is 30 more mins.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

How ya doin', Nicole? Have you eaten something? things are under control (as best they can be)?

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Thanks, Michele.. in all honesty, I feel guilty that this board has been all about me & Baby today. I am sorry.
I have not eaten & really don't think I will....just no appetite...will test here again in a few minutes to see what her latest reading is & that will determine my mood. Praying, hoping..hanging in here..still by myself..without all of you.
Baby is very content still.... just on her furniture perch looking out the window..
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

Hang in there. I think your adrenaline all day has kept you awake. There is no way I would be able to feel tired. Once Baby's levels start going up you may collapse though :dizcat

Thinking of you xoxoxo
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +8 69 +9.5 42 +10.30 27 +11 47

OMG! Do not feel bad. You have had soo much help you should feel blessed. This is what family is all about. We are family for our kitties!! We take care of our own!!

Listen to me.....I am still a newbie but everyone has been so welcoming and supportive.

You have needed all of this help. I just wish I could have offered help too. But I am here if you need anything.
 
Re: 1/7 Baby+3 32 +12 36

+12 36
gave some dextrose orally to help her maintain... any ideas on when maybe this Lantus will wear off? I know ECID & Baby was given 5units & she was 11bs, so it will be awhile, but now that we just past the 12 hour mark..just wondering if there were any ideas? Thanks again everybody! Sadi needs some love too.....feel bad for her!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top