7/7 Tennessee +12 129- going to emergency vet for chest tap- dosing advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andrea&Tennessee (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's travel through the pinks and yellows. Got close to blue last night, he may have got there after I went to bed.
Starting out close to the blue border again this am. Fairly typical for Tennie.

We are going to the vet today. He is due for his 6 month blood work-(although it is more like 7 months since his last)
I am also having a little concern about his breathing. His breathing rate seems to be faster, like he is purring all the time. Wendy suggested that maybe it is stridor. Its not really the noise that I am concerned about, it is his rate of breathing. Other than the rapid breathing, he is doing well. I guess we will see what the vet says. But I'm sure it will be expensive!

Have a happy and healthy day.
 
Back from vet and news is not that great. He has fluid in his chest and a gallop heart rhythm.
The vet took blood and a couple of xrays and is sending them out to have a cardiologist look everything over.
UGG, he had been doing so well.
She did give him a shot of lasix to help get the fluid out if his chest.
I guess we are in "wait and see" mode right now.
 
So sorry the news was not better. Sending Prayers and healing vines for Tennie. It's so hard when you have to just wait and see.
 
Piling on more vines for Tennie. I remember one member here who got some Lasix compounded fish flavor - her kitty loved it. I suspect an echocardiogram may be in Tennie's future. Neko had one a couple of years ago, after her murmur was detected.
 
time for his regular PM dose and he is testing 129, The vet has advised going to get a chest tap.
The emergency vet recommended feeding and shooting before coming in. How much should I give him? Full dose or reduced?
 
If no one else replies before you go I would hold the food and insulin. You don't know how Tennesse is going to react to the procedure. I would take the insulin with you, but the vet clinic should be able to handle whatever insulin requirements are needed.

Hopefullly more experienced members will post before you leave.

At this point draining the fluid trumps the diabetes. :bighug:
 
He's been sliding down all day. Wouldn't be surprised if he hit green tonight with his full dose. Do you have an idea how long he'll be?

I'd think reduced dose at least. Another option is an 18 hour schedule. Thinking of you. :bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks @Tuxedo Mom , he is stable, but no local vet specialists were able to tell me exactly when they could get him in.
The emergency clinic recommended feeding and shooting before I bring him in.
At +12.25 he is rising to 150
 
7U sounds good, now that you know he is on his way up. Take some of his regular food with you to the vet, and a piece of your clothing/towel with your smell on it. In case he has to stay overnight. Hoping not.
 
I have to preface this by saying I do not have any experience with this...
Dr. Google says depending on the cat, they *might* have to administer general anesthesia. For that reason alone I would hold off on insulin and food, but I would bring both with me to give as soon as I knew what they were going to do.

In any case, sending positive thoughts...
 
If Dr. Google is right - it's worth a call to the vet to see if they have to do anesthesia.
 
thinking of you, Andrea, and sending our best healing vines to Tennie.

The question to ask is what do they think caused the fluid build-up.
 
Thank you everybody.
The worst part of this is that my BF is out of town for work, so I am dealing with this alone.
But not 100% alone because I have everybody here!!:bighug::bighug:
I am trying to get some rest tonight, I have made arrangements at work to stay "local" tomorrow. I was schedule to take the Middle school campers to New Hampshire for the day. Luckily my supervisor understands my "situation" with my kitties and is very flexible for me.

I am hoping that after they do the ultrasound tomorrow, we will have a clearer picture of what the issue may be. If it is his heart as they suspect, I am hoping we can try some medication.

Thank you again for everybody's warm words of encouragement.
 
So sorry to hear Tennie has been unwell and had to have these procedures. Sending vines for a good report tomorrow and healing vines Tennie's way.
:bighug::bighug: i hope you manage to get some sleep
 
More hugs your way for tonight. :bighug::bighug: Sorry you are alone tonight. Good to hear your work is flexible.

If they do find it's cardiomyopathy - post to ask for experience here. @Melissa & Tarragon for one has been dealing with it for almost three years now.
 
Just checked in at the emergency vet. he is eating well and they checked his BG at +3.5 and he was at 80.
They will continue to feed him and check him in a few hours.
Making me feel a little better.
 
Sending lots of vines to dear sweet tennie and sweet, sweet momma :) will be keeping my eyes on you all looking for updates tomorrow. ...


Hugs to everyone!
 
98e499ce.gif


Hope you're getting some rest tonight...
 
Heffernan has HCM too and was diagnosed when we rushed him to the ER clinic when he couldn't breathe. Paws crossed for you & much love, thoughts & prayers sent your way. We manage it with Lasix & Enlaporil daily.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top