Pig 6/5 amps 150

Status
Not open for further replies.

LuvinThisPig

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's

It would seem that the skipped shot has done the trick and drained his depot quite a bit. This is a good thing. He ran pretty high last night, but that was to be expected. Also, I was happy with the results as I have expected him to cycle back into normal range about mid-cycle last night. He did not do this and I know this sounds counterintuitive, but hear me out. The goal was to lessen some of that residual effect of that huge depot he had built up with the 50-40u doses. If he remained higher for the majority of the cycle, then that tells me that we have at least accomplished part of that goal.

Meaning, this will afford me a bit more control. Yet, as his needs reduce then so to does the ratio of need/depot change. So, the 23u depot can be just as significant as the 50u depot was. However, the success with this way of dosing tells me that I now can look to double reductions if need be and hope to be marginally successful in getting him where I need him to be. Or more like, getting ahead of the SRT train. I will have to consider, though, that his depot was already compromised from the couple BCS doses given earlier in the week. Just something to think about. For now, though, I feel we are on the right track.

His amps was 150. I did give R. Normally, I would not dose R below a 150, but with the majority of his carry over action from the Lev being shot, I needed something small to mitigate that rise. I probably could have given 2u, but opted for 1u considering I will be at work later in the cycle. Keep Pig safe.

Not much else to report. I finally managed to get ahold of my food company and find out where in the world his Raw was at. Seems that all the other frozen orders shipped out last Tuesday and no one knows why our did not...??? :rolleyes: No worries, though, his will be here Thursday and it will upward and onward from there. I am formulating some very good diet plans, I believe and at this point, there is no where to go but up from here!! (well, not in insulin doses! :p:p:p)

Wishes for great days and sunny skies!
 
@Bronx's dad do you home make your kefir? Where did you get your grains? Amazon? Did you use a starter powder or purchase live grains out right? I also wonder, kefir seems to be a significant source of phosphorus... This concerns me a bit. Yet, it does not seem that they get enough to really call significant. I am just curious on thoughts here...
 
Pig is doing good. Bouncing along.

I'm not - I looked at your other thread and saw THE DREADED POO picture. Is that R rated??? Now I'll have a nightmare :D:eek:

Leo got the same insulin doses the last 3 days. Today 250 at nadir. My bouncy little boy.
 
Kisses and hugs for Pig, Tail and Sarah! You asked how my kids were the other day... Idjit is his goofy big self, spending time outside in the day, coming in for frequent snacks and to get all the Hawthorne tree blossoms brushed out, then he goes right back out and rolls in more. My Sara is great, she's learning Bee Keeping, her church has some hives. DH made a dump run from the basement, we still haven't found any money. :(
 
@Bronx's dad do you home make your kefir? Where did you get your grains? Amazon? Did you use a starter powder or purchase live grains out right? I also wonder, kefir seems to be a significant source of phosphorus... This concerns me a bit. Yet, it does not seem that they get enough to really call significant. I am just curious on thoughts here...
No, I buy it from Whole Foods. Lifeway organic grass-fed plain. Bronx likes the full-fat version the best:rolleyes: but we are both using the low-fat one. They also make a fat-free one, but it isn't grass-fed so we are sticking with the low fat one.
 
Been a while since Pig has seen that colour that shall not be named. Paws crossed he comes down as the depot stabilizes.
Looks like it is... 1uR is not enough to really make that big of a difference. Yes, it is more potent now after SRT, but not that potent just yet.. I don't think.. :p We started the probiotics tonight, just a 1/4 tab, so interested to see how that handles the BG. His raw will be back on Thursday... Another transitional period. *sigh* I can promise this. I will not let him run out again. I am planning on shipping discrepancies from now on!!
 
Pig is doing good. Bouncing along.

I'm not - I looked at your other thread and saw THE DREADED POO picture. Is that R rated??? Now I'll have a nightmare :D:eek:

Leo got the same insulin doses the last 3 days. Today 250 at nadir. My bouncy little boy.
A Poo-Mare!!!! Hahaha! Oh my, I laughed so flipping hard when I read that! Ahhh… I am sorry Jeff. But, it was picture worthy! :woot::p
 
My Sara is great, she's learning Bee Keeping, her church has some hives. DH made a dump run from the basement, we still haven't found any money. :(
My Dad actually keeps bees! He loves it! I have tried to learn some of it, but I will admit, they scare me a bit. I know. Nothing to worry about, but my childhood tells me differently!
I am glad to hear everyone is doing so good... Surely the stash is there somewhere! Just gotta dig to the bottom!
 
No, I buy it from Whole Foods. Lifeway organic grass-fed plain. Bronx likes the full-fat version the best:rolleyes: but we are both using the low-fat one. They also make a fat-free one, but it isn't grass-fed so we are sticking with the low fat one.
Ahh.. Well, shucks. The closest whole food store is as far as his vet. It looks as if I will growing my own. I don't see why there is a question about that when probiotics for the boys, alone, will cost upwards of 60 a month... Kefir is self producing... :) Thank you! Another great idea to be had from @Bronx's dad !
 
It looks as if I will growing my own.
I found mine at a larger grocery store. I started looking by the milk but it is around the area where they put the yogurt. Gizmo didn't like it - but it was worth a try for ~$3.

Might be worth a try before you go to the trouble to grow it. I have also seen it in the refrigeration section at Pet Supplies Plus but it may be at Petco or Petsmart (I haven't looked).

http://lifewaykefir.com/products/organic-plain-whole-milk-kefir/
 
I found mine at a larger grocery store. I started looking by the milk but it is around the area where they put the yogurt. Gizmo didn't like it - but it was worth a try for ~$3.

Might be worth a try before you go to the trouble to grow it. I have also seen it in the refrigeration section at Pet Supplies Plus but it may be at Petco or Petsmart (I haven't looked).

http://lifewaykefir.com/products/organic-plain-whole-milk-kefir/
Ahh... Yes, that would be a great option. But, there is one problem. When I say I live in a small, isolated town I mean it... We have one stop light.. :p

About the only 'healthy' stuff you will find at this grocery store is dried nuts. :facepalm: I might look into making a supply trip once a month and if I do that then not a problem. The issue is that almost anyting other than a Walmart is over an hour away. My life consist of work and home. Literally. It is a bit of a pain. I was transplanted here quite without my want to, but it has worked out alright. I am just far more use to a bigger town. To go from Vegas to NWA to here has been a huge adjustment. No worries, though, we do what we must do!

Thank you!! A very good idea!
 
My "neighborhood" Walmart (it is just a Walmart grocery store, not a full Walmart) had it but only strawberry and blueberry.
Oh yes.. I am right on the OK / AR border, so we have PLENTY of those around... I might have to check at the closest Walmart then... There is one about 30 minutes from here...
 
Thank you! I have missed you around! It is good to see you back! How is life?? :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I have been grieving. Losing Yum was the end of my life as I knew it. I kind of worked through it all to a stable, bearable, flat place a week and a half ago. Then last week my 12 year old civvie stopped eating. Monday an ultrasound suggested liver cancer. She bled out after they did a needle aspiration for a tumor sample. It was a terrible shock, as she seemed so strong and healthy. She was a very independent cat and it's probably best she went quickly. I am crying for her---she died far too young. I think that emotionally I will stay in this stable flat place. I still have a 14 year old civvie that needs me.
 
I have been grieving. Losing Yum was the end of my life as I knew it. I kind of worked through it all to a stable, bearable, flat place a week and a half ago. Then last week my 12 year old civvie stopped eating. Monday an ultrasound suggested liver cancer. She bled out after they did a needle aspiration for a tumor sample. It was a terrible shock, as she seemed so strong and healthy. She was a very independent cat and it's probably best she went quickly. I am crying for her---she died far too young. I think that emotionally I will stay in this stable flat place. I still have a 14 year old civvie that needs me.
Oh my gosh ... I am so sorry. Sending prayers and :bighug:
 
I have been grieving. Losing Yum was the end of my life as I knew it. I kind of worked through it all to a stable, bearable, flat place a week and a half ago. Then last week my 12 year old civvie stopped eating. Monday an ultrasound suggested liver cancer. She bled out after they did a needle aspiration for a tumor sample. It was a terrible shock, as she seemed so strong and healthy. She was a very independent cat and it's probably best she went quickly. I am crying for her---she died far too young. I think that emotionally I will stay in this stable flat place. I still have a 14 year old civvie that needs me.
Oh no!!!! I am so very sorry to hear this about your 12 year old. Hugs to you ! :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: MJW
Hi there! Glad that Pig is rocking it!

I give the Lifeway kefir to my boys every morning after breakfast . They love it. You do need to introduce it slowly as on the FoodFurLife website under cats and probiotics.

@LizzieInTexas , try putting a little bit on your finger and see if Gizmo will lick it off. I had to do that the first few times to get them to lick it off the plate and occasionally, I have to put it on my finger for Bubba for a few licks to get him started.
 
I have been grieving. Losing Yum was the end of my life as I knew it. I kind of worked through it all to a stable, bearable, flat place a week and a half ago. Then last week my 12 year old civvie stopped eating. Monday an ultrasound suggested liver cancer. She bled out after they did a needle aspiration for a tumor sample. It was a terrible shock, as she seemed so strong and healthy. She was a very independent cat and it's probably best she went quickly. I am crying for her---she died far too young. I think that emotionally I will stay in this stable flat place. I still have a 14 year old civvie that needs me.
Oh @MJW... I had no idea. I am so very sorry for your loss.. I know just how important Yum was to you and to have to turn around and go through it all over again.. Words cannot express my sorrow. You are so very missed around here... :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I give the Lifeway kefir to my boys every morning after breakfast . They love it. You do need to introduce it slowly as on the FoodFurLife website under cats and probiotics.
Thank you!! Yes... I believe I have read that. Actually, it was the FoodFurLife Website that gave me the idea to just grow my own. I believe they recommended to start with 1/4 teaspoon and work up. I am very interested to see what results it can have for Pig... And Tail, if he will eat it... Haha..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top