? TUCKER amps: 2.7(49)

Tucker

Member Since 2018
To shoot or not to shoot? He's running around the house like a maniac yelling for food.
 
Are you at home all day and can test ? Are you feeling well enough to test all day if necessary? Given that you are not well at the moment I’m not sure you should shoot at this point. I’d wait a bit longer
ETA glad to see you here @Wendy&Neko
Patty is not well at the moment and is pretty exhausted.
 
I just retested and he is at 3.1 now. I just got my morning call from our vet and she says she would bring him down to 3.5 and be sure to be home around 12-3 for some testing. Do you concur?
 
I agree with the 3.5 units but I would not leave it til 12 -3 to test. I would get a +1 and +2 and see how the numbers are going then test as necessary from there.
If you think you are well enough to do all that I think you could shoot.
What do you think Wendy?
 
I was waiting 15 appx 15 min per retest. I will be here for 3 hours for sure. Then I have to duck out for a blood test. Depending on the results, I may have to go to hospital for a transfusion but because I want Kurt there it would not be until late in the day.
 
I agree, a couple early tests will be helpful to give you an idea how the cycle may go. Hard to say what Tucker will do at this point.

However, if you aren't well and need sleep, we can talk about other options. You need to be well enough to take care of Tucker should he go low. He will survice a cycle of higher numbers if you need to skip or reduce.
 
I just talked to Kurt and he is going to finish his meetings and come work from home today to help out. I'm actually not feeling too bad today, but I just have to get confirmation of my own blood work to know how my afternoon is going to go. We made the decision to reduce him to 3.5 and go ahead a shoot. I will test him at +1 and +2 hours. I have lots of testing supplies and honey, hc,mc,lc food on hand. Kurt should be here by 10am so I won't be alone. Does that sound ok?
 
Thanks Ladies. Who would have thought I would have a bit of casual internal bleeding on our holiday?? It's been a whirlwind of tests with the results not fantastic but not as bad as they could have been. Bron, I had forgotten to tell you but I've set up my 2nd opinion appt and it turns out it is with the same doctor my dad had for the same condition when he just happened to be living in Australia 35 years ago! How weird is that?
 
Thanks Ladies. Who would have thought I would have a bit of casual internal bleeding on our holiday?? It's been a whirlwind of tests with the results not fantastic but not as bad as they could have been. Bron, I had forgotten to tell you but I've set up my 2nd opinion appt and it turns out it is with the same doctor my dad had for the same condition when he just happened to be living in Australia 35 years ago! How weird is that?
That is an amazing coincidence ! I hope you get some answers from him and can get that gene test done. Best of luck with the apt :bighug:
 
He is holding at 3.1. Very happy, very alert and purry. He's had exactly the same number for 4 tests now, I even took out my other meter to make sure it was correct.
 
He is holding at 3.1. Very happy, very alert and purry. He's had exactly the same number for 4 tests now, I even took out my other meter to make sure it was correct.
I think I would give him a bit of LC food as the insulin will onset soon and start dropping the bsl. Not much room for error there at the moment.
 
Don’t know the carbs in the yogurt. I’d give HC to make sure. He is still early in the cycle (+4 ). I’d try and get him up to about 4 (72) to have a bit of leeway.
 
Sorry! We shot 3.5 this morning. He is on 2.0 right now... Have just given a Tbsp of wet food.
 
I would give him some honey mixed with a bit of HC food. You need to get him up. 2 (36) is much too low. Please test again in 20 and post result.
 
@Wendy&Neko
You will probably be asleep at Tuckers PMPS tonight our time, so will ask you now.... He had the reduction this morning but has dropped to 2 (36) just now. I know we don't usually do back to back reductions but do you think he should take another reduction tonight, or a one-off lower dose to drain the depot a bit? I don't think Patty could keep up this testing for any length of time at the moment.
Of course he could bounce after this low number!
 
I hope you are giving him some gravy or honey to bring him up. At this morning's AMPS of 49, I probably would have skipped or given 1/2 dose.

I hope you are feeling better Patty.
 
At +20 minutes he had risen to 3.0. He had a couple of drops of honey. Then a couple of minutes later he and Daisy swiped half a chicken, lettuce, cheese with mayo on linseed bread sandwich while my back turned to pick up the phone. I'm guessing Daisy ate most of it but Tucker did have mayo on his nose when I caught them.... No idea where that is going to take us.
 
At +20 minutes he had risen to 3.0. He had a couple of drops of honey. Then a couple of minutes later he and Daisy swiped half a chicken, lettuce, cheese with mayo on linseed bread sandwich while my back turned to pick up the phone. I'm guessing Daisy ate most of it but Tucker did have mayo on his nose when I caught them.... No idea where that is going to take us.
The little tigers............sounds like Harry who jumped up and grabbed a raspberry scone from a batch which had just been cooked yesterday.......can't trust the little rascals!..
I think you need to keep testing at least every hour and more often if he drops again. Don't get complacent! We know Tucker likes to drop low late in the cycle. I would try and get him up over 4 (72) for safety. Please keep posting as there are people here who are keeping an eye on you and we all get a bit anxious when they drop too low!:D
I have to go out now and pick up kids from school but will be back in about 1 1/2 hours. I will have my mobile so will try and check that. Areyou going to be around @JeffJ
 
Hey, I would jump up on your counter to get a raspberry scone! I'll not be leaving this afternoon- they took more blood tests early today for clotting and they have to come back before they do anything with me. I'm actually feeling pretty good today. If I do take a nap I'll ask Kurt to wake me up for testing Tucker. I got a call from our vet a few minutes ago. The 'babies' are due for their annual check ups and she wanted to know if I would like her to come out to the house so she could also take a peek at Tucker. (Yes, she is wonderful!) I told her his numbers this afternoon and she suggests dropping him to 3.25 tonight and seeing where he is at come morning. If in a below 10 range, keep him at 3.25 but if he goes back up above 10 maybe leave him with the first reduction of 3.5 and see where it takes us. Thoughts?
 
What you saw today was from the 3.75 unit depot. Which is clearly a little overfull. I like Bron's idea of doing a one time reduced dose tonight to help drain the depot, and allow you to get some sleep. I would do a much lower than 3.25 tonight, maybe 2.5? Then I'd go back to 3.5 tomorrow morning. Unless of course you still need some recovery time Patty or can't monitor as well tomorrow. In which case it wouldn't hurt to go to 3.25 units for a bit.
 
I've just done this hours test and he is 3.3 now. Do I need to give him more food or honey at that number? I'm happy to do a reduced dose so that we all get some sleep tonight, but I guess I figured I would see how he travels during the next 4 hours. I don't know that this boy has ever turned down food before, so I can give him LC, MC, HC or honey....what do you girls think I should do at this point??
 
I agree with Wendy. I would give a one off lower dose, such as 2.5 units at PMPS tonight. You might need to test for a few hours after PMPS if he still hasn't gone back up much.
 
Back
Top