2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80 +3.75 102 +6 93 +7 106

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285

Very nice! I hope we do see a few pretty colors (bloo, and green)! Sounds like Buddy is feeling good it about it too.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +3 162

He is taking a bath right now, and then I'm sure going to take a nap! :lol:


I don't know if he is falling in numbers at a good rate, slow or fast, but can you tell me how often should I test to get the most informative numbers??? I don't want to make his ears sore???
Thanks
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285

Hard to say but looks very nice! He's not falling to fast, I would try to get a +5 or +6. After that you can decide what the next should be. I'm wondering if he gets in the low 100's by +6 or so if just surfs there until PMPS, that might be how he is comming up with these lower Preshots some times. Some cats do have thier lows at +12 or even a few hours into the next cycle. It confuses some people but I find it conveniant once you identify it it saves you some extra testing.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

Jan:

what have you done so far? Have you fed LC, HC? Could you update a bit?
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

Gave him about a 1/2 teasp. LC about +3.5 He seems fine laying here purring trying to playfully bite me, just layed his head down next to my keyboard purring.

The test strips I'm using are 12-09, but I tested with solution and it was ok and every said to use them.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

Look at that IAA squishing action going on in here :-D

I think Buddy just earned a decrease to 6.75 (correct me if I'm wrong anyone)

:-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

he is sitting here watching me, like feed me He is used to a snack around now should I just wait??
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

You're doing just fine. Buddy is responding very well to the LC. His numbers may bobble a bit. See if the LC brings him up if they drop a bit. I would test again after 30 min. If his numbers drop back down, give Buddy a bite or two of MC (mix LC + gravy). You want to keep him surfing in the 50 - 70 range. You've done this a couple of times know and are getting good at the drill.

I think you can take the 911 out of your subject line since Buddy's numbers are back in a good range.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

OK my mind can't remember what is the normal range again???
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ok Jan, you're gonna go 1 TEASPOON HC at a time, and only if you see something under 50. Until then, he gets 1 TSP LC. Test every 30 mins.. Bless his heart he's giving us the data we need. :)

Heather is right, dosecrease tonight to 6.75u

I am VERY concerned about the 200pt drop in 4 hours, and hoping it's not the strips.. or maybe AMPS was a bad reading?

WOOHOO go Buddy!

EDIT: Revising my opinion.. 200pt drop was rebound wearing off. "False" numbers. Strips probably fine.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

OK he just tested at 66. Can I give some LC NOW,or wait?

I only tested one time this am and got the 285 ditto on the 162 but as you can see I tested 3x's in a row on the 41(left ear) ,50(left ear) ,54(right ear)???.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

Wait on the food, he's headed up. If he starts to come back down, give 1 tsp LC. I revised my hasty opinion on your PS without looking at the numbers you got last night. It was rebound clearing. :)
 
BRB

Gotta go test and shoot two cats, one of whom is not mine, so it will be about 10 mins or so before I get back here.. but I'll be right back :)
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

Do we decrease by .25U or by .5U usually at a high dose we decrease by .5U but sometimes we wait until they have 2 times low on a dose.

This is super though, the insulin has overpowered the antibodies. Keep going Jan and Buddy!
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

yeah Buddy!!!!!

Good job Jan. Congrats on the dosecrease!!!
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4 41 +4.10min 50 +4.15 54

Monique & Spooky said:
Do we decrease by .25U or by .5U usually at a high dose we decrease by .5U but sometimes we wait until they have 2 times low on a dose.

Good question, I also thought it was decrease by .5 on high dose????
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66

Looking at BK's #'s it seems Sandi did changes by .5U untill she was under 5U then she made .25U changes. Which is how the protocol says as well (actuallly at 3U)
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66

Personally I don't believe the protocol applies to IAA at all. I also want to caution that all high dose illnesses are not the same. With Acro's, we take them down 1/2u at a time for safety because they can hypo a hell of a lot faster and for a full cycle if we don't. IAAs are different than acro's in that you do need to keep pounding away at the bg's in order to overcome the antibodies. Acro's would be in serious danger if we did that, so we reduce quickly, at higher bg's than a regular diabetic, and in large amounts. I am concerned about those 500s she got last night and suspect the antibodies tried to "revolt" for lack of a better term. When Sandy started reducing, she was at a much higher dose, and coming off a dental and lumpectomy as well I believe.

With lack of evidence any which way, whatever Jan feels best doing is what should be done. It's all data collection at this point, and if she does 1/2u and decides it didn't work, she'll know for next time. If it does work, then we have a winning protocol for Jan's cat.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53

I gave 1 teaspoon of LC at +5. He is used to that schedule anyway.

I think I will go with the 6.75, but I don't think I have ever shot .75, can someone direct me to a picture of .75 maybe???? I know where its at but a picture is worth a 1000 words!!! :lol: :lol:

One more question: Does my treats (Beefeaters Natural Salmon) make the numbers go up?? I give him a little after a test.

Since I just gave LC which probably brought numbers up I'm going to wait and test him at +6.

Thanks
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53

I don't find a picture of the .75 dose, but the easiest way is to fill the syringe to the 7U mark and then slowly over the sink ot paper towel use a twisting motion on the plunger and let about 2 big drops out of the needle. That will put the plunger somewhere between the 6.5U mark and the 7U mark which is what we will call 6.75U

Looks the antibodies are losing ground! Woohoo!!!! I'm glad he did this today so we could "see" it. He doesn't seem to bounce to bad and it clears quickly so hopefully he will have some more nice numbers tonight.

I won't be around at PMPS time, I hope Carolyn is here...shine up your BOS and pick out a good DVD (in case it's a long night :mrgreen: ) Are you prepared to shoot the 6.75U even if he still surfing the lower numbers then?????? You did good the other night with it. I'll check later before I go ni-ni.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53

OK on the syringe
I'm ready to do what it takes AS LONG as someone is around to guide me if needed, and I'm able to monitor.

OK Thanks
Have a good ni-ni
Jan
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53

Yup Monique is right, go rent a DVD .. you might have back to back to back reductions coming. Gotta be ready for anything. Any numbers below 50 are automatic reduction for Buddy man. I should be here for quite a while and if I'm going anywhere (it's snowing now so not looking good for poker tonight) I'll make sure there are eyes on your condo before I leave. :)
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53

OK Thanks
Selfishly ;-) I'm glad its snowing!!! :razz: :razz:
He normaly eats lunch around +7 +8, I'm going to go ahead and give him his regular amount?????
OK keep watching!!! ;-) :YMHUG:
Jan
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61

Yup that sounds fine :D

Headed to the store, got a feeling we're staying home tonight.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61 +7 42

Jan when he is in the 40's it is ok to feed a spoonful of HC, or LC with a little HC gravy mixed in. But feed just tiny bites and then test. Keep going until he is abouve 50 and at least 2 times a rising number.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61 +7 42

Hee.... Buddy get's a decrease. That's nice.
Hope he is doing well.
And... what dvd did you get?? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61 +7 42

Hmmmmm a double dip. I think you better reduce 1/2u tonight rather than 1/4u. This is good stuff! Fingers crossed over here that you have kicked the heinies of the antibodies.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61 +7 42

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Gooooo Buddy!
 
has anyone else noticed...

That Buddy doesn't seem to have very much liver response to an unusually low number? By this, I mean, *most* (disclaimer:ECID) cats used to high range numbers will spend several cycles fighting rebound after even a single low number. Many cats will even start the bounce within 2 hours of said low number. Buddy's not really bouncing, and I don't believe those ridiculously high numbers last night to be fully attributable to rebound, but has anyone seen the 500s clear THAT fast? I wonder if that's an IAA thing..?

Jan, don't stress about this, I'm just noticing his pattern is different than what I would consider "normal" rebound patterns. I am not saying there's anything at all wrong with Buddy, and in fact, I'm pretty pleased to note this.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61 +7 42

I agree with Carolyn about Buddy's rebounds. He *used* to go high for days, but hopefully he has put those days behind him.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66 +5 53 +6 61 +7 42

He does seem to get over it fast, and that is a very good thing! I think fighting with liver training is one of the most frustrating things. I don't really see a logical reason why that would have anything to do with IAA, I think it's just an individual thing. Some bounce hard and long, some high and short, and others hardly at all. The best explaination......they're CATS!
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +9 67

Thanks everyone.
OK I want to get myself ready!!! :lol:

Am I going to shoot a 6.5 dose with the numbers being this low??? You know that terrifies me, BUT if you say yes that is what needs to be done then I guess I will. So I'm going to go eat and get myself ready for this!!! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Will be back in a little bit.
Jan
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +9 67

It is my most sincere hope that he doesn't drop again and starts a more respectable climb or we're going to have to look at shed draining LOL
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80

6.5u
i know you are nervous, just have your supplies ready and we'll have a fun data collection night. I'll be watching the bud shootout with my laptop in front of me and open to your condo :)
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80

OK Done.
I don't think I have EVER been this nervous in my life!!!!! nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

Should I test in 1/2 hour ??
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80

hi jan. just wanted to let you know there are several of us who will be around tonight.
some very nice things are happening here! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80 +12.5 151

Thanks All,
Carolyn o:-) has been my "angel" today, holding my hand, and I trust her 100%,but its nice to know that there are going to be other eyes watching to.

Don't get mad but I don't think I have ever printed out the hypo info., I can't find it in the stickies, could you please tell me where its at.

Thanks All again, I just don't know if I could do this on my own!!!
Jan
ps if he starts to go up I'm going to test every hour, Buddy see's me coming and he starts running!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80 +12.5 151

Give him lots of extra treats ok Jan? Treats before and after testing. We want him fully bribed for tonight :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80 +12.5 151

Jill, OK I printed it, I think I did before just can't find it! Thanks

Carolyn, He is getting feeze dried salmon, yummy!!!!
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80 +2 121

Ok I see this.. that 151 must have been a food spike. Test again 1/2 hour, sorry to make you do that but.. we need to map this if he keeps dropping.
 
Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy PMPS 80 +2 121

you're doing great, Jan. :mrgreen: This is great that he is giving you this kind of number on a weekend when you can test, instead of when you're trying to run out the door to go to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top