Re: 2/6 Jan and Buddy AMPS 285 +4.5 66
Personally I don't believe the protocol applies to IAA at all. I also want to caution that all high dose illnesses are not the same. With Acro's, we take them down 1/2u at a time for safety because they can hypo a hell of a lot faster and for a full cycle if we don't. IAAs are different than acro's in that you do need to keep pounding away at the bg's in order to overcome the antibodies. Acro's would be in serious danger if we did that, so we reduce quickly, at higher bg's than a regular diabetic, and in large amounts. I am concerned about those 500s she got last night and suspect the antibodies tried to "revolt" for lack of a better term. When Sandy started reducing, she was at a much higher dose, and coming off a dental and lumpectomy as well I believe.
With lack of evidence any which way, whatever Jan feels best doing is what should be done. It's all data collection at this point, and if she does 1/2u and decides it didn't work, she'll know for next time. If it does work, then we have a winning protocol for Jan's cat.